August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A_VOID

by manofdoom - Jam Entry

Based on a hybrid of a couple of old games I was making at one point. Glitchcore avoid-em-up/evasive bullet hell.

Escape from broken dimensions within 10 seconds, before reality starts to collapse.

Also flashing visuals so EPILEPSY WARNING etc.

EDIT: I've made a few adjustments to try and fix the crash bug. It should now play less sounds at once, particularly during the 'instability' period, and following death. You can also restart slightly sooner now, being able to confirm death quicker (to try and reduce the odd of conflicting sounds) and being able to skip the opening screen faster by hitting space before being prompted to do so.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#208Graphics(Jam)3.59
#210Fun(Jam)3.11
#332Innovation(Jam)2.88
#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#495Theme(Jam)2.61
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Is it supposed to crash when you lose?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Nice graphic ideas, but i don't see the "10 seconds" theme in the gameplay.

manofdoom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:15am

Sadly not supposed to crash, and it isn't doing that for me.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:03am

I really like the art, and it is pretty fun.

Arcana says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

Awesome atmosphere. The 10-second theme in this game is because your "stability" starts at 10 and counts down.

I'm still not sure what all of the level tiles/walls did - there's so much stuff going on. I usually just bee-lined toward the exit.

Sound was minimal, but effective in this context.

You should be proud of this, especially of the art style.

shohs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

It crashed on my about halfway through the game, but from what I played, this seemed pretty good. I liked the art style (especially the level transitions) and the sound seemed pretty good. From what I played, nice job.

manofdoom says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

Cheers for the feedback guys, really appreciate it. Glad people are enjoying the game so much.

The crash I believe is because I'm still using GameMaker7, which is fine on XP (my OS) but apparently has bugs related to multiple sounds playing at once for more modern PCs. I'm currently trying to figure out how I can fix this without any way of testing it.

trylle says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:32am

Love the art and sound. Sadly, having quite a few crashes here (Win8 64-bit), so I haven't managed to finish the game. The booting screen gets a bit annoying after a while, is it possible to skip?

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:38am

Pretty good minimalism game with tons of nice glitchy gfx effects.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:14am

The game is pretty fun to play! Sometimes I spawn right next to the portal I'm supposed to go into..
But the glitchy gfx and the mood in this is brilliant!

manofdoom says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Thanks guys. So far it looks like the crash is only on Win8, and I can't test that, but I've made some changes based on what I think is causing it, so hopefully it will at least be less likely to crash now. I've also made the 'loading' screen and death prompt faster to skip, partially because being forced to wait after dying may be what caused the death crash.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Thank you for burning my retinas, they love it. Great game, I love it too :]

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Glitchcore... I thought of it as some sort of electronic music genre :P

It *does* have flashy graphics, and the sfx are fitting nicely. I tried to avoid entering the next area once, since I wanted to see what happens after these 10 secs ^_^

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

Very nice game. Liked the audio and visual effects. Very innovative. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]