August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blue Square Loves Gold

by nicotr014 - Jam Entry

Flash/Starling/CitrusEngine/SoundAS/TiledMapEditor

WASD to control the blue square. The square loves coins and has 10 seconds to collect a coin before dying :(. Small coins will add 5 seconds to your time.

There are only 4 levels. Most things don't work.. Glad it's over :) Phew.

Music by my friend Max Rauch - https://soundcloud.com/raxmauch

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#346Audio(Jam)2.63
#408Theme(Jam)2.86
#451Humor(Jam)1.71
#463Overall(Jam)2.71
#466Innovation(Jam)2.50
#466Fun(Jam)2.46
#490Mood(Jam)2.30
#535Graphics(Jam)2.32
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Infernal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59am

Jerks like hell but a great concept. Nibbles with obstacles!

Blupsy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

A nicely executed, simple game. Well done.

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Very good concept and execution, it's pretty fun to play! The graphics could use some polish, though. Good job and keep at it! :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

I feel like if you had more time to spend on this you could really make some interesting levels to take advantage of the blue trails, still good work!

Kidney says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30am

While the 10-second checkpoint concept is a bit restricting, I did like the use of the blue trail to limit your movement, especially on the 4th level. Good job!

Kotstulle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:42am

I really enjoyed your game and I hope that you keep working on it. Maybe the blue-colored squares will get some function in future releases :)

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:43am

Nice entry. Like the way your trail blocks you in.

syawqy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

need more level,the concept look promising

headchant says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:32am

Liked the music! With some more levels this could be great.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:33am

An innovative nibbles, good idea!
Need more levels anyway.

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:35am

Keep going! You can do a lot of things with this basic concept. The controls felt a bit stuck here.

thegrimace says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:45am

I played the last level twice on accident, haha. Good job.

justi says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Sorry, but on my Ubuntu WASD controll doeasn't work.

Sascha says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I like the Snake-like concept of leaving trails and collecting items. Too bad you ran out of time for more!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]