August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lion Racing

by TammiLion - Jam Entry

Lion racing is a simulation game where you train your lion to become the best racer! Right now the game features three different races. Jumping hasn't been implemented yet so tip: don't train jumping.

The game features music, art, races, training your lion and your lion can also become mature! I would have liked to implement the jumping feature, make performance also dependent on stamina, the ability to give your lion a name and an improved look for the racing track. Also more races of course and more dialog the give the story a better feel.

Hope you enjoy it!

It's written in java so I think it will run on all systems (at least it will run on Windows).

My first LD and my first finished game *proud*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#267Audio(Jam)2.91
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#309Humor(Jam)2.35
#373Theme(Jam)2.91
#444Overall(Jam)2.75
#453Mood(Jam)2.44
#506Fun(Jam)2.33
#573Graphics(Jam)2.04
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

dawi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:34am

I'm under linux : I'm stuck at the main instructions. I can see the controls when a press 'i', but I can't start the game with enter :(. Do I do something wrong ?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36am

Neat :) The lion picture is cute and the concept is interesting. You should definitively add more graphics and tweak the user interface a little bit. Nice game for a first. Good work :)

TammiLion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20am

@dawi I will took a look at it when I'm back home. Thanks for trying! @archa... agreed, thanks!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:35pm

I like the music a lot, and the little pictures look adorable! I also liked that my lion picture changed when it grew older - nice attention to detail.

There's not much to do there though, is there? Just alternate speed training and resting, and wait for a race. The timer stopping and skipping 2 seconds after I use an action makes the feel unresponsive - at first I thought that it was just lagging a lot. A progress bar or a separate timer there might've helped. And I don't even get a message when I win a race? My lion is pretty sad about that.

The concept is fun though, and with a bit more work, you could make a cool game out of it. Oh, and: Congratulations on your first LD entry!

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:29am

@tobias thanks a lot! Hahah definitely played a longer time then to see the lion grow up :) You're correct, there's not much to do besides pressing two buttons and waiting. That's because I didn't get to implement jump nor make jump or stamina affect the races so the game became smaller than intended. I KNOW, bums me too, but when you win you do get to compete in a different race, it's the only feedback for now... Thanks for the feedback, I used Thread.sleep() so the training would take some time but as the creator I didn't notice it would make the game feel unresponsive. Thanks!

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:35pm

I thought this was a charming little game. First off the music is nice and the concept is great. I also like the faces of the animals. I like how stamina effects training and progress in the courses.

You've said yourself that you would have liked to put in jumping training. It did need that because the races were quite tedious to watch. Some manner of input from the player during races would be good. For instance choosing at what point in the race to give your lion a boost of speed at the cost of saved stamina etc.

Overall I liked the game and it was something a bit different. Make sure you polish it up nicely in the future, there are spelling mistakes and you aren't trimming your decimal numbers to short numbers.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I quite like how you train then do the race thing to test that, although I didn't really enjoy the training , it just seemed a bit too random

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:41pm

@starspell: the boost is a great idea and indeed I should definitely trim the numbers. I actually was thinking about changing the number to bars.
@randomelginguy: the higher the stamina you had left the higher the chance of a succesive training (full stamina 80%, 1 stamina - 20%, etc)
Thanks for playing and the feedback!

Meep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Nice concept with cute art. Would've been nice if there were more things to do (unless I missed something D:), or a bit more graphics. Nice work, regardless!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:40pm

could be a nice concept, but the 10 second thing is just annoying here.

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:49am

Really interesting idea, people don't typically try simulations for LD! Like the idea of lions racing a lot, the graphics are simple but cute. Wish the sounds were a little quieter though and some of the sound effects for succeeding and failing got grating after a while. Wish jumping would have been implemented too.

Kad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:14pm

The music is charming, the art is nice, and the idea is good too. The implementation of the ten seconds concept doesn't help the game, because it feels more annoying than a plus. I would recommend retouching the text or display to feel more animated. Small details, like how you made the lion growl when an action is selected help a lot too.

udo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Congrats on your first LD entry, that was uncoventional and fun! I can confirm it runs fine on OS X, too. Good job with the music and I liked the unusual flow of training/racing...

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I jumped a bit when I hear the roar at the beginning of the game because I had my speakers maxed out. Heh. I'm just a bit concerned that I have to be quick with the training since I only have 10 seconds in real time. Not saying that's a bad thing because it does add a little challenge. Nice work!

TammiLion says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Everyone thanks so much for playing and giving me advice! I will take it all to heart when creating new games :) Sorry it took me so long to play your games and rate them back but I will do so now!

wbobeirne says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:59am

Couldn't get the jar. You should find some alternative hosting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]