August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shelter

by Tommislav - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're in a room with a bomb with a very short fuse. Hurry and take shelter!

Please note that this game was intended for mobile and tablets, but I exported it to flash so it can be tested in the browser. This means that this is a mouse-only game.

I will upload a APK later if anyone would like to try it in their mobile. Performance should be much better on mobile.

Made with haXe, openFL and my own entity framework named Seagal.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#277Innovation3.37
#526Fun2.96
#538Overall3.07
#550Humor2.24
#596Graphics2.81
#677Theme3.04
#772Mood2.46
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Good idea. Still I feel like flinging the blob would be far more fun than drawing a path for him.

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Good little game

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00pm

An interesting game for tablet as you said, on Windows with the mouse and the scrolling it's a bit difficult :(
Btw it lacks some nice sounds :)

Liked it ! good work ! :)

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13pm

That was alright. I wouldn't say that drawing a path for a blob is the most fun mechanic in the world. It needs something to feel a bit more "player expressive". As it was I just felt like it was a test of how fast I could switch between fiddling with the camera and drawing the path.

I like the graphics for the blobs.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:33am

Very nice! I'd love to see a more developed version of this game. The basic idea is great, so the following is just some critique to make it even better. It could use some better mechanics, as others have mentioned. Drawing a path may be OK, but not it's a bit too annoying that you stop drawing when you hit the wall. Maybe pathfinding would be good to make it feel less like the game mechanics are working against you. Also, the "pause when scrolling" feature feels a bit unnatural. Maybe you put it there do adhere to the 10 seconds theme? Try a longer timeout and no pausing. Or the other way around, pause automatically when no entities are moving.

Tommislav says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Thanks a lot for your feedback (all of you).
I have to say that I'm very pleased with how the game turned out. Although the control of the blobs did suffer a lot from the deadline.
Also, my poor level design skills does not do the game justice. For example, the mechanic where you can sacrifice some of your blobs to prevent the fire from spreading could be taken a lot further (except for one level it's hardly even noticable right now). Instead it's a bit too much of the stress/scroll/drag - which is even worse with the controls not being perfect...
But I will very likely continue exploring with the mechanics of this game =)

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Neat concept, fun game. Charming art style. Would be incredible on a phone/tablet.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

my blob flew through the wall in level 4. other than that moving the face was pretty fun.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

This is a really solid game, but you need to ditch the "10 seconds" part for a post-comp version. A shorter time with smaller levels, and checkpoints would be even more fun: you could design the levels in such a way that the explosion is always right on your tail!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Fun little game, looks really cute. Would be great if drawing the path outside of the screen would also scroll a bit, but maybe that would be too easy... :)

manuq says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:45am

The flood fill effect is awesome. Looks very retro.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]