August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CLIMB UP!!

by isharacomix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CLIMB UP!! is an NES game written in 6502 assembly. The web link allows you to play it in your browser (and edit the source code!), but for best effect, download the ROM image and play it in a local emulator. <del>The web-based emulator's sound isn't working for some reason, but I'm still working on that</del> the web-based emulator's sound works sometimes on some Chrome browsers. Click the megaphone button to see if it works for you.

To move your guy, use the left/right button. To jump press the NES A button (mapped to 'X' key in the browser version)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Innovation3.52
#246Overall3.40
#378Theme3.35
#465Mood2.84
#601Fun2.87
#656Graphics2.73
#772Humor1.90
#835Audio1.89
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43am

You wrote this in 6502 assembly? That is insane and awesome.

awenonian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03am

This game is really cool, but just my two cents, I would have liked a button that kills your guy, so if I miss a jump, I don't have to just wait for him to die.

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:11am

It's pretty cool and the fact you wrote it in 6502 assembly is crazy.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12am

That was pretty fun.
And you wrote it in under 6 hours, right?

siat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

This was so fun! Nice level design, controls were a little... twitchy.

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

@awenonian: Yeah, a few of my friends said the same thing. That feature wasn't really something I considered until I actually made the levels. :)

@megashroom: I think I spent about 14 hours altogether at the computer.

@slat: Yeah, if I had more time, I would have tried to make it so you didn't need frame-perfect timing to play. :)

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

I wish there was a button to kill your guy before 10 seconds :)

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Its been a long time since I wrote assembly language so looking at your source code brought back fond memories. I just played the web version so had to leave the sound category blank. Interesting concept though the thought of climbing on the backs of your dead failures could be considered disturbing. Great entry.

disease says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

Great concept and coding it in NES assembly is an incredible feat. Only issue I had with the game is that the size of the jumps seemed random and things moved too quickly and finicky.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

Very cool. Jumps need some "hang time" though probably.

Temich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

Simple but great game :> Nice work!

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17am

That's great seeing new games being made with older materials. This actually makes me want to program in assembly again!

triforcespark says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46am

The puzzles aren't that difficult, but it can have the potential to have good puzzles.
I wish it had a "skip the whole 10 seconds" button, to make the game faster. Also a restart button. Map it to either B or SELECT.
For some reason, the game is buggy in Nestopia. Works fine on FCEUX.

I still can't believe someone would be able to make a game on assembly. On a Ludum Dare compo.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30am

It's crazy that you wrote that in 6502 assembly, and it's admirable, that you made a game for SNES - I also like how you connected the other theme, death is useful ;)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01am

You fantastic son of a bitch. All it needs is a countdown timer! Great job!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15am

6502 assembly... You are insane! :)

paraple-geek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28am

I love the idea, really adictive.
I had fun time playing your game!

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

A countdown timer would make a nice addition

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

Very interesting Game :) The fact that it's written in 6502 assembly makes it really unique and awesome

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35am

That you wrote this in Assembly is insane!

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58pm

The Theme seems to hold back the game play, the time trial-ing is fun but coupled with that is waiting in a pit for 10 seconds. That being said, it was still easily fun to play until the end, I enjoyed this game. All that's really missing a suicide or next guy button, though I understand that would have diminished the theme.

And of course, wow, 6502 assembly. Yeah, have some stars. That you built it in assembly is cool, but that it was still genuinely fun, pretty and innovative just makes it brilliant.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Cool idea!

c0nfused says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

very nice little game.

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

I could not rate the audio (shame on me, I do not have a NES emulator on this PC), but the game (and the way you made it) was awesome !
(on a totally unrelated topic, we interpreted the theme in a very similar way. But doing it in Java is not as cool as doing a NES game)

Schulles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Man, 6502 assembly! :O

kapoty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I do not get as much play.

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Cool! Didn't know about #8bitmooc, that's pretty cool to do Ludum in. The game itself felt a bit too fast @ 60 fps, but still fun to play (60 fps made it challenging)

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58pm

A good idea, and spectacular that you wrote it in assembly. The theme works against the game though. If you keep developing this, definitely try to tighten the controls a bit!

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I'll just browse the source. Uh..uhuh. Yep, makes no sense :D
It's fun to play. Mad props!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Maaan, I'll rate it high just because it's written in bloody assembly in 48 hours!! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Awesome!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Whoa in 6502 asm....you're amazing!

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Great job creating an actual nes game. That couldn't have been easy. Love the concept too.

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00pm

awesome achievement

h_double says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

Unfortunately the NES version wouldn't run right in Nestopia for me. Web version works okay but it felt like it takes way longer than 10 sec to die (a die button would have been handy). Overall this is an awesomely ambitious entry and the general concept could definitely be expanded into something cool!

7Soul says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26am

Tested it on a couple of emulators but it didn't work well. It was laggy, crashed a few times and the sprites blinked a lot. Worked well on chrome

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49am

This must have been hard to make! And yet the game design is great and it's fun. Awesome work. There was of rare bug where I could go through some wall, but I figured assembly language would be extremely difficult to debug.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:27am

As a non-technical dude I didn't really care about what it was made with, and I honestly wasn't expecting much... but somehow I really really really dig this thing, it just clicks for me.

HD408 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Good that you made a "Web" version of it. Not much of an innovation here, but no bugs, and looks cool.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Nes-Game? Awesome!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

This is crazy awesome. It's doubly great that you've provided a playground for teaching others!

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice! It's good to see that 8bitmooc works.

When I jump and hit a platform from below it sticks until I release the jump button. In this state I can not move but if I stuck on a previous entity then they can move together. I don't know if it's a bug or not but it's wierd.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]