August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Hero

by Diogo Muller - Jam Entry

NEWEST: ADDED .NET 4.0 SUPPORT. *Most* people should already have this on their machines. Sorry for any inconvenience.

NEW: ADDED LINUX SUPPORT. We compiled it on a binary so Mono shouldn't be needed, works on our machines, but would love if someone could test it for us.

This is our first Ludum Dare, and we are pretty proud of this game.

WASD and/or Arrow keys move your character. Pick up the objective and drop it at the green area.

Made using C# Monogame. Windows and Linux only, for now.

Sorry, but no OS/X version. Unfortunately, I lack the experience to port it on that platform, and was quite busy those last days.

Programmers: Diogo Muller and Joao Vitor
Art: Melanie Young
Music: Moises 'Musashi' Santana

This game requires .NET Framework version 4.0/4.5. Linux version already includes the necessary Mono version embeeded.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#113Theme(Jam)3.49
#118Humor(Jam)3.12
#123Fun(Jam)3.35
#217Audio(Jam)3.04
#269Overall(Jam)3.16
#288Mood(Jam)2.92
#315Innovation(Jam)2.93
#463Graphics(Jam)2.65

Comments

Adroitboss says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Pretty cool ! But its either its hard to distinguish who to save , some of your collision code is of at times.

jvlppm says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:43pm

The collision detection was fixed before submission, thanks.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Adroitboss, thanks for your comment!

We tought about making only the target pickable (in one of the levels it still is), but also found it was funnier if your hero could pick wrong targets, like a drunk/desperate hero. If more people think it would be better that way, we can revert it, no problems.

About the collision code, sorry, it's because we use Bounding Boxes instead of pixel collision. I can see what we can do to make it better, but I'm not sure if there's much. Maybe if we change the map a bit it'll help?

jvlppm says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Sorry Adroitboss, I though you were referring to an earlier build (my local time and the comment date got me confused).

Adroitboss says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:23pm

*or some of your collision code is off at times.

Adroitboss says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Okay no problem. Downloading the new one now.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:41pm

You can download a new version now. In this one, only the target is pickable.

I also changed the scoring a bit to reflect that.

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:37am

Nice!!

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23am

Hehe, pretty amusing and short little levels. Reminds me of Superman 64 (but not in a bad way, I promise).

Music works well, graphical style fits with the kind of game it is. Overall a nice little entry.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

Thanks! One of our inspirations was the Atari Superman game :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34am

Nice game. I like how different this is. And somehow you've managed to add a great feel to the game. I like that it randomly chooses a scenario. I had a lot of fun, and I really loved it.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Nice work :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Pretty fun, and definitely somewhat addictive. Great job! :)

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:29pm

This is great. Quite confusing at start, but i really liked this game after i got hang of this.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31pm

I really like the overall idea of the game. There's some fun scenarios and the act of completing them is very fun. The graphical style and sound goes well with it, and it feels sort of fast-paced.

The only real problem I had with this game I think lies in the fact that you need to complete as many scenarios as possible in 10 seconds. The idea is pretty fun, sort of a speed-run kind of thing, complete as much in 10 seconds as you can. Though I'm not sure how well it works with only 10 seconds. Let me elaborate :)

When it comes to these sort of games, I can get very competitive with myself (So good job on that part! You got me to want to do better each run). Unfortunately, most of the time I was kind of frustrated because I felt a lot of my time is wasted either having to read the scenario text of what to do (if it's a new one), or if I've already done the scenario having to establish what to do again. Having to go through these processes so quickly within one 10 second play I feel is pushing it, as most of the time I really worried mostly about understanding the scenario than I did trying to complete it as fast as I can, since it feels in 10 seconds every single thought counts.

Besides the timed aspect, I feel the game idea could have much potential for becoming a bigger game. It is great fun flying around doing the objectives, though perhaps with those kind of complex scenarios, perhaps it would work better with having 10 second scenarios than trying to force as many scenarios into 10 seconds as possible :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Thanks for the comments, everyone!

BerdiNerdi, our initial idea was "each scenario has 10 seconds", but we found out the complexity of them would have to be a lot bigger, if it was the case. We limited ourselves to doing more, but shorter scenarios, for now. Of course, if we continue developing this game, the idea of more complex, longer scenarios is a very big possibility. :) That and online leaderboards (or something similar), we really liked the "beat your high score" direction we ended up with.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Funny idea.. Wish I had 10s for each level instead of 10 for all levels as I only can play 3-4 before I lose.

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Nice game, it was really fun. Was hoping for it to last longer though :(

The music was really good

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Game seems nice, music is very cool, but I can't play it well with my french keyboard and even alt+shift doesn't change the keys ingame. maybe you should consider mapping arrows also for those who don't have an english keyboard.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

@Marcellus Will do that as soon as possible :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

@Marcellus Added Arrow controls. Thanks for the help!

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17pm

@Diogo: Heh, yeah I figured you guys had a good reason for doing it the way you did. At any rate, you did accomplish what you sought to do. I got very competitive with myself and always tried to beat my last score :) Online leaderboards would be awesome.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Nice job, really fun!

Supernours says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Cool, but I think that a party is a bit short.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

@BerdiNerdi Heh, don't tell me. I also got a bit too competitive with myself,and had to control myself and stop playing, when I was balancing the scoring system :)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I couldn't get it to work, the game is telling me that .NET framework isn't installed even tough it is

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

@Reaperguy I think you may need a newer version of the .NET Framework. You can download it here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653

Thanks for the reminder, I'll add a link to it on the game description.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Wow, awesome game. It took me in a flow. I couldnt stop. The end screen music is superb. :)

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

PS: more levels appreciated

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

@kunzbe Will do, in the future. For now, we'll work on porting this game to Linux and OS/X. :)

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I got to 16 points! Woo! Pretty fun game, although the movement is kind of frustrating along surfaces, I feel like I should be sliding but nope, just full stops. Makes it harder, but that's not really a bad thing. Nice job! I absolutely LOVE the idea and implementation of it!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24pm

@john_conder9 if we continue working on this game, better movement, inertia and even some other physics calculations (and physics based levels) are on our list as possible features.

One of our dropped puzzles involved a baby cart down a ramp, and for that we would need some acceleration/inertia/gravity. :)

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Fun idea, implementation not the best but fun nevertheless

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Bug of collisions but really funny and hard

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Funny game, loved the "Help grandma meet her 'friend'" level. Had a lot of fun too, was not expecting it to be randomized. Music was nice too, solid game all around!

Beerman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

That was fun. It's got a bit of a Wario Ware feel to it with all the little mini-scenarios. Could maybe do with some kind of time extend mechanic, because it's always a bit disappointing when the timer runs out and I want to keep playing.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

This one's a lot of fun. I had a similar idea myself, but ruled it out as something I couldn't get done inside the timeframe. Nice work proving me wrong :). I liked the randomized elements and the breakneck pace of it all, nicely done.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

Dammit I have to install .net framework. I'll come back to this later if I can.

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

Fun game, fast to lose :)

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08am

Good game! More levels would be great!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38am

Damnit, i needed the .net framework too.. But that was worth it. A really fun game for a first entry, keep partecipating!

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Fun! I would have liked even more variety in levels and perhaps a number of days with each day lasting ten seconds (maybe nights too with different levels?). Anyway, really nice work.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:43pm

@panurge Hey, that's a cool idea! Thanks!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

SUPES

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

it really have a mood and that is hard

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Wow - is there any way to do more than 4 at a time? I think I'd need real super-hero powers to do that, haha. Anyway - that's a pretty nice wario-ware type game, with each task sharing a common theme. The graphics are on the simple side, but work well. Good job! And congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

gene-z says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Crazy game, Very good Work ,,

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47pm

This is a cool idea! It's fun to try to frantically guess the goal.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

I already say it on facebook, but I say here too, is very addictive. When comes dlc's??? Like Hallowen dlc, Xmas... Maybe for a post ludum dare version of the game, hold the ideia of 10 seconds, but with bonus to increase this time. Don't need to change to 10 seconds scenarios, is more fun in the way.

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29am

You forced me to restart my machine... for that you cannot be forgiven.

cute little game though. My first two plays I randomly drew the same 3 jobs and it was a bit disappointing, after that though I got to try them all.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36am

@mikegbrown I'm sorry! Next time I'll probably use something that compiles to web, it's a lot more pratical. That, or .NET 4.0, that probably everyone has. Lesson learned. About the random, wow! Pretty unlucky, hahaha. There are few jobs (yet), but I have never drawn the same three like that.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24pm

A fast paced fun little game :D

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Oh man, this was a lot of fun. Too difficult to score big though. And LOVE the soundtrack xD

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:35pm

This is one of the coolest ideas I've played yet. Really awesome! The few flaws I can find are mostly with collision; it can be a bit wonky.

Synerd says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Great Job! o/

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

Nice idea, should have an ending. Too much is depending on holding the right direction when you start a scenario. Maybe you should give something like 0.1 seconds pause between scenarios.

Getting to level 6 is my record :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

Haha! pretty neat!! and fun!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

@Kragnir Thanks for the suggestions! I'll keep this in mind if we expand our game.

Jeremias says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Cool concept. The 10 second timer is a bit too restrictive. I think it would be better, if the 10 seconds were per round and in return, the tasks get a bit more complex. But you already discussed this in previous comments :) Why not giving just 2 tasks at once, like save the kitten and arrest the thief?

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Nice :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Really fun actually!! Liked mainly the objectives.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

@Jeremias Thanks for the suggestion! We'll take it in consideration, if we end up expanding the game. We're planning more complex tasks too, and maybe a mode with the short minigames, but with a less restrictive time limit. :)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

Quite humorous, I like the simple gameplay and especially the audio although it's weird that the sound doesn't loop, it just ends abruptly which is not very nice.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

@Lokarunith You know, on the weekend rush I never noticed that. It should have looped. I'll take a look at it, thanks!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

It's a frantic game with cool music!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Hey guys, I tested under Linux Ubuntu 11.10 32-bit, but got the message "Impossible to execute the binary file". It's hard to be multiplatform with these ms things, maybe next time you can try a more multiplatform tool, like unit or even web/javascript for web games.
If you want more testing with the Linux version just message me and I will be glad to help.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Does not work on Linux here, it gives something like:
System.TypeInitializationException: An exception was thrown by the type initializer for OpenTK.Graphics.GraphicsContext ---> System.TypeInitializationException: An exception was thrown by the type initializer for OpenTK.Platform.Factory ---> System.TypeInitializationException: An exception was thrown by the type initializer for OpenTK.Configuration ---> System.DllNotFoundException: libc

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:51pm

@Rodrigo Robles @Latcarf Hey guys, thanks for testing! Do you guys have Mono installed? Shouldn't be needed, but... Did you guys run the .exe file, or the other executable file? The .exe file is there only for some data, you should run the other executable file. Latcarf, do you have libc installed?

Thanks for the help!

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:53pm

The 10 seconds limit got me frustrated ;[ can't really enjoy the game because it's over too quick. I know it's the theme of the jam, but maybe you could have used it differently.

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:48pm

I like the graphics and music, they fit pretty well together. Nice take on theme, but I think the approach wasn't all right, because it happens all so quickly. When you start enjoying it, it ends. :( Very nice entry!

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:05pm

I can start the game and see the main menu, but as soon as I try any of the options it crashes "10 seconds has stopped working". Even if I press escape to quit it crashes. Tried a few different things and even downloaded it again, but couldn't get it to work. :/

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:20pm

@Linusson That's strange. What's your SO and which .NET version are you using?

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:53am

I couldn't run:

Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: tensecondhero.exe
Problem Signature 02: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03: 521df73d
Problem Signature 04: TenSecondHero
Problem Signature 05: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 06: 521df73d
Problem Signature 07: 81
Problem Signature 08: 2d
Problem Signature 09: System.IO.FileLoadException
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 93dc
Additional Information 2: 93dc5102dc487fd12658226153db25f9
Additional Information 3: 0636
Additional Information 4: 06367b88ce1fd2879529443ee7b37c90

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:02pm

@drkrunk We're looking into it. Is your SO 32 or 64 bit?

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:27pm

64 bit Windows 7 Ultimate.

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:40pm

@drkrunk And what's your .NET version? That's a kinda strange exception you got here, it's like there is one or more files missing.

Are you running from the compressed file, or did you extract it before?

Sorry about all the questions and no solutions. Thanks for all the help!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Bulky and fully functional graphics!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Simple easy short game. Great job! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:10pm

@Jupiter_Hadley Thanks! I'll check it out!

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:29pm

My .Net Version is 4.0.30319. The crash report came from the 4.0 version. I extracted it and ran it as admin.

I'll try updating to 4.5 and see how that goes.

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Both worked after updating. Must have been something newer than my original .net.

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Pretty fun game, music was okay, graphics are simple but passable, everything felt nice. I'd like to see where this goes if you keep developing it. All in all good entry.

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:19pm

@drkrunk Thanks for the help and review, it means a lot to us.

We'll see if there's something strange with the 4.0 version, sorry for all the inconvenience!

noddy2006 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:31am

Very cool, I like it! But the game only lasting 10 seconds is a bit lame. Would be more fun if the levels were a bit longer, and you had 10 seconds to complete each one. I can understand why you made that decision though, it does give the game a bit of a hectic quality and it is a more interesting use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]