August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zero Gravity Free Runner release :D

by Soundless_dev - Jam Entry

UPDATE: So I tried using Microsoft's ClickOnce technology when I rebuilt it so it would run on computers without XNA Game Studio, but that didn't work because the project uses external data storage. So instead I included XNA Redistributable in the archive, a temporary fix, but now it should work for all of those who didn't have XNA Game Studio.

FINALLY! Now I can sleep and shower for the first time in 3 days!

So here's my submission for LD27 [:
Sorry I only had time to design 8 levels /:
I thought I was gonna go with procedural generation but I realized that was practically impossible with this kind of geometry, so I made a level editor and level UI system last night and packed in as much levels I could make (I didn't sleep at all X.X) But to make up for it there's an in-game level editor! :D
It's the same one I used to create all the levels, except the tutorial (that one I hard coded into the game), and a Readme is included.
Also there's an in game tutorial, but it doesn't let you know there are optional seconday controls (The arrow keys)

I Hope you enjoy! [: I really worked hard on this!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#20Fun(Jam)3.83
#41Overall(Jam)3.83
#85Innovation(Jam)3.53
#155Audio(Jam)3.25
#186Theme(Jam)3.34
#201Mood(Jam)3.16
#222Humor(Jam)2.71
#343Graphics(Jam)3.06

Comments

Magdev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10am

Dayum this is rad.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

Game crashed after the first level. Tutorial level was pretty sick though

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17am

@oxysoft Thanks for letting me know, I shall look into it

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

The game crashes at the end of the level 1 (right when I enter the end area).

I enjoyed this one! I started to walk and then my mind was blown :D
VVVVVVV? ;)

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

Eeek, I can't seem to play any level (crashes starting Level 1 or even the tutorial).

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34am

What program did you use to make your game? I asked because I couldn't get the game to open. When I try to open, nothing happens. No error messages.
I'm using Windows 8 64bit.

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47am

@jprogman I used Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 as a compiler for C# with the XNA / .NET framework

You might need XNA game studio 4.0 to run it, If you really wanna go through the trouble, that may fix the issue.

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Neat.

I like the minimalistic graphics, got straight to the gameplay! Didn't crash for me.

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01am

Ok, got it working. Turns out that I haven't got XNA installed. Confusing since I'm constantly switching between two computers heh.
As for the game, I like it! I think you got something there: a nice fast-paced anti-gravity platformer.

The Jahn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

This is pretty awesome. Crashes for me when the window loses focus though. Would love to see this explored more, felt really good to play.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:21am

It's quite hard, I like it :) Crashed after the first time after first level, player sometimes freezes in mid-air. Good game :) Reminded me of VVVVV a little

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Enjoyed the movement style. :) Difficult game though. :P

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Thanks all [: For the feedback and the error reports, it's all helping very much. I really should do a postmortem soon >.<

I wish I'd heard of this VVVVV game before it was mentioned on the comments here, I looked it up and it's quite awesome. It would have been cool to use that as one of my sources of inspiration.

Arcana says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Ha ha ha, the tutorial is harder than the first level.

The up-down-left-right holy crap was hard as hell for me. The explosion effects were awesome. The fluidity was great. Reminds me of a faster version of VVVVVV. I think the 10sec theme in this case was a bonus, since the game's a bit more "twitchy" style due to its responsive controls.

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

Awesome twitch reflex gameplay but that last level is a killer. Still haven't gotten passed it. Controls took me awhile to get used to but they grew on me. I think the difficulty works for it and the fast restarts are very helpful.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Freaking awesome unforgiving fun. I can eeeasily get addicted to this game. Love the hella fast pace, it's part of what makes it addicting!

iiechapman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

Dude this was sweeeeet! Great music, pumps you up, this was a blast!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Very nice game! i loved it :) but i think it is a little bit too gard :p (can't succes the tutorial :D). Well done !

galman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Awesome game! The gameplay is really fun :) And I love the sound effects and all the graphical effects, this game is so great! I sent it to few friends ;)

Sascha says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:00am

Great entry! Interesting concept, solid controls and tough but beatable level design! Took a bit to get used to the fast pace at first. Wouldn't really have needed the 10 second timer though.

Wertle says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:05am

One thing you might consider is if you die by spike, hold the time bar in place - I had some trouble on occasion figuring out if I died from spikes or from the time running out since the bar disappears immediately. I think with some difficulty tuning this could be a super fun little game. Nice work!

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:49am

I really liked the pace of the game, it was a bit hard to control the character at the beginning, but when you get it the game is fun. Good job! :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:11am

I really really love the controls, everything feels responsive. There's details like how you can control yourself in mid-air (and even a level built around that, nice). The hyperactive camera adds to the hectic feeling. Hell, any game that reminds me of N is a good thing.

It crashes when you're out of focus though.

phi says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:55am

Frustratingly fun.

Infin8 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Absolutely brilliant and has tight controls that just make you want to keep trying.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Damn, this game is so hard. This is for sure in the top three best games I have played this LD. music is great, so hard, fast paced, soundtrack please? Keep it up!

Soundless_dev says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:35am

Thank you everyone for the feedback! :D

the soundtrack can be found on the front page of
http://robothell.bandcamp.com/
I used the songs 'CDOB'(my personal favorite), 'Pterodactyl', and 'C2L' in the game.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Great game. The music is very good also. Makes you a little dizzy if you play for more than a couple minutes though.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:58am

Really cool game. Most games I've played that use gravity as a facet of the gameplay end up coming across as floaty or nonresponsive, but you really kept the energy going throughout. Really cool game, and strong execution.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Intense!
It's amazing that the mechanics and controls just work so well considering how original the concept is. The levels are extremely well designed and rarely frustrating even after dying repeatedly. The changing colors every time I die definitely help reduce the frustration :]

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]