August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape From Homeshank

by ColdBrain - Jam Entry

Hamster and Canary decided to escape from the HomeShank. Help them overcome dangerous places and get to the forest. They had a hard life... They have only ten seconds of each. Hamster opens the way for the Canary. Bird lifts Hamster where he can no pass.

Google Chrome preferred.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#38Audio(Jam)3.76
#42Graphics(Jam)4.33
#84Theme(Jam)3.58
#117Mood(Jam)3.40
#171Innovation(Jam)3.26
#183Humor(Jam)2.84
#186Overall(Jam)3.35
#251Fun(Jam)3.02

Comments

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Fantastic Jam entry! Beautiful audio and visuals! :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56am

haha.. really interesting.. the poor hamster.. like your take on the theme.. enjoyed it good job! enjoyed the art!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00am

Super game! Really beautiful and interesting!

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12am

Love these skull-wallpapers!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21am

I had some serious FPS issues with it but it was a cool game nonetheless. Simple concept with some very good music and pretty darn nice graphics. Great job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36am

awesome art, i love the wheel-hamster hahaha. GOOD job :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58am

Looks great, well done.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01am

Great visuals and good idea.
A mayor problem I noticed was that I could just tap quickly with the bird and it was enough to fly me trough the levels with many seconds to spare.

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14am

A nicely original take on the theme. The graphics were clean and the background music wonderful if a little repetitive when you had to keep restarting. Unfortunately I kept getting stuck and had to reload the page. The controls also felt a little floaty/unresponsive at times. Well done on a complete and cute entry.

teamenschede says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:40am

Nice game. It looks very polished and complete. Graphics and music set a great mood.

The balance is a little off, you can use the bird alone to complete almost every level.

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58am

Great use of the theme, loved the graphics and sound!
Great game!

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Beautiful game! Runs nice on Chrome, thanks

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I love your style of graphics very much. The levels are nicely crafted, and the gameplay mechanics works well. Though the 10 seconds works like sort of energy, not time, I feel it's a bit wired. BTW your gameplay mechanics is somewhat similar to us. Nicely done, good job :)

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:47am

very cool concept - reminded me of a paper glider game I've played years ago, with the great addition of having two different resources
the graphics are marvelous as well

well done - I really enjoyed it :)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:40am

Amazing visuals and audio :)

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

so fun you should make it for mobile :D

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:01am

Beautiful, charming, and fun!

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

that game touch me :] Is beautiful, the sound is great, and the atmosfere perfect, I was really wanting to save the poor Pets. Just the mechanics are a bit strange, but nothing soo bad. Good job!

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

The audio and art in this game are really good. The hamster/canary duo are well designed. The only thing that bugged me were the controls. They seemed too slippery when flying and touching objects in flight. Otherwise very polished game! Good job guys!

mklee says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:30am

The art and sound are really cute and enchanting! I wish the controls were a little tighter, it's really easy to accidentally get caught on objects and sometimes I feel like the game doesn't detect when I'm running versus flying properly. Otherwise great job!

Piat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:48am

Great art. Good concept, although I found it difficult to get very far due to close proximity of obstacles. Can they regenerate their timing when not being used? Characters are a bit morbid but original.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:12am

I wish i could be better at it but its a tough game! love the art and the concept, and the music too! the wheeled hamster is awesome

flavio says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:37pm

C.U.T.E. !!! Lovely game ! Thanks !

Zap says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Beautiful presentation! The art style is amazing, I especially love those wallpapers. The music is great and matches the visuals perfectly, I just wish it was a longer loop.
I found the controls were frustratingly loose and, although a small thing, it was annoying having to swap back to mouse click restart. Also, collisions on obstacles sometimes seemed to be larger than the visuals suggested (bottle of poison for example.) But it was pretty enough that I persevered until the end of the game. Cool entry.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Really great graphics, I was impressed with the music too. I think the game idea is really great, although at the moment the gameplay is a bit unpolished when compared to the graphics and music. But this could end up being something very addictive.

yagiz says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Nice audio and visuals!

Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:33am

Loved the art, and an interesting premise.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]