August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Darn Clock

by sirdorius - Jam Entry

In Darn Clock you play as a late for work employee. You have 10 seconds to catch the bus otherwise you will come in late and lose a bit of your salary. Don't be late too much or you will lose your job! Don't worry about the collateral damage you might cause...

This game is inspired by my daily morning. Except I don't have a suitcase...

This was done in 36 hours because I had forgotten about the LD this weekend. So it probably lacks polish and has lots of bugs. Tell me what you think in the comments and I will be grateful!

UPDATE: linux version was missing files, fixed in the new link

UPDATE 2: added Post-Ludum version with sounds, improved graphics and minor tweaks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Fun(Jam)4.14
#14Theme(Jam)3.98
#14Overall(Jam)3.97
#36Humor(Jam)3.79
#63Innovation(Jam)3.60
#104Mood(Jam)3.47
#148Graphics(Jam)3.80
#472Audio(Jam)1.91

Comments

SamC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24am

Fun game, brought back Frogger memories.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24am

I really enjoyed this game! It's very intuitive to understand how to play it. The small character moves also nicely.

kantieno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

I liked it, it was rather lighthearted and some of the effects made me very slightly chuckle.

JayProg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27am

Awesome game, watching the exploding traffic mayhem had me cracking up.

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28am

Very fun, love the concept. Good game!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41am

This is great! :D
Love the graphics, the blood, the explosions, and the general mayhem resulting from catching my bus.

I'm really, really disappointed not to hear any sound though, and that font doesn't quite do justice to the rest of the game. I'm still gonna play it some more. :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58am

The amount of things that can happen in this game is awesome! eg. Runs in front of car. Car spins out of control following me. I walk into another cars side. first car hits me. Explosion!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34am

Damn, this is awesome! So much fun. I like effects , some sounds could make it perfect. Implementation of theme is great.

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:35am

Great fun. I love that there's no penalty for causing mayhem. The only complaint I have is that the controls for getting on to the bus can be a little fiddly; you have to hit the door fairly accurately.

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21am

Great game. I really enjoy playing even without making to the bus. Just making havoc was fun.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12am

It really reminds me "Frogger". The art style is simple but feels good, the animation is really epic. Nice work overall.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13am

Fun game I like it!

Kotstulle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:20am

Damn I love how the cars turn over when I touch them xD I also LOVE games with reduced graphics like in yours! One of the coolest games i've seen so far^^

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40am

Amazing! That jumpy little fella is really darn cute and the physics extremely fun.

Great job!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47am

I like this one, and I was definitely amused by the death screen.

mboaj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:48am

Really a great game! Congratulations Dorian.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Ahaha very fun game, the traffic explosion surprise me. It was cool :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Really like this modern frogger! :D
I love new obstacles coming out at each new level! :)

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:57pm

So far my top favorite game!! Really nicely polished and great idea to take something we all have experienced and make it into a game :) Sounds!:O!!!

boneloaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Very funny game, we dislike bus drivers

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nice job, loved the car crashes!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Very fun and simple! Nicely done.

Amber says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:35am

This was a lot of fun! I like the graphic style and the bright colors.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:44am

Great entry! There are just so many hidden humors that collectively make this the most humorous game I've rated so far! Only if it had audio, the experience could've been near perfection. Great Job!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Really like it, addicting as hell, and the special stuff that can happen that you added(stopping in front of a car and causing an accident, walking into other people and falling, etc) are really great!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:35pm

good job. entertaining game

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

real cool I wish there was like a zoom out option once you die to watch all the chaos!!!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:05am

Dude this was the most hillariously awesome game I've played so far! The cars tipping and exploding, etc. was awesome! I only managed to keep my job for 9 days though X_X. My only complaint about this is the mouse controls made it really hard to be precise for me (maybe I'm not used to it) and it seemed like sometimes I could get into the bus from the street side? (Maybe a bug?) Anyways loved it I hope you do something more with it!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Great entry!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Hahah! So good - i didn't know to click-to-run at first so I kept missing the bus. After that... was awesome!

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Really great! Reminds me GTA II in some way.

superfrog says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:35pm

cool games.

haxpor says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Haha, have a lot of humorous sense in this game. Enjoy playing it alot :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:12pm

HOLY CRAP!! just getting the bus to work is such a mess I don't want even to imagine what's his job. An incredibly fun caricature of our society.

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:42pm

This is brilliant! Particularly enjoyed the pixelly particle blood. Lovely job.

sergilazaro says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Nice take on Frogger, I liked the simple graphics based on cubes and spheres. I loved the cute animations and explosion effects. You did a lot with really simple elements, kudos!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]