August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds to PLAY

by evilDan - Jam Entry

Get to the end of the level in 10 seconds.

Placement of the different object components is randomized, so the game is a bit unpredictable. Occasionally it will generate a level that is impossible to complete. Although I find this funny as hell, I respect that it can be annoying to most people - so... Sorry about that.

This game took me somewhere between 5-9 hours to build. It's a long ways from perfect, but I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Fun(Jam)3.29
#210Theme(Jam)3.29
#322Humor(Jam)2.29
#325Overall(Jam)3.04
#361Innovation(Jam)2.79
#453Mood(Jam)2.44
#482Audio(Jam)1.78
#597Graphics(Jam)1.79
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

dinos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48pm

It's clearly an unfinished game, but I like games with random levels! One thing I noticed is that every "second" takes about 2+ seconds (you have ~24 seconds for each level). I use Windows 7 64-bit with Google Chrome 29.0.1547.57

immanuela says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Funnily enough, I made a "get out in 10 seconds" platformer too but mine isn't random. The randomness is definitely good, you don't have to make new levels manually :)

kapoty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58pm

A simple game and good :D

evilDan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Hey dinos and immanuela, thanks for playing my game!

@dinos - the "seconds" start out as being 3 seconds of real time, and become shorter and shorter as you traverse through levels. Tee hee.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07am

Since the levels are randomly generated, seems like some can't be beaten at all? But it's fun! Nice combination of mechanics. The apples are delicious.

LoneStranger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44am

I eventually got to a level where the key was behind the lock, but overall I think it was entertaining.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45am

I liked the random levels, however one generated where I was in the top right, there was a locked wall to the left of me, and the key was on the other side of the map :(

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50am

Had fun with this, until one level where there really was no way out hahaha. Great work on the randomly generated levels. And +1 for thinking with portals! Keep it up.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:02am

Pretty good for a few minutes, level generation isn't perfect. It's possible to get stuck by a locked gate without a way to get a key.

Trilby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

This is a nice simple game. Sorry that my game disappointed you.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29pm

This is a fun game. Next time you should use all the time you have! I really like your time perception mechanic. I think you could expand on it. If you had an idle animation on your guy you could make it play faster when seconds become shorter.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

2d platformer rogue-like portal game, it doesn't get any more awesome than that! There were some questionable item placement, then I realized the levels are random :D

I enjoyed playing this game!

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Thanks for the plays and the feedback all!

@doctorscientist - I like the animation idea a lot... And it wouldn't be too hard to implement, either (not that this one has ANY animation in it lol)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35am

When I saw the screenshots, I was thinking "oh its just another escape in 10 seconds platformer". And it kinda was, but there were a few things that stood out.

Other than switching from level to level (it goes too fast to see any text), the gameplay is pretty solid. No weird collision bugs and responsive controls.

The portals were a good addition. And they were easy to use and predictable, meaning, I barely ever accidentally went in one.

The whole time I was thinking, it has all the parts, and with better level design it would really be a fun, fast paced, puzzler.

lalanl says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:54am

The platforms felt a bit icy and I fell off a lot, so I might have liked a way to control run/walk, but I thought the randomly generated levels were super cool. :)

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:02pm

The randomised levels make it interesting and challenging. The impossible levels are bound to furiate some but it's quite an interesting concept and I'd like to see more games like this in the future!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]