August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Day of the Vampire

by drilltail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game of platforming and patience.

In this world, a day lasts only ten seconds. This is kind of a big deal, since, after all, you're a vampire. Using your trusty shovel to stay underground, overcome various challenges without exposing yourself to the sun's fatal rays!

Controls: They're explained as you play. But, if you must know now, or if you forget:
- Move: Arrow keys. Press up to jump; hold it to jump higher.
- Dig: Hold Z while walking into dirt. You have to find a shovel, first.
- Suicide: K. Use this if you somehow get trapped.

Made with Flixel. I used Bfxr for the sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#17Theme4.10
#26Overall3.99
#28Fun3.90
#37Innovation3.99
#160Mood3.36
#165Graphics3.65
#260Humor2.81
#479Audio2.69

Comments

Kortuga says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

Super cool game. Nice execution on a great idea.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Really like the sprites, and really clever use of the theme, loved the game :)

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

This was really fun!

Taylor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

I really like this one! It was fun, and it was really clever with the whole day and night. I was kind of skeptical about the digging mechanic, but that made sense too! well done.

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Really fun, really interesting. Love the theme, the concept, the surprises (digging). Thank goodness for checkpoints, I kept forgetting what I was doing and would run out into daylight like an idiot! :o Great game.

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

This was a ton of fun, nice job! Lots and lots of stars all around ;)

The only thing that could have made it 100% perfectly awesome is some sweet vampire/cartoon/time-intense music.

Yup. Awesome game. Love the mechanics. Cheers!

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Just brilliant! Absolutely one of my favourites! Well executed platformer. I see this isn't your first ;)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25am

The funnest game I've played so far. Awesome job!

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37am

Awesome. Very well put together little game. I really liked the digging mechanic.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38am

Most fun so far. I haven't pressed down so much in a platformer since Rastan.

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41am

Fun and Entertaining

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41am

Great idea and well made too!

Colorvade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42am

A cool concept done well. Nice job.

AmyDee says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34am

That was a really enjoyable quick experience! The precision digging and timing challenges toward the end had just the right balance of challenge vs. pure panic.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Nice one! Looks really polished.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Good job!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45pm

This was rather harder than I expected. Are you sure a day is ten seconds long? I feel like the seconds are a little short. Your vampire is gorgeous, though.

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Really good game, the level of polish is great.
Loved the vampire art!

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice game with a pretty fun 10 second game mechanic.

drilltail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Thanks for all the nice comments! I'm glad people have fun with the game.

"Are you sure a day is ten seconds long? I feel like the seconds are a little short."

Man, you just have to make me paranoid! You made me realize that I never actually tested if the timing really is accurate.

And you're right. I let it run over a long time and took the average. A day lasts just slightly less than 10 seconds. That might be heresy, but I think it's close enough! Sunset and sunrise may give the illusion that it's worse, though: the first half of sunset and the second half of sunrise are considered daytime, while their other halves are nighttime, even though the lighting is about the same.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26am

Good gameplay idea =)
Can't understand what about 10 seconds but digging so fun, hah!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40am

Great job! Fun. Simple. Straight forward. I really love the art too!

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

cool game, cool idea

boddiul says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:24pm

The best game I have seen at Ludum Dare so far
All 5/5

alangamebot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Easily one of my favorites so far. Super fun.

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Very nice concept !
Very nice mecanics and gameplay ! Great use of the theme
Well done ! :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:09am

Wow! One of my favorites! This is such a beautifully made game, amazing idea, fits the theme very well, well-crafted levels, adorable sprite, it's just all very well done!

tompudding says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:14am

Great mechanic that fits the theme really well and really fun to play. The last part of the the last level took me a few tries so I was really pleased when I finally got it. I think music would have been especially nice since it could have been an additional indicator of the time of day

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:46pm

The original mechanic was incredibly well done. I particularly loved emergent level design (E.g. shovelling your way up). Really nice game, keep them coming!

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:08pm

adore this game :D a mole vampire! thanks for making this possible.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:41am

The first time I touched a coffin the sound scared me so bad some poo came out. My definite favorite so far. Love everything about it. Nice work!

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

really cool idea! loved the day/night cycle, and the digging controls were fantastic- it felt amazing to jump through dirt. great job!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:20am

Very smooth looking day/night cycle

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

good job

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Really cool mechanics. Great use of the 10 second theme! Wish there was some music.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:48pm

This is amazing, I rated this very highly. Awesome gameplay mechanic, digging is quite satisfying and a really interesting take on the theme. :) Awesome work!

acro says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:09am

You had me at "you're a vampire" - then the game won all my affection with the fast-beat running animation, and the digging mechanic feels so fast and fluid! Great execution of the ten seconds theme, a decent challenge all the way through, and especially in level 3. There's a great deal of game mechanics as well considering the 48h limit. Nice one!

Hayawi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

very nice game.the label on the top (daytime & nighttime)was very helpful.

siat says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:21am

I am in awe that you managed to do this in 48 hours. Such a nice game! Fun mechanic, interesting theme.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:38am

Great game! I beat it. I wish there was a more clear indication of how much time I had during the day/night, although I do like how you changed the sky's coloration.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:21am

Very nice game!

odeckers says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Fantastic

Dan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:41pm

This was a really good game! Good use of the theme as well!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:55pm

This is very good. Pretty original set-up, good graphics, and generally very enjoyable and appropriate to the theme. I like the seamless day/night transition (great use of colour) and the sparkly effects.

Fiendishly difficult towards the end, but not aggravatingly so.

My one nitpick is that the checkpoint sound effect is a bit loud compared to the rest of the sound. But heck, that's one small nitpick for an otherwise great game.

Love the title, too.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:27pm

My favourite so far - I played it for aaaages. Such a great idea... at the start I thought "errrgh, 10 second day/night... I'm just going to be sitting around waiting for night". Then the SHOVEL! Genius. My only complaint is the jump seems to be a tinnnny bit finicky - sometimes you press up, but don't jump. Devastating if you're trying to jump over an infinite hole ;)

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Very challenging game!
I liked it!

Zccc says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Great and fun idea :)

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Hehe, nice! I loved digging the terrain, and the way you showed if it is daytime or not through small windows. The background transition was a bit overkill for my small netbook. Good game!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Nice little game. At first I thought it was a bit basic but the third level was really fun to play through. Liked the little character and thought this was pretty good all round. Would like to see some more abilities for the character (perhaps a double jump to use those wings for), and maybe a bit more polish but other than that this was very enjoyable, and very nice work for the 48 hours. Good work.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:32pm

"If you wolk in daylike, you die. So, don't." Great idea, fun game! Great level desing, original opponent. Could have some music... But who cares. Enjoyed it :)

Yakka says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Good idea, good execution! Camera effects are quite anoying for my eyes, but I think thats just me *_*

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I love this game! Great concept, well executed. Day/night thing was fun and pretty challenging without being annoying. Awesome.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Fantastic idea, fantastic execution, top marks for fun! Jumping is a *tiny* bit unresponsive, and I died a few times on level 2 just before the checkpoint.

But an amazing entry nonetheless, congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

murilo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Great idea! The most fun I've had so far I think on LD27. The art, sound and controls are great too!

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:08am

Fun platformer. Although the gameplay and levels were a little repetitive. At least the last level spiced things up a bit.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Nice idea! love the "inconvenient" line

Cryovat says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Oh god, the line is coming!!!

I liked the game a lot. The mechanics are interesting and the levels seemed to be the perfect length to explore them. And the vampire is cute. :3

Your use of the theme worked well. If anything, I'd have wished for a clearer indication of when the times were about to flip. Like an hourglass, progress bar or similar. I was quickly able to learn the timing well enough to exploit it though.

Minor niggle aside, excellent game, great job!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:44am

Nice work. Polished graphics, good sounds. Solid concept! I would hate to be the vampire though. 8/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]