August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cloud Atlas in 60 Seconds

by The4thCircle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cloud Atlas is a three hour movie spanning 6 people's lives.

What if they had each had lived for only 10 seconds!?

It's a one button Android touch screen game, every second you will be placed in the shoes of one of the characters and given an action. Tap the screen to take that action. If you act wrongly, or fail to act when appropriate, you will be told why it was wrong and get a chance to start again.

This game is brutally difficult, even for hardcore fans of the movie, and I think it is a good parody of movie based games, which boil the plot down to simple points and clumsily hang a game mechanic on it.

I consider it to be the only thing I will ever create that has value.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1806Coolness17%

Comments

The4thCircle says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Should be mentioned that I forgot half of the names of the characters so bigger fans of the film... just.. go easy on me okay, you can work out who's who.

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I intalled it on an Android Emulator but when I start it I get:
Unfortunately, CloudAtlas has stopped.

The4thCircle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Emulator won't cut it, this is a native app so it needs actual hardware.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I don't remember the characters very well, but game wise the text is gone before I have even read it. I had to go through the sequence several times to read them. Sure you can learn the correct sequence, and I get that could also be seen as part of the parody. But it kind of took the fun out of it for me. Nexus 4.

The4thCircle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58pm

This is kind of against the rules but on my website I made an easier version called cloud atlas in 5 minutes. Off theme but you have a fighting chance with it... The4thcircle.co.uk/games.html

urth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26am

Installed it on my Galaxy S3.
I have seen the movie but I never thought a game related to that movie would be like that. The concept seems unrelated to the theme.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

I was really intrigued by what I could see, but the text was waaay too fast for me to read. Plus I never saw the movie, so I have no idea what's going on. I like the style though, would like to play more like this in the future!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04am

Shame about the android requirement

madk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

Dammit, man, read the book! It is SO MUCH better than the movie.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:14pm

I am too dum for this game T.T

garygreen says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:40pm

I liked the idea behind this, but it was way too fast for me to even read what was on the screen.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:06am

Hope people will find this!

voidstar69 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:32am

An interesting concept. The text was too quick for me to read - it was displayed for about 1 or 1.5 seconds. But after many attempts (50?) I eventually read the text in each situation. I got about 15 situations in before I got bored trying to remember the pattern of situations to act in versus those to leave alone. I think I could only 'win' this game by writing the pattern down on paper, i.e. cheating!
Well done for coming up with a brand new type of game.

mcc says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:29am

Borrowed an Android phone, tried this out. This was… well, hilarious, for starters, when I got what was going on I *really* liked the concept, and I was literally laughing out loud most of the time I was trying to play. Unfortunately I found this too difficult to actually play. The problem, basically, is there is not enough time to actually read any of the text. So what the game actually becomes is a repeated trial and error of memorizing a long "touch, touch, touch, don't, touch, don't, don't, touch" string (I met with *some* success using mental RLE). Which is… interesting in that it's sorta unique, but doesn't really exercise an interesting skill, and is *really* too bad because it eclipses what really is a very cool intended premise (make a series of very quick do-or-don't decisions, then replay until you have the correct set of decisions down) and some rather funny text. (If you're just playing the game as "find and remember this long binary sequence", this *requires* you to not so much as look at the text in the later levels, or even read the failure messages between play attempts, because too much of your brain is tasked concentrating on remembering the string and not breaking that concentration).

I think this could be a lot more playable, and its potential more met, if

- It were like, "Cloud Atlas in Two Minutes" or "Cloud Atlas in Three Minutes" and each individual segment were 2x-3x as long. I don't think you lose much by decreasing the difficulty because difficulty stays in by the sheer length of the thing and the one-hit-loss nature.

- Sound, really, would help me ground a *lot* in understanding what's happening and staying focused. Even really simple sound, like a bang or a bell on scene changes or a buzzer on failure.

- If there were more feedback given as to *how long you have left*. In the absence of such the time to act per scene might as well be zero. (The fact there's no feedback *did* induce a kind of cool sense of trapped panic which was extremely compatible with Cloud Atlas's actual plot, but it drowns out other things about the game that are more interesting.)

- …I see why you made this a mobile game, but without ease on the difficulty I think I would have found it easier to play this on a computer.

Good show tho :D

Anyway at some point in the next two years my wife is going to be going through the files on her phone, find "CloudAtlas" and go wtf is this

mcc says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:30am

LUDUM DARE HAET UTF-8

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]