August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Crawling Simulator 2013

by MrBlade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Have you ever wanted to experience the old style "Dungeon Crawler" with a modern feel? Well now you can! Made in 48 hours by one man with a dream, this may or may not be the next Zork. (Probably not.)

No, but in all seriousness, this was pretty hard to make for me, I am just guy, and, in the scheme of things, I have pretty little experience with C++. A few bug fixes from my mates and I was good to go.

This whole game is set in a "dungeon" but with my lack of knowledge in C++ (I had a WHOLE three weeks of experience! Whoa!) It was hard to get a good representation of the dungeon, but I think I did it pretty well.

(Special thanks to Owen and Caleb: If it weren't for you guys, I wouldn't even know about Ludum Dare, you guys are great!)

Tools That I Used:

Notepad ++ - Text Editor
C++ (Base) - Programming Language
MinGW - Compiler For C++

Play it and let me know what you think!
~Blade

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#260Humor2.81
#566Mood2.71
#695Theme3.02
#702Fun2.75
#861Innovation2.55
#864Overall2.73
#993Audio1.14
#1186Graphics1.41

Comments

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44am

I really liked your game. It compiled and ran successfully on Arch Linux 64 bits.

9/10 would play again.

Aaron4576 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47am

Liked the game! Wish more would of happened other than opening and closing doors :P.

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

Although is a pretty amazing job to code such a game in C++, like, with no assets, no libraries, nothing at all, I wouldn't recommend the same next time you try to make a game. I can kinda of feel the effort you put in there, but we gotta admit it, it's pretty buggy and fond for some bizarre errors, and it's pretty counter intuitive. There are pretty much good game makers (even text adventure making ones), try to play with that, and save your coding pr0ness for real engines (like Unity, maybe xD)
Nevertheless, I liked your 10-second idea, you could invest on that to make a good future game.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56am

I couldn't seem to pick up the key in level 3. I typed it, but it just repeated the room description.
Also, maybe it needs alternative verbs. Like "take key" should work too.

Loyalty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59am

Nice game, but there are some problems:
-Sometimes it solves (partly) itself by just pressing enter.
-When you win you jump back to Level 6?
-Are the levels restarting if you do an invalid choice?
(Without reseting the second timer)

Anywas, good work, keep it up!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26am

Thanks for the input!

@N0_Named_Guy: Thanks! (Was Level 3 okay? Some problems with it on Mac.)

@Aaron4576: Awesome opinion! I agree, if I could make it more complex, I would. I was mostly worried I would get the player lost with corridors, complex button puzzles, missions, and such.

@Gus: Great advice! I agree, I have had A LOT of experience with other "game tools"
I used Unity for a solid year before moving to Python, then a good three months with Python before C++. I have unfortunately only had about three weeks of C++ experience. :C But anyway, I am no stranger to the wise balance of engines, young one. XD

@Steve: Some other people are having problems with Level 3. (Mac specifically. What OS are you running? 32/64 bit included please.) I am working with other people to find a solution. Sorry for now.

@Loyaly: 1.)I know, sorry. I don't know how to fix it right now, but it has something to do with how I check for the strings. 2.)Winning the game just does a break; so it goes to the function that called it (Level 6 in this case.) 3.)That is a way of giving the player another chance. I can't think of a way to store what input the user is on, so I just go back to the first input of the function. Sorry.

Thanks again guys!

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

The game was interesting!

One thing I'd change:
I really liked the "at most 10 actions per level" mechanic but I felt I'd prefer more complicated levels and a list of available actions at each level!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

A pretty nice play. Refreshing to see a text adventure on a site plagued by 2d and 3d games. Really nicely done. Rip Other door 2013-2013.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10am

This is the best text based game. I've played.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00am

The game does seem a but buggy, but I did enjoy it. Always happy to see new games of this style in this day and age. :)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:16am

I think I showed those doors who's boss.

Sinuath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09am

i liked the concept and it was impressive for having just learned C++

system("cls") can clean up things already on the screen. And I kind of wish there was a list of options that could be selected using a number pad, i kept mistyping.. :/

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

The way it's (hard)coded reminds me my own sources when I was 14 :-) Also, for future, keep in mind this: global variables are always sure way to hell.. ;-)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Hmm. First I was not able to start the game at all since the tutorial starts over and over again. Is it really mandatory to go through the tutorial each time I start the game?
At the second try I solved it directly. At least 'Thanks for playing' appeared, but then was back at level7, then had -1 seconds.
Keep on creating games. it is really a good practice. I personally would not choose C++, but wen you really want to learn it, why not?

shohs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53am

Good effort for just having learned c++. I did find the puzzles very easy, it may have been cool if you had put in a few red herrings or useless items to make it harder to pass each level. I also would have really liked for "take key" to work.

motty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:08am

Ok. This was great. Enjoyed every bit of it including having to compile from C++ at the beginning. Bit buggy still (seems to jump back a level or so after the game should have ended) but that's fair enough for 48 hours of effort and soon fixable. More please!

Looking through the code I see you have a separate function for each level. But there's lots of stuff that's pretty much the same in each level, especially the seconds countdown, many of the commands, and the door / key mechanic. Is there some way you could factor the stuff that is the same each time into single functions (level, parse_command etc) and then pass in some data specific to each level (so you can have your doors behaving differently, multiple doors etc) when you want them to?

Regardless of which - fine effort, and keep it up.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:46am

Nice text based adventure game. Reminds me of the days that I would play DOOR games like L.O.R.D. on the local BBS. It would have been nice if there were more choices to make, with menu driven controls.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:37am

I really dig that you did a text adventure game. It takes me way back to when I started to learn how to code. Good work! I'm glad you made the entry. I couldn't figure out how to pass level seven. "use button, press button" didn't seem to work. Please rate my game!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:37am

All in all pretty simple, pickup keys open doors. Was pretty fun/

anjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Fun game! None of the bugs were really game-breaking and this is pretty impressive for only having a few week experience with C++. Great job!

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:26pm

There seem to be a host of bugs in the game. I kept on getting pushed into the tutorial a number of times at the beginning and there were times when the game would not register my commands correctly. The game itself is alright but you don't really require any problem solving, thought or skill to get through as it seemed to be completely linear.

The humorous aspects were great though and it is nice to see a different game like this. Well done for completing it!

XtremePrime says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Impressing text based game! But I do believe should be the fresh new "Door Simulator 2013".

Nah, just kidding. Amazing work and looking forward to whatever you will do next time c:
4.5/5 ♥

Nehmulos says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Nice short game. I like those simple console text adventures where you type everything you do.

The tutorial(simple) was a little bit annoying since it restarted on each typo.

The code could be a little bit more object oriented.
You should use some classes and the containers (lists, vectors) from the standard template library.
Though, I think this is better than what I would have been able to do after my first 3 weeks in Cpp.
Good job!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:29pm

good job! But I was really confused when the other door appeared.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:24pm

nice short game, love text adventures! Sadly, the window was too small for fraps to record, so I could not include it in my LD27 Compilation video series. Sorry :/

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Ok I left n/a for graphics and audio, I guess that's correct? :p

Kind of a gotcha game, almost stopped just before the end. But still was a pleasant, light, repetitive, door-opening experience.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:35am

take that doors -- really nice effort on an old school text adventure

laaph says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:54am

Interesting, but fell in to the trap of old adventure games where I have to guess what to type to get it to do what I want (I got stuck on the "corner door").

Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I enjoyed that, I wouldn't have any idea where to begin making something in C++ so well done! Could do with a bit of work and more in depth puzzles, more forgiving text parser etc as there's definitely room for games like this.

GFM says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:01pm

This was nice. :)

But it could really use some more verbs... there was a funny part I tried "press button" and it didn't accept, but when I wrote "push button" it answered "you press the button!". xD

Also, some tips.
Keep track of the state on each level. This way, you would be able to simplify the code a lot (like, if(state == before_got_key){...}else if (state == before_door_is_open){...}else{next_stage();}).
Don't keep everything on the stack! When you call a function inside other function both function calls will stay on the stack. Return a code (advance, next level, fail, whatever) and use this on a main loop.
Lastly, when I moved from python and ruby (actually RPG Maker's RGSS), this tutorial help me a lot: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/

Good luck with your learning. :D

Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:41pm

liked it. could be a little more challenging but the texty interface was fun to use.

mactinite says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I liked this a lot! I played all the way through. Some things I found were on level 7 when I would try to "press" the button but would say that was an invalid action, but when I "push" the button it says I pressed it. lol not game breaking, but definitely some inconsistency.
Otherwise thought I'd let you know it works on windows 8.1 preview. :) Also I heard you like doors XD

panurge says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Bustin' doors is what I do best! :)

I'm a sucker for text adventures and this was an enjoyable little puzzler. It suffers from some of the problems which have plagued the genre since time immemorial (or, um, the 80s), namely forcing the player to play 'guess the verb' when they know already what it is they want to do, but that was part of the fun for me.

Impressively coded and nicely plotted. I really enjoyed playing.

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Not bad for only three weeks of C++ experience. Level 7 is buggy and wouldn't let me push button the first time through.

tombsar says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:04pm

A great first attempt! I liked the amusing messages at the end.

Just a note: Avast antivirus rejected your .exe as possibly containing a known threat. I was, however, able to compile the source file no problem.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]