August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dan Dynamite

by loxo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The worst thing about this ludum dare's theme is that all ideas seem to lead to fast paced games, at least all ideas I had. After spending too much time on coming up with an idea for a calm game, I decided to go with the classic story of a lonely stick of dynamite that falls into a lava filled cave. Dan Dynamite was on its way home when the accident happened. Now its your task to help the little guy to keep a cool head and find a way out. Because its fuse is short, you have only 10 seconds after it gets lit. Hurry up!

Unfortunately, I run out of time and couldn't finish the game. There is only one test level, mostly placeholder graphics and no sound effects/music. I think the mission impossible theme music would fit well. Next time, I have to prepare myself better.

Controls: Use LEFT and RIGHT arrow keys to move and SPACE to jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#730Humor1.97
#976Audio1.25
#1051Mood1.79
#1068Graphics1.98
#1075Theme2.40
#1122Fun1.96
#1162Innovation1.83
#1185Overall1.90

Comments

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Overall a good idea... too bad you weren't able to finish it even a little more! Looking at what you did submit I can say the character is a little hard to control; the jump in particular feels rather wonky. Good effort though!

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I'll say the same things than tylorlilley.
Still, I had a good time, and the concept even if pretty simple is very funny.

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Lack of time shows a lot. But game could be funny

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

The character moves very quickly in the air, it makes it really difficult to control.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The way the character moves is kinda crazy, but it's kind of fun trying to figure out how to control him.

NoiseGL says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Thanx for the proper link;)

NoiseGL says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45pm

It's hard to control but it's fun. Now you have plenty of time to finish it.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I love the idea. Gameplay is ok.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Dynamite dan is a cute sprite. The jumping needs to be slowed down, and he shouldn't jump right after landing. You should have it so you have to release space before jumping again. Neat idea though, felt like megaman with a 10 second life bar lol

brodavi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Fun :) I was really expecting to win when I got to the blue field hahaha

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Graphics are actually nice, and while the idea is a simple take on the theme, it could develop into something fun and fast-paced.
However, you might want to tweak the jump a little, maybe by limiting the character's horizontal speed while in the air.
Do not give up on that one!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06pm

oh god the jumping! nice work for f8 hours though :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

The jumping, as everyone else has commented on, is wonky but that can be fixed with minor adjustments. The graphics are fine and I like the simple concept behind the game. If you had more time I would of liked to see another gimmick attached to game, along with more levels of course.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Impossible to move the character, and I could not finish the level. O'well!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

The idea was a great one-- it only falters a bit in execution of the controls. I like that while time is a factor in this take on the theme, it's conditional. Lookin good, would love to see it finished!

apaneske says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Took a while, but was finally able to get to the "exit". Would've loved some sound .

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:58am

Managed to get to the exit after a few tries :)

It's too bad you couldn't finish it - but don't be discouraged! Every experience counts towards the next game!

Keep at it!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Don't have much to say that hasn't been said by others already. Shame you didn't have more time, might be worth looking at making a Jam entry rather than the 48 next time.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:00pm

A good start, but indeed, it doesn't seem really finished.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:50pm

That Boom shake effect is done pretty good!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:21am

good job

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Was hard to control and no indication of how long was left, couldn't complete any of it

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I like the use of the "10 seconds" mechanic - great idea, but the controls are crazy... like when you played an old game on a fast computer!

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Hey, Thanks for the game! I really liked that when you died, you went right back to the start, without any delays - I think any hard action game should have this feature.

I hope you work a bit more in your game - if you add some music and sounds (check Autotracker and BFXR), you can improve your game a lot.

Cheers, and here is a video review:
http://youtu.be/pb2GWFK0NMo

TobiasW says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:48am

Haha, I like the idea - I guess a lava cave is not exactly the *best* place for a stick of dynamite. The sprite looks cute, and I like the lava and floor tiles.

You might want to switch over to the jam if you ever run out of time again. Sometimes finishing a game is more important than staying in the compo :)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:50am

PS: Check out http://abundant-music.com for the music!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:26pm

The best bit is the over-the-top explosion and screen shaking when you run out of time or fall in the lava

Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:43am

D: I got to the end and it still blew up!! Haha.

It seems the problem with the jumps is that you used a constant speed for both up and down. How I do jumps is to start with a Y velocity, say 10, then decelerate it -0.1 every update until the player touches the ground. That way you end up with a parabola jump instead of an upside-down V.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Liked the boom asset!
To bad it's unfinished... just in case, did you put a fps limiter? For me it goes extreeeemly fast!

tamat says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Nice concept, and even the fast speed makes it interesting to play. Maybe it is too hard. I also miss a counter, or some type of way to measure the remaining time.

manuq says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:09am

I hope you continue this. It is hard, really pushed me to master the controls.

Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:18am

Nice idea, I hope you find time to polish it and make more levels. :) Dan Dynamite looks cute, but controlling him was a bit hard. I got to the end though. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]