August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Count of Ten

by Andrewves - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game places you in the role of a child who has 10 seconds to clean up the toys in his room.

For each toy he collects he gains extra time.

The Game can be seen through the eyes of a child who hates cleaning and when faced with the task, feels as tho there is a seemingly infinite amount to do. The environment changes to reflect these feelings.

W,A,S,D to move
(Holding S while in the air makes the player fall faster)

To collect toys hold left click or left shift and run into them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#193Graphics3.57
#233Humor2.91
#286Audio3.00
#289Theme3.45
#323Mood3.05
#332Overall3.29
#472Fun3.02
#556Innovation2.96

Comments

DanteZack93 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I collected 91 of them :D
it's pretty cool the game ^^

Tork says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:04pm

lol can't think of why I didn't make something like this, love it!

Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Loved the game!, it is a really original interpretation of the
theme. Although, I have to ask, why is the background of a child's room a graveyard?

vvolis says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Very cool interpretation of theme, and lovely art. Way to go! :)

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I love the graphics for such a simple nice game :) Creeped me out when i started seeing tombstones though..

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50am

Cool graphs

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52am

Great idea and lovely pixel art! A little hard to control though, wish the movement was less floaty.

RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55am

Clever use of the theme. I smiled when I saw the premise. It was a little awkward to get used to the movement.

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11am

Heeelp I'm trapped in a room and a monster is throwing toys at me from above. Savvee me someone!

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12am

hahahaha, love the idea :D

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14am

That's quite tough! Great work on the art, especially the mom I thought was brilliant.

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15am

Great graphics! I found the controls a bit buggy, but still good fun to play!

itamarcu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15am

Nice game! The movement is indeed quite "floaty", especially since you can jump as much as you like. It is also a bit awkward that you need to press left click / shift to collect the toys, since you can simply have them pressed all of the time.

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:28am

Nice work! It was fun to play once I understood how the controls works (the help text in the beginning disappears before I could understand it, and it wasn't clear at first that I had to _hold_ the button to pick things up (so why not just hold it all the time?)

The physics in this kid's room are pretty weird. I was wondering if there's some interesting story in the game world about why that is.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41am

Quite fun to survive with all those toys falling.
I like the way the character is floating around all this toys, it transcribe quite well the child vision. An the mother on the door, excellent.
Great mood, fun game.

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48am

Great game. The music is exciting and the art is really beautiful

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25am

Cool game, the graphics are really nice and the story is original :)

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57am

Funny short little game. My only complaint was that the movement was far too slow.

Yaru says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22am

This game is alarmingly catchy. Good job :D

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23am

Cool!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Wow, what a very neat game. I love the graphics, music, and idea behind it.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Cute little game. I like it!

keppinakki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Looks really neat

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

The graphics look amazing in this game and the entire thing is very cute overall. The gimmick behind the game is really fun to play. There are some weird control issues like the "floaty" movement but it doesn't really detract from the game. Nice job!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

quirky graphics and music. exceptionally well for the 48 hour comp

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Cute game, not quite easy to pick up those toys, though...

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:22am

Not bad, but there's some bug that makes second pass as though they were half-seconds (and I'm not sure how to recreate it), and the kid can jump forever.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Nicely done ;). Gret work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]