August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Squirrel

by Toestee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just download the file that corresponds to your OS, un-archive it, and open the game.

Controls are WAD and Spacebar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#173Humor3.11
#240Fun3.34
#337Innovation3.28
#342Theme3.38
#369Graphics3.21
#372Overall3.24
#489Mood2.81
#760Audio2.14

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22am

TIME SQUIRREL. This title is brilliant.

Lovely idea! I like the insane speed the slowdown-effect :)

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27am

All I have to say is: "What the hell was that?" haha

I found this game to be crazy and fun. TimeSquirrel is hilarious.

Note: Maybe slowdown should be limited, otherwise we would use it all the time.

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43am

HAha, really fun! Is this based on Hammy from Over the Hedge?

Really like the idea. I think one could do really really cool things if one experimented more with this idea :D

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:44am

Sorry for double post, but forgot this link:
Hammy from Over the Hedge :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-eMdMsMgCU

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01am

Mac OS X, didn't run. (quit unexpectedly)

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03am

Trippy. I like it. Permanent space bar.

Toestee says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24am

Aurel300 Yeah, I sent it to one of my friends and the same thing happened to him, I'm not sure how to fix it, sorry

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40am

Hahaha, this is awesome and funny (probably because of the title). The keys were "sticky" on my Mac, so it made the game this much more hardcore. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46am

That slowdown effect was crazy.

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48am

It's good the squirrel can slow down time, because it's running too damn fast :D

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52am

The game was nice, really good job. The time mechanics were great and the slowdown effect was amazing. The only thing I didn't like were the controls, way too tricky and the movements are way too fast. I could hardly stand on a single platform unless I was holding the spacebar throughout the whole game.
Playing this under Linux by the way, thanks for supporting the better OS ;)

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

My Virtual machine really didn't like it, but it was still fun!

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13am

Brilliant. Love the concept.

Citiral says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

I liked it :D The game did have a lot of lag spikes on my pc, making it incredibly hard, so I was stuck on level 1. Good game nonetheless!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

A funny concept and matches the theme well, pretty difficult to master!

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38am

Just awesome! (And worked great on my Mac)

chippers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54am

Loved the concept, and had a lot of fun playing(although i couldn't beat level 1). I found that when you weren't holding space bar it was actually almost impossible to control, which i understand is what you were going with. I think speed when not hold space should be slowed down a bit for more control. I found that i would just hold spacebar down the entire time because of this. I would suggest making it only possible to hold space for a short duration, whilst you're in the air, making the slow down effect more of a power up, rather than a button the hold. I actualy ended up using a paperweight to hold down space, because my fingers were getting sore. But the main thing is i had fun in your game!

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:19pm

My that is only slippery and fast squirrel. Pretty hard to control, but he sure is timely! (but mostly dead)

foumart says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:00pm

That is fast indeed. 10 seconds for us is maybe hour for that squirrel :) I had a bit troubles with jumping thought..the squirrel sometimes was clattering the ground(as not recognized it for a moment) thous unable to jump for awhile.. but in the "space-feature" mode it was ok :)

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Quite fun. I find using and not using space to be like two diferrent modes of playing, because there is no slowdown limit. Upside down tree in level 5 was a nice touch :D Audio is way too loud!

smash ball says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Time Squirrel just sound so funny to say...the jumping sometimes wouldn't work for me, but otherwise I liked the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]