August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Forever Alone

by ShellfishGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Forever Alone, my 48h project for the LD27 compo, is a top down "survival" game of sorts.
The basic premise is that you take control of a guy who's got the problem that every woman falling in love with him dies within 10 seconds after doing so. You have to try to find a solution by keeping the woman of your dreams alive for those longest 10 seconds of your life...

There's quite a bit of story involved, which is told through dialogues. Finishing the game should take you anything between 5 and 15 minutes, depending on your performance as well as luck (levels are partly randomized).

The game requires Windows and DirectX 9.0c to run.

I hope you enjoy the game (given that it runs on your system, which I hope) - please leave feedback and a rating. :)

And finally, a few hints in case the game happens to be too difficult:

*Your aim is to save the girl
*she always follows you around
*try to avoid dangers to increase her chances of living
*try to reach the safe zone, which is at the upper end
of the street, in time before she dies from a heart attack
*generally it's a good idea to stay roughly in the middle
of the road
*the look of the buildings to the side indicate their effect
*for instance, buildings with red light tend to explode
*buildings with white light are harmless
*the train usually arrives just one time per level
*crossing the rails on the left side is safer than on the
right side
*if nothing works out, just keep trying, the level
difficulty may vary quite a bit



- Shellfish Games

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Mood3.90
#52Overall3.85
#55Humor3.70
#120Innovation3.69
#160Fun3.48
#243Theme3.50
#254Audio3.08
#438Graphics3.08

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26am

By the way: The soundtrack was created using the amazing procedural music generator at http://www.abundant-music.com/

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02am

Best game so far!, really funny. Is it possible to save her?

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08am

Great! I like it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09am

Thanks tiffi. :)
You can in fact save her by reaching the "safe zone" at the top (which is not possible in the very beginning, this event will be unlocked after ~2 women died already). I guess I will upload a playthrough video soon.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15am

Quite a disturbing game...I like it!

Gameplay is simple, yet it all blends with the story so it all clicks (9 women died for poor, poor Joe). I also enjoyed the dark humour a lot.

XmmmX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

Really, really nice entry. The story completely dragged me into it. Perfect mood, lovely artwork. Good work!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Can't run it because d3dx9_31.dll is missing from my computer, I think this is just from not having the correct programme installed. Oh well.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Thanks for all the positive feedback, I really appreciate it!

@Jimanzium: Sorry for that. Possible that it runs once you download that dll, but who knows.
I'm just about to upload a video of the game to youtube for those who can't run it themselves. But thanks for trying. :)

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Cool game. I've never seen this concept in a game before. Nice job

ehnaton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Awesome! Really Awesome!

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Nice Game!

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Funniest take on the theme!

leparlon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Wish I had more stars to give, very funny game. Great mood.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Amazing job! I love that you can pick your name, makes the game THAT much funnier. Keep it up!

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Awesome game !!!

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

This was very nice, a good experience overall. The setting and the music are really good.

Great work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31am

really funny, i laught a lot with 'Carry me' 'I cant' Why? cause the mechanics are limited hahahaha. Really awesome game :D

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Nice game. I really liked the idea!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

nice game, loved the intro

skarab says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Was a nice moment, the story is really cool, and the telling/immersion is awesome. 5 stars to the mood!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52pm

That was some kinda heart attack.
Very concise experience, nice work.

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Amazing story and game!

autlos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Good idea ^^. It's pretty original overall.

CogComp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Ok, now this I loved! Great and simple story combined with a nice and simple idea, but perfectly executed! Great work!

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20am

i laughed a lot at the dialogue! absurd story and great atmosphere, good job!

soerensen3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22am

I had to laugh! First game with Humor: 5!

TheDreik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27am

This game is really touching. Great idea and rendition of the theme! I got a lot of fun playing the game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Okay, this is definitely the best game I have played in this Ludum Dare. How the heck you managed to make all that in such a short time is beyond my comprehension.

Seriously, it was funny, it was innovative, it fit the theme in a very original way, the graphics were nice and clear, the music fit everything perfectly, and the gameplay was original and entertaining.

You are very good at this. Thanks for this experience.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Thanks guys, I really appreciate your feedback. :)

@ZeppelinCaptain - I spent almost no time on the music, it was procedurally generated and I simply tried a few seeds until something with an appropriate mood came out. Furthermore I spent maybe about 4 hours total on all the textures and sprites, the rest was writing and coding (and sleeping and eating and wasting time on the internet). I came up with the dialogs pretty quickly and there wasn't really anything complicated programming-wise (although I spent over an hour on the movement of that car alone... and I can't even say I'm satisfied with the result). Also, although DBPro lacks a lot of features you'd expect from a decent programming language, it's great for prototyping etc. since you can get results very quickly. So that certainly helped.
Thank you very much for your comment, I'm honestly honored. :)

oajfh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I agree with ZeppelinCaptain on this one. Only thing I'd say, is that the buildings and colors don't look too good.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Hey there ShellfishGames! Just saw you checked out my game, it's much appreciated! Funny thing, I actually found your game through the TGC Forums, I was sure I had already rated it but I see now that I did not. So here I am!

I really love the game, it has a great atmosphere, though the most intriguing part of it for me was the whole theme and story, was very surrealistic and mysterious, kept me all the way through and I think the theme was very well implemented. Good job!

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:15pm

awesome story-telling =]

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Music got irritating, but the story feel and game is unique.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:24pm

This was the best entry I've played, seriously. I love when a game has a good plot with a dynamic between gameplay and narrative and it was also very moody. My only complaint are the graphics, they are OK but the spinning camera in the group therapy makes my head spin. Very nice, loved the story and already checked out some of your other games :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

good job

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

heheh, this is great! Best humor/story game so far :)

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

"Narration related time dilation", heh.

5 for the Black Humor, and the narration was actually good.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

This game way too entertaining :D
I have no idea who'd live in such a dangerous neighbourhood with all them pianos/zombies/reckless drivers.

And you said my game was funny, pfft!

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:26pm

You have managed to make really depressing and funny game at the same time... Congratulations! This is really great. Got 8 women killed. Nice number it is.

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:43am

Writing better than current movies.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]