August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Path

by Dezzles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Set the amount of power for each engine component that you have and click 'Next'. You have three sets of engine settings that can be used before the 'Run' button can be selected. Your ship will then fly for 10 seconds following your settings (Each for 3.3333 seconds).

Positive amounts of energy push the ship away from the engine, negative amounts pull towards the engine.

Aim to hit the Orange Cylinder without leaving the confines of the blue path.

Lower scores are better.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55am

Pretty good! It was really difficult at first (and it only got less difficult from there), but after starting to grasp how much each "unit of movement" meant, I could actually make it look like I knew how to play for a few seconds without realizing I'd gotten the direction wrong again and I'd have to start again. Pretty unique concept! It'd be good to be able to look at the whole map (some sort of minimap?) to plan out moves even more precisely.

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56am

Nice game! I like it, it was hard, but it looks really cool, nice work!! Too bad it had no music, but the graphics are nice!!

BlackBird says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

Interesting concept but controls felt very unintuitive to me. I did manage to grasp the concept and beat level one, as well as make it a ways down LD48.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:03am

Interesting concept, the interface wasn't the most useful, it always said I was using engine component 0 or 1, but if there is just 3 components for each 10 seconds, Should it list components 1-3? I felt like I was doing something wrong because it was red text and never knew when it was going to move until later on when I just started seeing similar patterns. Feel like with a little more direction/polish it would be a lot more fun from the get go. Looks nice and the concept seems like a cool idea though.

Steve says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:19am

I think this is actually the game I spent the most time on so far. Maybe because it's pretty slow, but without getting too boring. I think the slow pace and obviously deterministic behaviour prevents failure from feeling too frustrating.

I like the control idea a lot. I kept trying over and over with slightly different inputs, I really felt like I wanted to beat it. I managed to beat 2 levels finally.

Some suggestions:

- You should be able to reset an input page to all 0s with a single key
- .. and input values by keyboard, way more quicker (at least if you play by trial and error, like me..)
- The ability to look around the course could be nice
- Maybe have the overall speed a little higher? Full throttle should be a lot faster, but this is a minor point

And of course, sound effects would make the overall experience more rewarding I think.

Great game though o/

GigaBass says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22am

Fun game, liked it more than most other turn-based plan sort of games I've played so fast. My main gripe is that I can't move the camera to see the course ahead!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:57am

Nice concept! It was however very hard to steer, Some kind of tutorial levels would have been nice to get the feel of the controllers

//Udrian

NeiloGD says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:28am

Difficult to figure out, but not too bad to get going with.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]