August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

inTENse

by polarkac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Basic survival game, where you are entity who cant surviva more than 10s in human body. He is always transfer (reincarnate) to new entity. Your goal is find gateway to your homeworld.

This is my first entry in LD. Game is not great, but I am really proud what I have done. Story writing and graphics are not my thing :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#781Graphics2.53
#792Theme2.90
#802Humor1.83
#873Audio1.76
#900Mood2.25
#915Fun2.47
#946Innovation2.40
#1003Overall2.55

Comments

leondryaso says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:42pm

BestGameForever, Polarkac!

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

I like that the goal is to reach the shaft of a poorly hidden penis! Art style is simple, I like that!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:59pm

It's a running applet! Great job!

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Some kind of high score or progress indicator would be cool =D Also maybe escalating difficulty over time?

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I had a lot of fun with this one. I like how unlike so many other games I played an action happens in 10 seconds instead of the game being over.

I made my own game up about seeing how long I could survive without getting to the gate and without dying. I liked trying to see how many times I could jump into a new body.

Here is an idea for some story if you decide to keep working on this after the comp (October challenge hint hint)

You want to body swap to steel the memories and experiences of each person. which are a currency on your home world. The more you collect before leaving the more stuff you can buy or unlock.

Some intergalactic people are chasing you because what your doing is illegal.

Man I could keep running on about this game. it was great!

polarkac says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Kwrky: I was planning something like score, even more. Better map generating etc. But after 20hours almost without sleep, I was very tired.

tigerj: I have not planned to keep working on it, but your idea is really interesting. Now I am really thinking about continue to work on it. Thanks!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:07pm

A good start - I got stuck in an enemy though :)

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Hey, nice game! I liked the concept. One bug that I found was that I once reincarnated into a tree and couldn't move. O.o

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

it feels a little bit like minicraft, i like it.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Simple but efficient !

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Cool game. Escalating difficulty or a second harder level would help but it was fun. I like the disorienting factor whenever you are reincarnated, it adds a little spice to the dodge the enemy type of game.

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

An interesting gameplay mechanic you could add would be having to switch bodies yourself. Like you shoot out a telepathic beam or something and the first person it hits is your new body. Then, like somebody else's idea, the goal could be to hit everybody at least once. As it is, however, the game is still pretty fun, and for somebody that claims graphics aren't their thing, the art looks pretty good.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12am

A cute game and easy to understand. I would like more goals and maybe highscore or so to make it more fun! But it was fun!

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12am

It's an interesting idea but I didn't really understand what was happening at first. I thought I had to walk into people to reincarnate their bodies before the time ran out. Once I knew what was going on it made more sense but wasn't that challenging.

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13am

Simple yet very efficient. A little more animation would have been nice though, like arms moving or something. and the difficulty is a little too random : started within eyeshot of the end on my first attempt, but couldn't find it at all on the second.
Great anyway !

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

Simple game, though I feel like sometimes I get stuck and cant move. I also could not record it for my compilation video :/ Good game though!!

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Interesting idea, but I think it's too easy :-)

Almax27 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Why everyone is trying to kill me? T_T

X-0r says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Not bad, not bad. Reminds me of humanity in real life. Everyone chasing the weakest guy. Humor+ for the credits =)

I encountered a (probably unlikely) bug - after level 3 or so, the portal was unreachable in the water^^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]