August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mercury Frog

by plop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tip: You need to avoid the red things by jumping over them. Hold space to start charging a jump, and release to jump.

(Pr0t1p: You won't accelerate while jumping.)


I didn't have time to figure out how to add sound, although I did make a loop so you can download and play the loop (The soundtrack link). Thus, you can of course mute and adjust volume as you wish; *Wow!* :D Beware of high volume; it's a chiptune so it should be self-explanatory, made in MilkyTracker in some minutes.

The first day didn't go very well and I was close to throwing this project away but all I needed was some sleep.
And today I've been coding non-stop.
I'm happy I got some (a tiny bit) exercise in pixel art and animation, which I'm utterly new at. And that's probably partly what made me frustrated on day #1.

I've just submitted and school starts in 3-4 hours :|
But I'm happy that I submitted, after all it's just really worth it every time!


Made in Java using no external libraries.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Theme3.60
#202Graphics3.56
#444Mood2.86
#447Innovation3.12
#476Fun3.00
#489Overall3.12
#570Humor2.21
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

plop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32am

If your FPS is below 60, it'll be hard to get a good score. There's some bug currently that makes the exported .jar game run with low FPS. But when I run it in Eclipse, it is at 60 FPS. I'm working to solve this issue. And if I can't find the source of the problem, I might update the game to make it less fps-dependent (fast bug fix).

plop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

The bug is no longer (seemingly)!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Hey, this is excellent! I find the jumping a bit to uncontrollable though: like it's so slow that it's hard to time jumps as you move faster - but I love the style and aesthetics... very promising.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Good graphics, I like the look. At first I thought it is a waveform on the background, seemed so cool. But turned out to be just a background image.

Very hard to play.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I found it really difficult to time my jumping, but it was really fun once you got up to speed. :)
Good game :)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12am

I like the idea of time flowing differently. Creative!

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Nice game, graphics are excellent. My computer is slow so i got 30 fps and that unplayable, i tried that on another one. Good game even if the control are difficult.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I really like this. Kinda Zen like when I got into the rhythm of it!

euske says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:45am

The soundtrack is terrific. I'd love to have it in game.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:39pm

My gawd this game is difficult to master! The color cycling background is beautiful and the art is enjoyable. Excellent use of the theme!

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Cool use of theme.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:46am

Fun game, really hard! I never got farther than the 3rd enemy.

Sascha says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Liked the idea of time passing slower as you move faster. The jump mechanic wouldn't really have needed a charge feature though :/ Also liked graphic style!

Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Nice concept and aesthetics! The jumping could have been a bit higher, it is kind of hard to tell if the character was jumping at all and if he was going to hid the weird red things.

Mironix says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Splendid physics learning game :) very hard jumping mechanic dude.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:24pm

loved the little bug. the jumps are so rewarding that i cringe every time i miss a jump. neat background. liked the reasoning behind wanting to live as long as you could.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]