August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gauntlet: A Series of Ten Second Strategies

by OkayHughes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are Q and E to switch floors, click to add waypoints (but only during planning phase) and delete to remove.

This game is a real time strategy gauntlet game played against a NPC sniper.
The current object of the Compo version of this game is to avoid death for as long as possible. The sniper (red cube) has taken a spot atop the central building in the square, and will attempt to shoot you every several seconds. He can shoot through windows, but not solid walls.
The game has two states, planning, and executing. Each stage lasts ten seconds. During the planning stage the mouse can be used to place waypoints. Q and E allow you to go up and down floors to create waypoints. Backspace can be used to erase waypoints from the end of the path. During this period the sniper will also decide whether to change their position to get a better shot. You will not be able to see their waypoints. During the execution stage, both you and the sniper will move to the chosen waypoints. This is done automatically, so your character will go up ramps if it needs to go up a floor. If you desire a certain ramp to be used, or a certain doorway to be used to avoid the sniper's path, a waypoint should be place there. The sniper will shoot at you periodically. If there is a clear path (i.e. no solid walls in the way) between you and the sniper, you die. Your score increments after surviving an execution stage.

In the post competition version (which ratings should not be based off of), the goal is to get all five keys located on top of the buildings, and then get to the gate at the top of the map. Good luck.



This game was created using Unity3d for assembly and scripting.
Blender was used for the construction of some base meshes.
BFXR was used to create the timer sound effect.

Initially only a Web-based distribution can be provided because I made a game breaking change just before the time ended so I need to fix that before I provide other ports. All of the improvements that will arise in the ports were done before 9:00 and I just had to resolve one issue before I rebuilt the project. I plan to create a post-compo version that has several improvements which will be labeled as such.

Special thanks to my friends Caleb Jones and Blade Nelson for being an artistic distraction and allowing me to bounce ideas off of them during the dozen or more hours we spent talking during this 48 hour period.

This code is released under the zlib/libpng License, meaning the following:
1. The origin of this software must not be misrepresented; you must not claim that you wrote the original software. If you use this software in a product, an acknowledgment in the product documentation would be appreciated but is not required.

2. Altered source versions must be plainly marked as such, and must not be misrepresented as being the original software.

3. This notice may not be removed or altered from any source distribution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#136Innovation3.65
#576Graphics2.85
#584Theme3.15
#838Audio1.88
#878Overall2.71
#952Humor1.46
#968Mood2.11
#1015Fun2.29

Comments

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48am

It was little hard to navigate but great concept!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23am

Hey that's a very interesting concept! Love it ! Also, it makes me realize I would not stand long against a real sniper ;)

KamikaziUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Very cool concept. It's a little hard to navigate the level and it's kinda confusing to play but i can see the potential.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

A bit hard to get to grips with at first but a great game non the less!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Nice job! I love the level design and concept. I would have liked a little more sound, other than that, there isn't much to complain about! Hahah keep it up!

mortus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I'd designate some space in description for controls if I were you. I looked for those and didn't find and the game felt very frustrating. Only after I read the full description and found out that controls were actually there (just not very easy to discover with a quick glance), I managed to play the game.

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:47am

I didn't really get the concept in game, but I feel like I get the idea you're going for, and I think it's a FANTASTIC idea, so I'm glad to see you're working on it post-compo. Keep it up!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49am

The navigation was a bit buggy it seemed and it's hard to really figure out how the mechanics work, which makes surviving hard to figure out too. When I played I guess my blue guy got stuck between buildings and I was left without the ability to click around while he I guess went through a few countdowns to get onto another building. Overall I was just confused. The level looks nice though.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49am

Is there something I am supposed to do apart from pressing Q and E and looking at a piece of text stating that I lost? Some clear controls would help. This seems like an interesting idea but I don't know what to do.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

I like the idea it seems like it would be cool if I could figure out how to play. Maybe demo vid would be helpful I think. It felt like I should be able to orbit the camera around, to get a better idea of where to place points.

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16am

@Beardbotnik I did set the backspace key to delete the last waypoint. To the best of my knowledge I haven't had errors with that. Did you try that? Otherwise I don't quite understand your bug.
@OldPeculier I've added a bit to the html file that says the controls. If you're asking about the point to the game, in the compo version it's to avoid death. The game starts in planning phase, click to add waypoints, and after the clock counts down, the cube will move to that waypoint. Backspace deletes waypoints.
@asc3nsion Once again, I explained it above, so if that helps great. Otherwise I don't have a screen capture program. Sorry. I'd love to make an explanatory video, but I don't have the tech. As for the camera, I've considered doing that a few times, but it kept bugging out. I may attempt to implement it in the post compo.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:44am

Fun game, loved the concept

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I would've liked to have an option for the camera to be more zoomed in or even first person, as it's quite difficult to understand where you are or what's going on. Still a fun little game regardless :)

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Very impressive, the visual style and building models are really nice, and the concept is great. I was also really impressed with the pathfinding, the character seems to have no problems navigating those winding staircases.

The player needs to get a good idea where their character is before the timer starts I think, but overall a great job.

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I also think this game has a lot of potential. But I miss some kind of feedback, I can't really see, what I do and where I put some of the way points. I also pressed randomly Q and E and survived a few rounds, but there happened nothing. I also put every waypoint in the back of the first building and won every time. ...

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:07pm

First of all, the concept is great, highly innovative. In my experience it seemed that at first the sniper was way too good. But then I sneaked around the middle building in a circle, hoping to find an entrance, then, finding none, I realized that the sniper and I could live in harmony. He stood on the right-most part of the roof shooting into the floor that he stood on and I stood at the base of the building, on the left (it's still running, I just reached 20 points). I had the same experience as OldPeculier as well, when I loaded the game in a new tab and then switched over after the first turn had ended (with my death). There should be a button to restart, so you don't have to refresh the browser every time. Refreshing brings up another issue, which is that you have to click to focus the browser on the game. In effect, you can't use Q & E until you've set a waypoint in the browser version. So your only choices in your waning ten seconds are out-of-doors - though the wall of a lower level seems to work well. I realize though that you've already fixed this somewhat in the post-compo version by starting with the focus on the ground. Keep up the good work!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:07am

Very interesting idea, although the controls were certainly confusing. Only after reading the comments did I try clicking the background of the game first to make Q and E start working. Although after that it was much more playable.

Very innovative concept :)

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

Occasionally I have to click Q twice to get the layers to work. I don't understand how clicking the background helps. Which builds are you having trouble with? If you use the qq method, web works fine.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very nice concept, different from most games on LD!

It got a little confusing to navigate, but shows great promise!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Post Compo review:

A lot of the things I wanted you to add in the next version, you did. There seems to be more sound, the sniper seems just a little bit less accurate and the game is more easy to navigate.

Somethings I wish to see in a future version:
-Restart button
-Soundless/low specs version
-Various level changing improvements (With an FPS below 10, the reliability of level changing goes down three fold.)

Glad to see that you are updating this!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Nice concept, never seen this before. Colours are good! :D

Kohijin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

Nice idea and I really like the clean and plain look of the maps. It's a shame that I can't see my character sometimes.. in the beginning I was very confused what I am supposed to do.

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

Great graphics and pretty original gameplay. Actually moving the main character around was pretty difficult. It just needs further developed. A restart option would have helped as well.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:41am

Interesting idea.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:59am

Neat idea.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Cool idea!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:14pm

good job

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Is there a way to restart it? after I've lost.

interesting

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:20pm

It took a while before I understood what to do but then I really liked the concept. :)

A restart button would have been nice, especially as the game was pretty hard. The camera angle / zoom felt like it could have been better. But it was a really interesting concept and with the limited time I understand that it wasn't easy to have time for everything. :)

It definitely feels like a game that could be really fun with some more polish, so good job so far. :)

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:17pm

I didn't understand at first cause I didn't see the player, but I got it after a while; cool concept :D

gravyhands says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:00am

Pretty fun! I wanted to keep playing until I found the way to exploit it. Basically, just hide under the first staircase to the left and the sniper never seems to move. Could use a better score system, but awesome idea.

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Some very complex mechanics here, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]