August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten-2nd Scientist

by whiteravens - Jam Entry

UPDATE (QUICK PATCH)
======================
Dr. 2nd's Instruction Door broke down due faulty wires from
rat bites. He has it fixed now, and the instructions should
show all the time. (Now you know why Dr. 2nd hates mice)


DR. 2NDS LAB CONTEST RULES:
============================
1) Get SECOND place!
2) Mouse disabled in the lab (NO MOUSE ALLOWED!).
3) ONLY the Spacebar and Arrow Keys work.
4) If nothing happens on pressing a key, use common sense.
5) If you see a keyboard smash icon, use common sense.
6) Win Ten 2nds. Just do it!
7) 10 Experiments, 10 Seconds, 10 2nds.


OVERVIEW:
==========================
Finishing 10 2nds in 10 Experiments of 10 Seconds each.

Enjoy Dr. Ten-2nd's Crazy Experiment Challenges, where your
goal is to capture SECOND PLACE on each of his 10 quick
and crazy challenges in order to win!

The game goes on forever, so challenge yourself trying to
earn that 2nd place when the margin narrows down. Have fun!


CREDITS:
=========================
Team WhiteRavens

Design/Programming: Charles Cue
Art: Ellie Licuanan

Created with Game Maker Studio 1.2.1113
Best played with Windows Installed Version


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Theme(Jam)4.05
#47Humor(Jam)3.68
#56Fun(Jam)3.60
#137Overall(Jam)3.46
#160Innovation(Jam)3.29
#197Graphics(Jam)3.62
#209Mood(Jam)3.14
#437Audio(Jam)2.25

Comments

TehLulzinator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

This game is very enjoyable! Cute art and fun minigames makes for good time passing.

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09am

What an absolutely adorable collection of mini-games. My favorite by far was moving across the room. :-D

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32am

love it, best i've played so far, really polished!

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32am

Fun Mini games. Liked the art style.

Dracae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33am

SUPER GREAT! The audio was okay-ish, but everything else is AMAZING! :D

nhmllr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

Funny stuff.

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35am

The 10 2nds idea was a little too common but you played the idea out well

Ninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36am

A nice collection of fun little mini games! Good work!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38am

Great art. Most of them were a good level of challenge also where they would require a few tries but not a frustrating amount of tries.

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55am

Thank you for playing everyone :). We didn't have time to hunt for audio anymore, so we went with what we can generate with sfxr. Real life caught up with us, but I'm glad we're able to produce something for this LD round :)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31am

Cute art and good variation of mechanics! The different challenges per level made me play to the end.

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40am

I like the style of this game, reminds me of Yoshi Island and I like the fun Wario ware nature to the mini games. Was confused by the controls at first.

triforcespark says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43am

I like how you set the goal: to be in the second place (and also the wordplay.)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

Very well done. I like the variety of the different tasks. And the graphics, obviously.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Hilarious game! Love the art style, and I'm a huge fan of anything wario-ware like. Also cool how we had the same twist on the theme (get 2nd place) but had completely different games.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23pm

That was really cute! Love the minigames. You guys really did a good job :D

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Very clever take on the 10-seconds! It's a different kind of challenge! I also love the art, very playful :)

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Great little game! The random challenges were pretty fun! And the difficulty was just right! One of the best I've played so far.

zanval says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:59am

Do you have Java 7? Java 6 will not work.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:32am

A very nice, simple idea. The graphics are nice, the gameplay is fun and the result feels good. Nice work!

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:30pm

My keyboard is hurting! Really interesting set of puzzles!

hissssssssss says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:39pm

This was really impressive! The minigames were very creative.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Excellent game, good variety in the levels, we had fun playing it.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:09am

Nice job, it was a cute series of mini games with an interesting twist. Also love how simple the controls are. Awesome job!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:10am

Haha, funny take on the theme! Great job!

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

loved the interpretation of the theme! really unique. all of the minigames were fun to play

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:17am

Very well done! And hot damn what a very unique, playful interpretation of the theme! I only realized it after finishing the my 10th second place haha! Great game! :D

Unept says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Haha, not bad. Clever way to try to "land" between 1st and 3rd.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Haha you did that 10-2nds + WarioWare like idea. This is so awesome and that's definitely a 5 in both Innovation and Fun!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

Real good take on the theme. I played around with this one and never would've done it this well.

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

Nice game like warioware

Erkberg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Very enjoyable minigames, great interpretation of the theme.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:35am

Fun mini game collection. Also one of the most humorous entries I've reviewed so far.

motty says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:31am

Cute artwork, cute idea, nice implementation. Difficulty level a bit much for me, especially on the fart level - it's hard to deliberately come second when you can't complete the task at all. But that's probably just me. Overall, nice one.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:57am

Nice work! Very nice sounds, good take on the theme! Animations were very nice. Keep it up!

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:41am

Funny mini game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]