August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds

by Adjotur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Second LD ever. Hope you guys enjoy my game and I'm looking for any feedback you have to offer. Games written in Java 7 so any system running that should be able to launch the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#272Humor2.79
#620Theme3.11
#660Audio2.35
#917Mood2.22
#931Innovation2.43
#941Graphics2.22
#1043Fun2.22
#1088Overall2.38

Comments

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

I love the free form interpretation of the theme!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

I liked the graphics a lot.
The collision detection was a bit wonky at times.

Great use of the theme! Enjoyed the audio

Stryphe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27am

I like the approach on the theme. Nicely done!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19am

The controls are good and I find the "quirky" animation funny. The intro (altought with forgivable typos) was a nice thing. I understood what the objective.

But there are several bugs. For instance, the runner can get stuck mid-air against a block.

Graphically, the colors are WAY too saturated... That blue hurts my eyes, and I can't read the onscreen text sometimes. Next time, pick better, contrasting colours.

Your music doesn't loop correctly. I failed to find any connection to the theme (10 seconds). The third level is unbeatable.

I ran your game on Arch Linux 64 bits, without any problem.

thephantom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17pm

nice job , although the collision system was a bit rigid :D

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40am

Great angle on the theme. Game could have been more polished.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

Cool spin on the theme, and the Sonic inspiration is great. The white background made me click outside the game more than once.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

10 2nds, very nice. I jumped over a goal a couple times and wasn't able to restart, which was annoying, but that music made up for it. :)

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27am

cool approach to the theme
collision was very buggy(getting stuck in the floor, glitching into walls)
3 blocks away from the right side of the level i get this error
Thread: Thread-2
Error: java.lang.IndexOutOfBoundsException
Location: util.level.getNearby:130
also could not find a way to beat the third level

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26am

Oh you funny person ! That pun just made my day. Sonic fan, aren't we ? :P
The game is good, even if a little slow. I had no music, which looks like it's a bug, and gave up at level 4 because of these cannon-thwomp-like-thingies. The physics is slightly bugged, and this can get annoying when one gets stuck just at the end of the level. Plus I find jumping little to aerial.

Excellent game though, and once again, nice pun !

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Guilty is charged. I will never forget when I was a kid playing classic sonic on my uncles sega genesis

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

Nice way of interpreting the theme, CD can be quite a bitch, but you still did nicely!

Divyesh says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

Very cool game, but level 4 was challenging

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Good graphics and interesting interpretation of the theme. There are some minor problems with the jumping but nothing too big.

epiplon says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:40am

The game doesn't go well becaues mechanics don't work.
Also, why do I have all the arrows keys as options (minus down key) if he keeps running forever?
I'm sorry, couldn't even play it right.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Good looking game!

Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Ah nice game ! I like the concept. Good thinking for the theme :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]