August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Election

by Pixelgel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There is an election in this area every 10 seconds. It is your job as leader to pander to whichever of the 4 parties has most power in the region so that you can be re-elected.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

panuo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:54pm

This is a type of game i like, but the 10 second limit makes it almost unplayable for me. The question changes before i can read it trough etc. It would be most interresting if there was version without time limit

JD557 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Really interesting idea you've got here.

It took me a little bit to get used to how the game works. I'm not really sure why though, but at first I really lost the notion of how much time I had to make a decision and where everything was.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06am

Great idea, it's hard to win the few first elections, but once you get majority from 2 part (mine was industrialist and technologist) it's easy to keep winning. At first I feeled like I was elected legitly, but at the end, I felt like a was the emperor :D Whatever I did I kept getting reelect. I should consider getting into politics :P

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Bigger font may help and fewer factors to evaluate in the 10 second limit. There seems to be a lot going on in the game, so some balancing will fix it.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

This game was too fast for me. I really like the idea though, but I didn't manage to get very far. With a few tweaks, and maybe more time or removal of the time limit.

NiallM says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:00pm

This feels like a really strong idea that's hampered by its interface. The small text makes it hard to quickly grasp who you need to appease and who you can afford to upset, and given the time limit the questions are a bit too wordy.

I think if you rejiggered the questions a bit and made the power and favor meters into large bar graphs this would be a lot of fun. The map seems superfluous to the game.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Really, the time limit hurt this a lot. I only found it playable once I started ignore the text entirely and only glancing at the arrows that explain how the effect of the decision.

The actual mechanic of balancing your favour, and choosing when to start pandering to a side that's picking up influence works really well, but the timer makes it very difficult to learn the system, and impossible to read the text.

Could work really well in turns or with some kind of tactical pause option.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Not really my type of game, but good job overall! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]