August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Oops!!! v0.5alpha

by Blue Steel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Now up to v0.7Alpha: most of the bugs should now be gone,

Fixes:
Timer seems to be working properly
Key presses(fixed) and now with mouse button support for input
intermittent Crashes on starting a new game

Changes:
Dropped Time bonus back to 1 sec for placing a block
Edited first run screen so now it doesn't say game over until you played
Added reason why you lost the game (time or block)
Changed Speed that the Blocks move across the screen depending on your score (low score slow, high score faster) on a sliding scale

Still to come:
Sound
High Scores
Title Renaming when you get the high score.(If i can work out how to do it, I thought i knew but a can't repeat it.. and can't remember how i did it :( )

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Official Entry OOPS!!!0.5alpha
==============
Updated .zip file to fix typo and add in correct source files(i had an older backup of the source files.. which were missing some files , namely keyboard.java and mouse.java)

game now no longer closes the screen straight away when you loose. just sites there with timer ticking down , so that you can see your final score. to restart you need to close and re-run still.

Left like this as to not to break contest rules.. will be improving the game when voting is finished


Written in JAVA

How many Colored blocks can you send up the screen in 10 seconds?

There's a CATCH. you can't place the same colored boxes horizontally or vertically torching each other

To launch Blocks up the screen press any key

For every block you place you gain a in score and time by one second ( thinking of increasing that to two to three seconds) every block that goes off the edge of the screen your score drops by one and your Time drops by an extra second. I'll also be adding an opening screen and a game over screen at the moment it starts you in the game proper and it quits to system when Game is over.

If I get time I'll be adding in Sound and High Scores also if I get time I'll also be adding in that you can change the Title of the game. This feature will be to record for Prosperity your First word or thought when you lost the game after beating the high score ;)

Posting it up early in case i don't get time to do any more ;)
Enjoy and Vote.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#847Innovation2.57
#905Humor1.60
#941Audio1.43
#1064Mood1.70
#1083Theme2.37
#1133Fun1.92
#1172Graphics1.56
#1175Overall1.98

Comments

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:04pm

oops!! forgot to say that there are a total of 12 colors in the game and its ALL Random (except for the 10Seconds )

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:05pm

oops!!! also forgot to add in the source code... (Written in java 7 ... gulp

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Source files added .. sorry didn't get time to do any more yet. but i will be continuing Dev After the contest

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11am

Hey Blue Steel,
I've found the basic concept interesting but it get's pretty hard and it does not vary ^^". A list of controls (SPACE I found out?), some sfx a catchy music tune, restart function and a lose screen would improve it significantly.

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33am

yeah i ran out of time.. you press anykey to launch the blocks
I wanted the blocks to scroll faster as your score goes up and slows down the lower your score, but this is as fast as it goes :( there are no slow downs built into the game its running as fast as it can :( I will be continuing development to get it to where i want after the voting

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33am

The basic idea is nice and it could be improved further, but as it is, I didn't really find it fun though. :)
I tried about 4 times and it was just too hard because of the speed. Maybe the speed should be slower in the beginning and increase during gameplay or something?

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48am

thanks for the input. i'll slow it down a bit and speed it back up. I really thought it was a ok speed to start with but like i said its as fast as i can get it to go .. i don't know why . to me it should be able to go even faster

T1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54am

Hello! Personally, I find it quite hard to come up with simple and minimalistic game mechanics that don't require shooting bad guys, so it's always nice to see a game that pulls off a simple concept. Good idea randomizing the background colors, keeps it easy on the eyes. :) Also, it's a nice touch, that you can't place the same color on the top background, it stops the player from randomly pressing. Wanted to say it's a bit hard and could use guidelines for block landing location, but after playing for a while i see that eventually you get used to the speed and can predict the blocks quite nicely so it's ok.

Biggest issue is the program closing on game end, it's not that time consuming to launch it again from cmd, but somehow the screen closing and opening again repeatedly, hurts the mood and immersion a bit.

Bonus points because i guess this game helps improve coordination and reflexes! :D

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58am

I would really enjoy this if it were faster. I want to send a flood of colors towards the top of the screen, but I have to be so careful that it takes away from that virtuoso feeling. If you had multiple lives that you could lose by making mistakes, and if it didn't quit automatically (I know, it's ld48), it would be quite nice. I basically want to be allowed to make a mistake or two.

And a great song would go a long way here, too.

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16am

Thanks .. keep the comments coming

My thinking was that lives aren't important in this game as your supposed to loose its just a matter of how many you can place before you either run out of time or make a slip and place 2 of the same color together.

Yeah i know the ending screens and opening screens will be done jut run out of time..

Eventually you'll also be able to Change the Title of the Game From Oops!! to the word/thought that you have when you get the high score. and loose.. lol.. you'll be able to change it to what ever you want.. eg: frak, schweps,sugar,NOOO!!!! or any expletive you can imagine

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56am

I really like the idea! There should be some "You lost" screen or game restart instead!

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56am

yeah i know thanks.. ;) just didn't have time

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

For some reason the game refused to launch on my Mac. It says :"The JAVA JAR file "Ooops!!!.jar" could not be launched."

VardGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31am

there where no findable instructions I didn't know what was going on.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31am

Needs restart and lose screen. And It should be faster.

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

on the title screen (going to be done ) it'll say pres any key to launch blocks. it also says what to do in the description

its as fast as i can get it to go :( i don't know why I can't get it to go faster

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

end screen will also have a high score table too

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:26am

Game seems to crash after 5-6 seconds of playing...

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31am

:/ i dont even know what to say i dont understand the concept and is there anything to do or just press the space bar ??

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46am

its not crashing , your placing 2 blocks of the same color next to each other

you press any key to launch a block up the screen. and place different colored blocks together filling the screen. you can't place 2 blocks the same color on top of or nest to each other (this includes the colored blocks on the sides and top.

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I found this impossible to rate, after the first time I played (and lost v. quickly because I didn't realise what I was doing) every time I tried to launch it the game just said game over and closed again.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:21pm

This is a very interesting and exciting concept! My only complaint is that it's a little difficult for me, but maybe that's just because of my horrible reaction times. Nice job!

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:28pm

It sometimes throws me out of the game with no explanation why. Well done though, the general concept is pretty cool :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

The best thing color scheme of the game and how it chooses randomly how to use it :D

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

weird.. unless your launching a block straight away that happens to the the color of the boarder.. try it again.. what platform are you running it on.. I don't think its crashing. maybe a key stuck or something

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:36pm

yeah i'll be making a intro and game over screen in time , I just ran out of time

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Strange. But interesting.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:06pm

graphics arnet the best but still very enjoyable.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:15am

I like the basic game idea. Time pressure is great, but here it might be a little high, it's nearly impossible to press the key at the exact moment you want.

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:24am

Quite interesting, haven't seen such a concept before, definitely enjoyable

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:52pm

The idea is good, the colours are a bit ugh though ;) Still, stable entry :D

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

The colors I'm using are the default named Colors that Java sets up all 12 of them

I've been working on an update for it I'll upload it as a POST LD version , it has instruction/game over screen, and some bug fixes. I just wish i could get it running quicker ;( still to come Sound and High Scores and Title Renaming when you get the high score.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Honestly I didn't find this game much amusing, if it was super fast and we had to throw rectangles at all speed trying not to match colours it could be fun, however the game is very slow and even after the 10 seconds pass the game continues. I like how the Post-compo version is going but it's too buggy - it begins with the end screeen and the timer isn't working properley. The one thing that I think that could make the game more intresting is: + speed and + randomness.

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I don't know how i can get more speed out of it without skipping some columns as the block moves along the bottom. I can speed up the blocks moving up the screen though.. thinking about it, but it won't look as smooth.Bang. hit the button and it'll be up as high on the screen as it can go :(

Is the slowness because I'm just using the straight java ? no lwjgl or slick ???

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

in the Post LD version when you place a block it adds 2 seconds to the timer.. should i drop it back to 1 ???

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

the instructions / game over screen is reminiscent of the old arcade days when such combination screens were common

BenWhi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:13am

Definitely unique. Tried a couple times, but had some trouble figuring out the rules though :( A good effort, though :)

Blue Steel says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Instructions are now on the start and game over screens in the latest post build

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I like how the graphics really mimics an old DOS game using only the ASCII characters. Kind of think of this, this game should be made as a DOS game for it's simplicity.
I could sort of see how this game is going: you have to time yourself to place the block at the right moment without matching colors. Interesting, although the time it takes for the block to move to the top is too slow; so time very often goes in the negative.

Solifuge says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Highly innovative, but I think the execution was messy. The timer kept counting even while blocks were traveling up, which made it pretty much impossible to make any progress; I think remaking this at a much more frantic pace, but without any timer (you'd need to introduce a new Loss mechanic), could be interesting. Also, fewer colors would help too, I think; some of those were tough to distinguish!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]