August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Orb

by Monoquartz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you need to drag the disks to power orbs with lasers.
You have 10 sec to complete each level. The are 17 levels with progressive difficulty. Have fun ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#542Audio2.58
#597Innovation2.90
#650Mood2.60
#681Graphics2.69
#738Overall2.88
#806Theme2.88
#853Humor1.74
#863Fun2.54

Comments

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Maybe it's just because I'm on linux or something, but I couldn't get anything to load. All the surrounding content appeared, but the game area just stayed white.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Good game, but it's really hard beacuse the time limit... :)

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

It was really fun! I think the time limit could be more visible, just to make the game feel more time-pressured.

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Nice idea! I really would have like more time on later levels tough, or some gameplay mechanic which gives more time.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Lovely concept!

A bit surprised this hasn't been done before

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Scratch :) Ha, heard of this but never seen anything actually made in scratch, really cool!

Sadly though, it lags, and I'm saying this from a latest generation macbook pro, that's not very cool, especially since there's a time limit on each level, a lot of people will struggle with this.

About the game itself, sadly I can't give you too many points as I've seen this game several times before, and forcing a time limit actually just makes the game harder and slightly more frustrating, but good job nonetheless!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

The concept is nice but the time pressure makes me not want to proceed after a while because I always have to repeat all levels to get to the one I failed in (which I just don't want more than a few times). I had no technical issues playing the game :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Great idea, but it doesn't fit really well with the theme as the time limit make it very frustrating...

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15pm

really challenging. I like the concept

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Nice game. Just make sure to add source to the file as it's not included right now

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35pm

I love the concept! It is hard, and challenging but played it was fun :)

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Great concept! This would be amazing on a touchscreen I think.

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

@Xgor in scatch source file are already include: you just need to click the button "See Inside"

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

I like the background music

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Hey I also programmed something with scratch with my daugther. This is very good for the limited capabilities of scratch!
I however don't like the time pressure for this more puzzle style game

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Thanks all for your feedbacks (good or wrong) :)

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Good little game

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

This is neat game, but I don't know that it compliments the theme. The time limit just made it too difficult as it went on.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25am

Simple but nice.

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:38am

Unique puzzle concept. And you did it in scratch. Very cool.

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Very cool puzzler for 48 hours! Good job! Was a bit tough, had to cheat out the timer for me to get to the end ;)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

nice, simple idea, but don't really get how to play.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Cool idea, but gets way to hard in the later levels since they take a while to figure out. Then it sends you back to the start. :( The graphics are fitting though and I appreciate your use of scratch ;)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

good job

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:33am

Pretty cool, I liked the music too. But a visible time limit and restart button would be nice.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:26am

It is a great geometrical puzzle.
I found a bit hard to have to start form level one each time, because some last levels are a bit tough, a direct restart would have been a nice thing.
Also music is nice, did you choose to saturate it or is it a consequence of some post-process ?

Monoquartz says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:55pm

@Colapsydo Yes I made the music with garageband with the basics loops and i have added the Chiptune Effect.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]