August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chicks And Dungeons

by Kotstulle - Jam Entry

A really short game prototype in classic gameboy style.
Unfortunately I couldn't finish the game due to lack of time. This was my first Ludum Dare and I'm pretty satisfied :)

Try to save all the girls in the dungeons. To save them, you have 10 seconds each time. The game is still pretty unbalanced...just try it..and don't forget to break the chains! :D (Sound and music temporarily used from Legend of Zelda - Links awakening)

S: Jump
A: Attack

(Browser: In case of lag reduce the browser window size)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Mood(Jam)3.62
#73Graphics(Jam)4.15
#183Overall(Jam)3.36
#200Fun(Jam)3.14
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#246Humor(Jam)2.57
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#445Theme(Jam)2.77
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I love this game!

The graphics immediately draw me in and the music and gameplay just fits it perfectly.

I also like the difficulty of your game - I wasn't able to save even one girl in my first playthrough, but after multiple ones I managed to save most of them.

great little game! well done!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:25am

Great work done!
Nice music and art style.

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51am

Hey nice gameboy style!

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:56am

I like the graphics :)

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I really like the idea and use of theme, and the gameboy-esque graphics, the jumping is a little awkward though so it makes it real easy to screw up and die, and too hard to time jumps properly in the rooms with archers + chains =[
(the web player graphics looked odd in Opera, I could see lines where the tile grids are, worked fine in Firefox though)

PixelRebirth says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

Great pixels, very authentic!

JackoKomm says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Oh Worf. Sound is stolen;) But well done sir. :v

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

love the style!

ramoncb says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

love the gameboy graphics style! it is really beautiful =)

I didn't save the girls xD

ComicSans says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:40am

Great execution! Aren't we done with the whole saving princess theme though?

Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:44am

Nice art style, too bad about the sound and music though, I think you probably should have abstained from keeping it in your submitted version, but that's my opinion. With that out of the way, I love gameboy-style games, so yours was right up my alley. The idea feels fresh, if a bit difficult due to some wonkiness in the jumping. But very good job for your first LD!

Mago says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I love graphic in this game, just amazing. Well done game, difficulty is hardcore.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:43am

Funny that you used link's awakening stuff because when I saw your screenshots that's the first thing that came to my mind :) Nice little game, felt just like a gameboy game and took me straight back into childhood memories. Levels felt a bit punishing but controls felt nice. With a bit more time on it this could be really good :)

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Absolute nostalgia overload, great work. Music and sound should be original really, is that music from Link's Awakening? Apart from that, awesome job.

Jason says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Good job putting this together. I like the graphics and animation style!

Flai says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Really good game :)

loxo says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I like the awesome graphics and the theme fitting game concept very much. I don't like to start from the beginning after every death.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Cool game. I was only able to rescue one girl. The other fell into lava due to that jerk troll thing, another one fell into lava because I didn't care, and the last one fell in because I accidentally attacked the chain. That's when I just gave up.

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Really like the assumably gameboy zelda inspired music ;) + the graphics and great use of the theme!
However the controls were awful, try evaluating movement at the very end of the frame if you didn't already do that. And the collisions didn't seem to occur sometimes when they should :/ It feels like it's the game's fault for not making that jump instead of the player's fault.
But anyhow, like I said, theme/graphics/audio were done really well!

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:12pm

The style definitely takes me back to my GameBoy days. However, some of the jumps are a real pain and it's near impossible to save some of the girls.

lesterpig says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:43pm

No checkpoint at all ? Wow, very hard !
I loved the graphics, retro style is really fine !

Good work.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:49pm

The web version runs too fast on my computer though. It's completely unplayable. The game looks great and polished but
I immediately recognize the music and sfx from Link's Awakening (MAN I love that game) so SADLY that means I can't give you a score for music/audio.
Loved the graphics and the game though!! I also loved the subtle way in which the theme is used.

manuq says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Using tones of gray for all the sprites is nice, it looks charming.

GFM says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Great game!
Graphics are great! It's amazing to see something this good with a palette so restricted...

But I felt platforming, at times, quite difficult... The same kind of difficulty found in Megaman's Elecman stage.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:03am

SOOO nostalgic!!
A little unnecessary to restart from the beginning though... restarting on same screen would be so much nicer.
Retro graphics are very very awesome.

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:32am

Interesting game, but the jumping physics are rather annoying, making saving the girls really difficult.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I like the idea and the graphical style, but the controls are really wonky and the jumping needs crazy precision. Saving the girls is nigh impossible when either time runs out because you can't get to the switch because of the very narrow tunnels that are hard to jump through properly, enemies shoot the chain and drop the damnsel, or the girls themselves jump into lava.

good idea that needs more polishing.

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Really cool game! I liked it a lot. It's a bit frustrating see the rescued girls falling to the dead, and some collisions need a tweak, but on the end I love the game ;)

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Nice visuals, a bit disapointing that i appear at level start after death(falling in water) and repeat paar screens to place of death. Maybe is better to reduce more lives from water?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]