August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Save the Kingdom

by VictorGrunn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can YOU save the kingdom from the summoning of a demonic beholder intent on devouring all the adventurers in the land? No, you cannot, because the Wizard's watch runs ten seconds too slow.

Instead, help the beholder digest the adventurers! Click on the falling dwarves and warriors to digest them, or let your digestors take care of them. But watch out - dwarves cause gas! Swipe over the gas bubbles to explode them and keep the beholder from dying, because that's how intestinal gas works!

More seriously, I found myself messing around with art and my new Nexus 7 this weekend, and never managed to let my actual idea for this game develop properly. I wanted to have an increasingly difficult system of things-being-digested, complete with wizards who would buff or rez the dead, ghosts who would have to be eradicated, and more.

That said, the beholder animation in the opening was pretty fun to make, and I learned a ton from this LD.

Anyway, gameplay: First, click your way through the opening theatrics. As it stands, all you can do is either swipe your mouse over the bubbles to destroy them, click on the falling adventurers to destroy them (and gain points) or let your little digestion-minions devour the adventurers (to gain points, though dwarves give beholders gas.) That is literally it right now. :( The 'ten seconds' aspect was constituted entirely by the backstory for this one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#302Humor2.73
#505Graphics2.96
#973Mood2.10
#996Audio1.12
#1004Innovation2.27
#1063Fun2.18
#1128Overall2.24
#1180Theme1.61
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

The game lags a little every once in a while... and I think it lasted more than 10 seconds... perhaps that was just the lag though not sure :/

Overall though a very unique idea! It gave me a good laugh, nice job :)

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39am

I had some fun playing this... Unfortunately the game loved regularly pausing and eventually crashing. Also, 10 seconds seemed like an after though, as I felt no use of the theme. The only thing saving the game was the fact that it was humorous and was pretty looking. 3/5.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

Nice graphics. I was a little confused when I died, there were no gas bubble on the screen (does life just slowly drain or something?) If so, the game ends automatically far too soon as it was still quite easy. Also, the first time I ran the game I think it crashed while the digesters were eating a knight the same time I was clicking on it. The pause button didn't appear, but everything just stopped and I couldn't get it to resume without refreshing the page.

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

Yeah, the 10 seconds - I had planned the game around the theme, but didn't get to implement it. Thanks for the feedback all, I'll check out the bugs.

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

Yay, 1700 points! It's fun enough trying to figure out how to max out the score. Cute graphics and humor too, I really like the dismemberment effect.

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

Hey, thanks. And here I was wondering if that was too small for anyone to notice. :)

I plan on working on this one post-LD. I like the idea, I just spent so much time fretting over art and experimenting with programming that the actual 'game' got maybe 4 hours of focus. Oops. Well, LD is great for educating people where they need to focus.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:39pm

The Web link isn't working for me. It looks like a fun game, but I can't access it. :(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

It was cool to watch my minions feed on my enemies. The little hang was a little frustrating but not a major issue. I like the art you've done for the heroes and the intro, very cool!

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Falcon - on the bright side, the actual game has little to it! But the web link works fine for me and others. Not sure what's up there. :(

I'm still trying to figure out this 'hang' and lag talk. It seems to be working fine on my end, but I'll check it out.

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Alright, it looks like the 'lag' thing was possibly a hosting artifact. It's up on Newgrounds now. Hopefully this solves that problem.

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

The intro animation was great.

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:46am

Heh, amusing game concept. The intro was pretty well put together, too.

I didn't notice any performance issues on my end (Win7 / Firefox), so changing hosts or whatever you did might have fixed it. Could be difficult to tell, though (try a range of different browsers?)

ghostonline says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:06am

Cute and simple. I very much like the intro cutscene, although it overshadows the game itself a bit, making actual game itself feel a bit bland. A bit more visual feedback could go a long way towards making it all a bit more enjoyable.

Mandraw says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:06am

one word : PROCRASTINATION !

It's fun ,but whitout the 10 seconds aspect, it just goes on , i stopped because it was getting out of hand , not because i game over or became too difficult , even the 10 seconds , you should have made the falling more and more faster, that would have nicely worked...

42000 or somthing , not right ><

but fun game

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Cool idea, very nice graphics, but the game itself isn't that much fun. Still it's not terrible, I've seen worse.. :)
Better luck next time!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Kind of basic, but I'd be interested to see you develop this in line with your original ideas, which sound like they could make quite an interesting idea. As it is, it's pretty polished, and the gameplay is fun for a while, but it's not very challenging, which causes it to get boring.

I love the concept, and the graphics in the intro are neat.

Canyon says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:46am

I like your art.

Qaterknan says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

Funny game, however not sure how it links with theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]