August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Poorly Planned Pillaging Party

by ecbambrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Choose a party of characters, each of whom can only live for 10 seconds. Collect all the treasure in the stage and bring it back to the entrance before your entire party is dead.

Each class has its own abilities, so choose your team carefully.

-------------------

UPDATE (2013/08/25, 8:45PM): added camera controls during party selection

UPDATE (2013/08/25, 9:09PM): increased window size

------------------

During Character Selection, you must select a number of characters to complete the stage with (note: the first stage only has one). Each character can be any of three classes and will be played one-by-one in order from left to right.

up/down: change class for the currently selected character
left/right: change characters (the first level only has one character)
w,a,s,d: move camera to show level layout

During gameplay, you must collect each piece of treasure and bring it back to the entrance (the gap in the ceiling). Each character will die after 10 seconds and the next character's turn will begin. You must collect all the treasure for the stage before all of your characters die. When a character dies, he will drop the treasure he was holding, which must be collected by the next character.

up: jump
left/right: move
space (wizard only): fire projectile
escape: move on to the next character

Each class has its own ability:
Warrior: can push heavy objects
Theif: can run quickly
Wizard: can fire projectiles which activate objects (crates, buttons) from afar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#97Graphics3.88
#147Overall3.56
#187Innovation3.55
#206Theme3.55
#219Audio3.15
#298Mood3.08
#363Humor2.62
#418Fun3.09

Comments

iyzsong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34am

Great game, I should practice more later >.<

Fervir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:13am

Seems like the second level is broken?
There are three knights to choose from

ecbambrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

@Fervir

Use up/down to change classes for each character. You play them in order from left to right, one after another.

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07am

The music is great. The idea is fun and a clever use of the theme, but I had some problems switching between characters. The graphics are also very nice.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20am

pppp.exe is not a valid Win32 executable?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22am

Really digging the graphics and audio. The gimmick behind the game is a nice take on the theme overall that sets it apart from the others of similiar idea.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26am

Awesome puzzle game! Very cool idea and implementation of the theme (though it would have been better if there was some sort of explanation of why they died after 10 seconds).

It was a bit annoying that I could not preview/see the entire level when planning. I had to select 3 people who probably wouldn't work, scout the level, then figure out my plan. The puzzles overall were pretty well designed (though level 3 is really hard for only the 3rd level).

The music gets a bit grating after a bit, but I just muted it, so it was OK.

Overall, graphics and gameplay were excellent! Good job!

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37am

That was great. I loved the puzzles and their difficulty, but maybe it's just hard because I needed to scout out the level before planning out my route.

Inertia says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09am

Occasionally buggy, which doesn't help the high difficulty level. However, this seems like a very well put-together game, with good music, strong art and nifty mechanics. If only I was any good at it!

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19am

I get this when I try to run the love file: http://leafo.net/shotsnb/2013-08-26_00-19-42.png I'm on linux

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30am

I like the idea quite a bit, but it felt like there was only one specific way to do each level. I never felt like I was able to find my own way of doing things. Overall, the game felt pretty good to play and I'd be interested in playing more if you choose to continue work on it.

ecbambrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55am

@Endurion
I have no idea what might be causing that, but I'll see if I can find anything.

@TheSambassador
@ranf
you can move the camera with w,a,s,d while selecting a team. I think I'm going to write some fully detailed instructions in the description since the in-game ones do seem to be a bit lacking.

@leafo
Thanks, I'll look into that.

@coreym1988
I tried to make sure each stage had at least two workable combinations, but yeah. I would've really liked to make it more flexible if I had more time.

Thanks for all the feedback, everyone.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

Nice game. It reminds me of the good old classics like Lost Vikings, or Fury of the Furries, except this one is different :-)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05am

I am also getting this error :(

http://i.imgur.com/8ZJ56H8.png

Running the .exe, src/ and .love all do the same thing :(

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

really nice pixel art!

Taiters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Great game! Really cool idea, I found myself panicking near the end of the levels haha

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Good game! Alot of fun, pretty difficult as well!

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Cool grafix and nice idea with the team where each has 10 secs, thumbs up :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34am

Duuude! This is great in every way. The use of the theme, the art is beautiful, the music is so moody and solid gameplay. Loved it!

alts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:56am

This game is really cool. I love the idea. Reminiscent of Trine. Well done.

The only problem I had is that I ran into quite a few bugs. Characters falling through platforms (sometimes to my advantage). One time the wizard just couldn't shoot magic, which ended up ruining the whole run. Polished up I think this could be a really great game.

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Dunno what happened, this time it worked (was XP before).

Great visuals and music, and I love those games. However I couldn't figure out the second stage. The wizards magic didn't seem to work at all.

Squish the bugs, roll out more stages, Profit!!!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:12am

Extremely difficult first level to realize whats going on.

Was fun after I realized what was going on. Art and music was enjoyable :D

epiplon says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:32am

Pretty well made game. They work really good as a team, and I find the first two levels to be clever.
The buttons where a bit buggy, specially at the third level, but you can work that out.

jwolf says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Pretty neat puzzle game! I found the timing to be a bit too tight for my taste, but that's probably just a matter of preference.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:35am

Very nice and polished game! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]