August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds of Joy

by CosmicAdventureSquad - Jam Entry

"Stuff your eyes with wonder . . . live as if you'd drop dead in ten seconds." - Ray Bradbury

Spread joy and optimism in an otherwise gray and pessimistic population. Once a person becomes an optimist, he or she has 10 seconds left to live. Live life to the fullest; spread your happiness. Your karma increases for each person's life you change.

Post-Jam Features:
- Sound effects!
- A new unit type!
- Better audio track generation!
- More tuning and balancing!

Credits:
-Programmer: Strega (Vu Ha)
-Artist: RosyPenguin (Rose Peng)
-Musician: Tenlki (Johan Soriao)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#19Audio(Jam)3.94
#32Overall(Jam)3.86
#38Innovation(Jam)3.79
#39Fun(Jam)3.66
#50Theme(Jam)3.71
#73Mood(Jam)3.59
#188Graphics(Jam)3.66
#222Humor(Jam)2.71

Comments

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20am

That was really fun! I really like how you tied the game's theme on that quote and used 10 seconds to represent each character's joy. The layering of the music when you collect more and more people is really great. The increasing obstacles made it pretty challenging to navigate when I was controlling many people at once. And I liked how they were themed like sadness and anger(I assume the red one was). The upgrades were a nice way of specializing strategies to maximize how many people you could get and there are enough levels that I feel like it's a pretty complete experience despite the short time you all had to make it.

As far as criticisms go, perhaps there could be more styling around the playing field or some kind of background there. Not entirely sure if that would distract from the gameplay elements but you guys did a great job!

Burhuc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20am

Good work! I like it! Unique idea and good execution!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40am

Cute game ! Great music, nice animation. Great work !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49am

Thanks for the awesome feedback!

@Ossi - We wanted to create more varied levels and add obstacles to the playing field, but we felt that it would take too much time too design every level so we went with a level generator approach. We had a lot of other features and upgrades planned but didn't get to make it into the Jam version of the game.

I really wish we had got the sound effects into the Jam version. :(

timujin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Man, this thing is extremely depressing...
These little grey guys have only 10 seconds of happiness, and the price for their happiness is death. And they are so desperate living in that black-and-grey enclosed quarters, that they gladly accept that fate and spread it. Or, maybe, they're happy because they get the chance to die? That grey room looks like eternal boring hell. Other poor souls, that will never know happiness, and some of them are so jealous of the happy ones, that they kill them... but even that doesn't make them happy. Nothing can.
The player tries to get a lot of karma, since he is very afraid that he will be reborn as the blue or red one. He even holds hope, that he will live his life kind enough to get the chance of rebirth in some other world, rather than this depressing void.
The soundtrack is best described as "desperate". It is definitely intended to be gay and cheerful, but it's doing the bad job and doesn't actually sound happy. Just like those poor souls try to seem happy, and persuade themselves happy, even knowing that nothing can save them, and being deeply sad in their hearts.
When everyone that could be happy is happy or dead, the background changes slightly from grey to green. But only slightly, for with the salvation of the few, most inhabitants are still damned...

Mood 5/5.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Very interesting take on the theme. I liked all of the animations, fun game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:02am

NIce audio and animations. Well done.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:14am

Excellent execution and unique take on the theme.
It's depressing to be honest, but I still really liked it. Full score from me.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

really like the games take on the theme. and the way the music blended added a lot of mood. Nice game.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

A twist on classic chain reaction games. Really solid game. Music feels right and good presentation. Only issue I have is there is no sense of progress on repetition for all the following levels. I stopped around level 22 since I didn't know how much was left. So if you add variation and a sense of progress to an end, it will be a very good game. Good job!

optimality says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Very solid game.

MetroidMan347 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:45am

I liked it!

BloodJohn says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:48am

interesting gameplay

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Solid entry - the lil' guys dying was pretty heart-breaking though!

Anoarith says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I like a lot of aspect of your game : the music, the gameplay, the use of the theme, the upgrades, these cute little optimictics ...

I find it a little repetitive though, but well, it was made for a game jam ;).

Loyalty says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Just awesome, I totally love it when a message is stated in form of the mechanics in a game - and this game can tell stories as long, as you can imagine some.
Played both the jam and post-Jam
(I think you can abuse the yellow ones in the post jam by catching the sad again and again, so you get tons of points)

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:46am

Very cool concept! Beautiful well-polished game!
I think this game was the one that I played/rated so far that had more heart and mind put into it! So sincere!

I can't stress enough how amazing this game is.
Sincerely one of the best I've played. =)

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:44am

A little polish can go a long way in making a game good, and this game abounds in it! The gameplay is original and fun, and the game seems very complete. I especially like the way the music gets happier as the number of living optimists increases. There are only two things I would recommend for an updated version: adding a background to the level (maybe brown grass that turns green as optimists are recruited), and making levels with layouts instead of just populating the room differently as the player progresses.
Very well done!

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Great game. Fun, original mechanics, great music and graphics and a strange mood. One of my favourites so far!

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:15pm

I really like this style. The dark music that continues to play, and the happy music that suddenly appears. It works great together. Fun game overall. The upgrade screen could've looked a bit nicer I guess.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Really good game ^^ Was a bit confused at first but got the hang of it quickly. IT would work GREAT on a touchscreen, you guys should make a post-comp version for mobile and release on Android/Applestore :3

dkkarate says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Loved the game, but the message was a little depressing. The sad people lived longer that the happy ones...

mobyvb says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I loved every part of this game. Really innovative and hilarious take on a zombie-style game.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:17am

This game is amazing. I loved it. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzQ8TXQohmI

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]