August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keeper

by sparkleswirl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keeper is an "art game", I guess? It's about love and life and loss. Unless you play Arcade Mode which is all about getting a high score with none of those silly feelings.

---

INSTRUCTIONS

Click to select menu options.
Press and hold spacebar for "ten seconds" to complete each level.

Kongregate version has high score support, but had ads.

---

NOTES

This game was made in under six hours* with Stencyl 3.0 beta. Sounds were made using OpenMPT and edited using Audacity. Royalty free ocean wave sounds were from soundjay.com.

* I was way overbooked this weekend having spent my entire Saturday doing needlework demos at the county fair. The game (at least the arcade mode mechanics) was designed while I was pooping at the fair after eating too many fried bacon mac and cheese turnovers. I am not even kidding.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Theme3.77
#252Mood3.17
#309Audio2.97
#492Innovation3.05
#860Overall2.74
#896Humor1.63
#1023Graphics2.09
#1085Fun2.11
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

It fit the theme, has nice audio, and has a good mood, but that's about it. Everything else is a 1

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

I liked the central mechanice, though I think you should have eased the rate at which time was slowing more.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

I was sort of interested in the story, but i'm afraid it couldn't keep me interested enough to wait holding the spacebar for ten seconds over and over again. I like the atmosphere though, and a pretty good attempt for six hours ;)

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

Doesnt feel like a true game :(

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

I'm stuck on "We kept laughing" I held it for 100 and it still wouldn't let me pass.

Interesting idea, wish you had more time to build a game around it.

superjoebob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

I was worried this was gonna be really bad when I saw the mechanic, but I played arcade mode and I'm surprised how fun it actually is! I got 234556.

Alexander says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Great use of the mechanic, very cool and innovative!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Awesome. I like the creativity involved in turning a simple game into a deeper story.

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

This was very... Interesting. The gameplay wasn't the best, but I was honestly very hooked. The simple graphics and incredible audio made this game more of an experience. This was incredible. No doubt, 5/5

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48am

Very nice entry! I liked how it was so simple on the surface, but was really much more complex.

sparkleswirl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

@lulzfish_4: When you say "100" do you mean 10 actual seconds, or until the timer reaches 10.00? The game measures time by the timer and not actual time, and that stage has the biggest time offset.

HardScore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31am

Great sound, after a few tries it felt slow and i just quit, but i like what you tried to do there with the story.

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58pm

i love this. wow. a perfect little meditation.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59pm

lolololol nice story, nice atmosphere, but still feels like a trolling entry :D

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03am

Pretty fun. Interesting take on the theme too. Well done on the mood created with the words and audio!

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

the simple mechanics, writing and soothing atmosphere works really well together. the game makes me calm, contemplating. i like it.

N427 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Pretty neat and fun! Apparently I have an unfailing internal clock.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:18am

This is a fun structure. Nice work!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:05pm

The writing is excellent, and the gameplay gets reasonably challenging. I like how you made both a Story and an Arcade mode. On the whole, though, this game felt a bit minimal. (Maybe you should have made it for the last Ludum Dare.)

Good use of the theme.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:49am

I didn't have the patience to wait 10 seconds for every new sentence... there's like 2000 other games to play! Nice audio though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]