August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Capture the Massively Multiplayer Online Flag! A Real Time Turn Based game that happens in increments of 10 seconds.

by dcolgan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My entry CtMMOFRTTBS is an MMO action game happening in 10 second increments. Create an account (I only ask for username and password) to create a player in the game. The action never stops and everyone can play at the same time.

You have 30 or so seconds to decide what actions your player will take for the next 10 seconds of game time. Resting and turning take 1 second, while running and walking take 2 seconds. Running uses stamina, which can be replenished by resting.

Grass, dirt, and roads are nothing special. Rocks, trees, and shrubberies are not passable. Water and corn can not be run through.

Move over one of the three flags on your opponent's side to pick it up, and take it back to your side to score a point. If you are touched by an opponent while on their side, you will be returned to the spawn point for your team.

After you have chosen your 10 seconds of movements, the game resolves that round. Everyone's actions happen simultaneously. The first second of the 10 happens and any players that walked or ran on the first second move 1 or 2 squares respectively. The checks to see if you have captured the flag or are touching another player happen on each second.

Tested in the latest Chrome. Should work in any modern browser. Recommended screen size is at least 1366x768.

Thanks to everyone who watched the stream at http://twitch.tv/dvcolgan. I'll be starting my normal 4 hour a day or so streaming schedule again on Tuesday and will be playing LD entries for part of the time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#40Innovation3.97
#87Theme3.79
#126Overall3.60
#268Humor2.80
#286Mood3.10
#404Fun3.10
#451Audio2.73
#455Graphics3.05

Comments

Reevezy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34am

Made by a bald genius! Great fun.

Dooskington says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37am

Great game.

Reevezy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:05am

He involved the community in the testing of his game and it was very fun!

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23am

Really good game, watched the stream.

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35am

I love MMOs and I love CTF! Finally someone brought them both together!

technocf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46am

Epic, just epic!

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

wow, well, a MMO game! You scared me to certain extent. Nice job.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50am

I spawned in a solid green area and it told me I couldn't walk or run anywhere (through shrubbery). Hmm. Nice idea, though.

celeron55 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

It seems to work, but as nobody else is on the server, playing is kind of not possible.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00am

Nice work, would have loved a bit more user feedback with each turn (instead of just being placed to the new spot maybe you could have shown it per move)

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14am

I really like the use of the theme here, very original. The game has really nice polish to it too. I watched you streaming for a bit, really good job!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

I watched your stream for a bit and was definitely an interesting process with this one. Unfortunately, I don't think anybody was on when I tried it. Either way, good work!

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Saw this on stream, thought it was an interesting use of the tech you were using, nice job.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23am

This is a really fascinating game. It has a really cool concept and a very inventive use of the theme. I really like the way it plays, I just wish more people where online to play with.

Excellent job!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:46am

Very interesting game, wish I people playing with me.

ryebread761 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:53am

Good game, watched some of the stream.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Definitely would like to play a two-team game sometime. There's definitely a lot of possibility to this idea.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice work! I like the website design, and the game is a great idea! Shame about the bugs though, and could use a wee bit more polish to make improve its feel.

I had this bug where the chat kept deleting letters I typed, and there was this other one where it drew me in the previous place but my movement tiles in the correct place.

m110 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Really cool idea and totally fits the theme! Well made indeed. Also, your streams are totally worth watching. :)

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:30am

No one is playing with me D:
Great concept though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]