August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Low Memory

by wrongcoder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

----------------------------------------
Post-Compo Update
* Allows restarting the level at (almost) any time
* Pressing Enter starts transmitting immediately
* Final level difficulty tuned down a bit
----------------------------------------

The robot is not responding. Its controller has low memory. And you are too far away to fix it.

You must record 10 seconds of command input then transmit it to your robot. Fire thrusters, collect fuel, and make your escape.

The fate of the mission is in your hands!

There are ten levels, not including the three tutorial levels.

Note: the web version, while convenient, can run slower than the desktop version. The desktop version is recommended for slower computers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#28Innovation4.02
#37Theme3.98
#126Overall3.60
#351Mood3.00
#352Humor2.63
#373Fun3.14
#474Graphics3.02
#542Audio2.58

Comments

Gyncoca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

Really good job !

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50am

It's just like assembly programming! (well, it felt more like encoding a cassette tape, but you know what I mean)

Great take on the concept! Too bad the web version doesn't run any faster.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51am

Awesome idea. Gameplay is a little slow at times, Is there a way to prematurely end the transmission? I didn't need the entire 10 seconds for a lot of the time. But overall great idea and good job!

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

This game's pretty hard to get used to, but still really good. The idea's great too.

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

The 10 second recording time is part of the game. If recording the wrong command sequence leads to frustration, consider it incentive to get better at the game! ;)

For anyone attentive enough to be reading the comments, I have a cheat code to release. Press F2 to enable debug mode, then press F4 to enable direct control mode. This lets you fly the robot directly. Please use responsibly! You can press F2 to disable debug mode again afterwards.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

Very neat game. Recording the wrong command sequence leads to hilarity as much as it does to frustration.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

Cool idea. I'd love an option to end turn earlier, though. The game was innovative and hard, I liked that ;)

LittleThor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52am

Good job! Funny and very challenging game.

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15am

Excellent concept. Love it. Nice job.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

Nice and interesting concept. Works well

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Good idea! Very good game!

xfxian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Wow, really tough but cool idea and work!

mackthehobbit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Awesome game, loved the concept. Just about the best entry I've played so far.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Clever idea, and funny game! Just a bit boring to wait the end of the turn...

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Whoa, this is the most original concept i've seen so far!

Great job! :)

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

This is a very interesting concept, and a fun game! It's quite new to use controls and not have immediate feedback about what position the character's in.
Welll... Actually, it's not... That happens to me all the time when I turn my quality settings up too high in video games. Anyway, though, this makes simple challenges in platforming very difficult. It's like playing with your eyes closed and with no sound, and then being able to watch a replay of your performance.
My only complaint about this game is that it could use a way of resetting without waiting 10 seconds.

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Very fun and interesting concept. Felt like I was controlling the mars rover with the delay.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

Seriously challenging, but fun! The sound could get pretty annoying at times.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

I liked your game's concept. It's a fun, yet frustrating as hell game. I would love to send commands immediately, instead of having to wait forever (8s is too much time) to relay the next set of commands.

Another thing I would suggest: make it possible to only send the commands one time, instead of allowing multiple transmissions. Or at least make an achievement out of it...

Graphic-wise, the game was simple, and so were the graphics. No complaints on that section.

The audio was nicely done, with the jet engine sound and the beeping, but yet very, very simple. It was good enough.

The one thing that I disliked (ie: hated) the most in this game was the waiting times. I spent more time waiting for something to happen than actually playing. And the lack of a replay, or retry key/option.

All in all, good game 7/10, would play again.

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24am

Thanks for your comments everyone! I have released a post-compo update taking many of them into consideration. The playback time remains at 10 seconds because I think it would break the core mechanic of the game if that restriction is removed. Please give it a shot - but remember to rate based on the original.

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

A very strong entry. I agree that pacing is the weakness here but I suspect that it will be a matter of letting the player advance the action or detecting when the action should advance and not finding some magic length of time for the transmission. I do think that 10 seconds worth of commands is more than I would ever want to record so, if you do want to stick with theme later, I think I'd use the 10 seconds for "10 seconds of fuel" or "10 second delay between stick and robot (which I'm not required to wait through)".

The mechanic is fantastic. I actually haven't seen this one before. Very creative and enjoyable. It was fun to try to hone my predictive skills so that I could estimate what a quarter inch of burn on the timeline would translate to in motion.

Love it. Good example of an indirect control mechanic done very well.

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Too frustrating xD I think it could be a bit tighter on the controls and the level design made easier. Anyway, nice idea and great game. Hail roboticus!

ocmu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

Great idea; nice UI time bar.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:18am

I really like the idea. Very unique

crueltear says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Very funny game and the best usage of "10 seconds" theme I've ever seen!
Only I'd like if there is button to finish recording sequence.
Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]