August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Temple

by 3beards - Jam Entry

The fate of the world rests on your shoulders. You, a temple adventurer, need to find the hidden crystal so that its source of power can be unlocked for the rest of humanity.

Greg Fagan
C.J. Kimberlin

(Best viewed with Chrome! As in, we get a lot of problems on FireFox.)

Also, use 'space' to move past dialogues.

POST-COMP: We've added sound and made the screen shake less :).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#200Graphics(Jam)3.61
#240Fun(Jam)3.05
#257Mood(Jam)3.00
#261Overall(Jam)3.18
#293Humor(Jam)2.40
#353Theme(Jam)2.94
#402Innovation(Jam)2.69

Comments

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34am

Whoa. This game is hard but damn I like it.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04am

The character is pretty fun to move around and the jump feels nice. I wish the temple was darker; some music would go a long way to set the mood.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05am

Tight control and rad graphics; cool top-down platforming concept. Excellent!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08am

Argh, so many damn spikes XD
Pretty neat though.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10am

Some sound would have been nice maybe some rumbling to give a cue that the temple is falling.

Burhuc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29am

Fun and hard game! Good job.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35am

Hard but fair. I liked the shaking screen, it added a sense of urgency.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:06am

Oh man that camera shake got to me after a little while. :) Nice work, great visuals. Some audio would have been nice and I think it would have helped to have a countdown timer on screen but it's really polished otherwise.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09am

Nice work! I didn't fancy the screen shaking but the levels where nice to play and every of them felt different. I had no sound at all so I don't know if it was normal or not (was playing on Safari).

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10am

If only this game had music and sounds! This was awesome, I enjoyed every little bit of it. Really nice Link to the Past -feeling. :)

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11am

It's simply the type of game that makes me happy when I see. Just great, five stars!

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:13am

Reminds me a lot of ALttP. Great introduction of the 10 second time limit after basic mechanics have been properly established. Hope you guys can add sound in later.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:22am

Difficulty was great. I had to retry some of those escape levels an embarrassing amount. Well executed and I really like the animations on the main guy. Good Job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04pm

I like the jumping "hop" :)

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Well put together package. Gameplay was not very engaging, though. Could see this forming the basis for a deeper game similar to LttP.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42am

This was fun. The controls feel tight and I like the effect of the temple shaking when you're trying to escape. It gets really tough towards the end.

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:00am

Awesome! much easier to play from my desktop system and not on the big screen... shaking not so bad (but still annoying) on a non 30+ in screen. Awesome Job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice job - screen shake is a bit nauseating, but it does add some tension :)

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

Hard, but has an overall nice feel to it, especially with the precise controls!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Love top down games!!

Nights57 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:10am

Very cool sprites. I also thought that the dialogue was pretty funny. I couldn't get too far though : (

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Finished the game... Had some difficulties on avoid those spikes xD

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

Pretty difficult jumping puzzles and excessive screen shaking like others have stated but great visual style similar to snes Zelda. The second half of the game felt like Indiana Jones escaping a collapsing temple. Good stuff. Would like to see this expanded to a fuller temple!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Not much I can say to add to what others have said. Liked the game, not the shaking screen, I'm a bit dizzy right now.

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I liked the difficulty in this one. Some rooms are very hard.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Easy and straightforward game, but I liked it! Fun, short and sweet. Good graphics. COUGHZELDACOUGH

3beards says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:19pm

You should get that cough checked out ;P.

GFM says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:38am

I really liked the SNES like graphics!

I don't if it was my computer or the game itself... but at times it felt a little unresponsive (like, it would have a small delay before jumping or keep moving in a direction).

Other than that, nice game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]