August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Sec Glut

by Shivers - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Eat as many calories as you can in 10 seconds!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Graphics3.76
#146Humor3.21
#213Theme3.54
#573Audio2.52
#818Innovation2.62
#819Mood2.39
#954Fun2.41
#966Overall2.59
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10am

Hmmm, no linux version...

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

Looks good, interesting idea. I didn't feel like there was any skill involved in playing though, I was basically just mashing keys

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

nice idea but not fully functional.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27am

I loved the art, really cute game.

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

It's kind of fun and the graphics and audio are good but I don't know.. kinda got boring after 5 seconds.. :)

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

this could be a much more fun game if the physics worked a bit better. maybe look into box2d?

Stryphe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37am

Cute art. Interesting idea.

NorthernCrux says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Great graphical style! Especially like seeing the vacuous gullet. I'm a big fan of the "10 seconds of falling food" genre.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46am

My high score was about half my recommended daily allowance. Not bad for 10 seconds! Nice artwork.

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

Whoa! Hilarious game :-) It got me by surprise.

The game was fun, and pretty ridiculous. Some food was being created from below, which was a bit weird. If you removed some physics glitches, and added some "eating" sounds, this game would be even better :-)

Thanks for the game, this is me playing it: http://youtu.be/1Icv1TyRhoE

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

Lovely colors, but the game needs a 2D physics engine.

CNIAngel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22am

Fun game. Lots of bacon.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice art style.

Also: Bacon!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:26pm

It was an interesting idea - albeit one i think would have a better life on an touchscreen where you feel more like you are interacting with the tilting of the character. If the physics had a bit of re-work though it would make for a much smoother more enjoyable experience. Great idea tho and good job!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Love your artwork! It seems like I got a better score if I randomly bashed the keys around :) P.S.: How did you know my diet consists of bacon, eggs, and popcorn?!

Shivers says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:37am

Thanks! there is some method to the madness, like moving and positioning yourself to gulp more food down but I hope to fine tune the idea better in the future! :D

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:49am

Simple game that does the job! Nice job, looks like it could make a nice android game with a swipe action for head movement. I featured it in my Ludum Dare compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6xfnRK2Anw

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:24am

BACON!!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]