August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dinosaur Jr. vs the 1960's

by devi ever - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE : If you want to play this in windowed mode, just press F4.

My first real LUDUM DARE!

Thanks to everyone for the awesome love and support that made this first LD so fun, inspirational, and an unforgettable experience!

One final note about DIONAUR JR. vs THE 1960's... Even though I consider this game complete, given more time I would have liked to create two additional levels, one where you, as the Dinosaur, kill JFK, and another where you stop the moon landing. Maybe if enough people really enjoy this I'll consider expanding it with some free dino dlc. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#6Humor4.32
#34Audio3.74
#52Graphics4.11
#56Fun3.75
#79Mood3.61
#103Overall3.65
#260Theme3.48
#325Innovation3.30

Comments

Drakonid says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Dinousaurs that should rainbow beams? =D
Only one level? D=

epiplon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:38am

Haha, funny game. The style attracted me, beautiful psychedelic colors.
Too bad it's that short.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43am

That was fun! I kept hitting enter though and missed the credits screen twice :(

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54am

OH MY GAWD WHAT JUST HAPPENED. This made me laugh I liked it, though the text screens gave me a headache :(

SilentBunny says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01am

Great colour!

Keevor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

This was the game everyone was looking forward to playing.
Gameplay was fun, although the instructions were kind of hard to look at because of the colours.

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Awesome color scheme and graphics, loved the sfx too, good job!

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Must! Eat! Music! Legend!

"I have a big head... And little arms..." - T-Rex

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

Hahaha Nice game ! SO that's what you did with that funny dinosaur animation ;) Great work !

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44am

Well, it's definitely a unique concept! I really enjoyed the graphics, especially the color scheme. I would have liked it to be a bit longer though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44am

That was awesome on so many levels. How can you not love a game about a blue dinosaur noming on concentrated crowds of people.

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19am

Epic I love this

TheDreik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19am

Very fun game! It is a pity that the fun ends with a victory so quickly.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26am

Great concept

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

What a twist ending!

I spent a few minutes asking why this gust of wind wasn't letting me eat the stage, and I realized, I didn't eat enough patrons!

Fantastic colors and fun pixel art!

Perhaps adding a way to turn the dino around, or get the fans that are in the lower left corner of the stage would be good?

Truly gruesome! Great game!

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10am

Laughed a lot :D
Really cool game ^^

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

[Mark of approval]

panuo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58am

That was a fun little game, altough i would have appreciated a windowed mode. The instructions were bit harsh for eyes on 24" monitor :)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Awesome. Nothing to add.

Misfit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I Did IT! We need more levels! :D Cool psychedelic 60's color palette. Good job.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Wonderful

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59pm

ROFL! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars, that was hilarious! Great Job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04am

LOVE the Jimi Hendrix midi.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

Ok, that was way awesome.

loolpolo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42am

OH MY GOD... EPIC!

Gus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

[spoiler]
Did I just Rainbowned Jimi Hendrix?
[/spoiler]
60's psychedelic timetravelling nonsense? I love it
One of best entries in here, definetely.
I would totally play other episodes to come (moon landing's one mostly)
P.S.: "OR PRESS ESC TO ADMIT DEFEAT"
NEVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEER!!!

TimKaidem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59am

Bhahahh, that's sick :D

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:59am

RAINBOW!!!! Great visual feedback. The fans were delicious.

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46am

great game!
should be game of the year if it wasn't for mine ;)

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:05am

Haha I laughed out loud when the dinosaur shot his beam ^^
Sure it's only one level, but it's fun like that :)
Graphics and all are good too!

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

Pretty funny, and I do love squishing people as a T-Rex! Did fail it several times, cos the game says I've to eat Jimi, so I just ran to the stage and tried to eat him without realising there was a different goal.

sirdorius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Awesome idea, and the graphics are great. But it should have a challenge factor.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56pm

<3

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I failed a lot afted I tried to eat a lot of people, ha ha.
The ending twist is great.

Hendrix, I defeat you!!!!

wintermute says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

So great but so short! I want more! I want to eat more rockstars and more audience!
Graphics: 5, it's a dinosaur!
Audio: 5, it's jimi!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:17am

Woah! This is an awesome fist entry! Love the graphics, love the twist! I laughed

davidwparker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20am

Looks cool- make a web version please!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:21am

Excellent post-mortem and excellent game

devi ever says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25am

Thank you everyone! :D

@davidwparker : I've been considering getting into something like flixel... more and more and I am thinking game maker might be a poor platform to spend more time on. :/

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:27am

Really managed to capture Hendrix's look. Nice work.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31am

Funny game! The instructions were quite blinding though.

shubshub says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:32am

Great Game :)

ghostonline says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34am

Definitely one of my favourites!

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:38am

Cool graphics!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:39am

omg, yes! I don't think I ever lived until I experienced being a time-warping psychedelic t-rex! Thank you!

Kohijin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:43am

Hillarious setting and fell as you stomp through the crowd! When I found out how to finish the game, i was a bit confused though. Felt a bit random to me, but it suits the humorous tone i guess.

netmute says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:00am

I would love to play this, the art looks ace! Maybe consider a Mac version?

rujo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:29am

@devi ever:
if you want to go on something more similar to game maker but with a web output(html5) go on "Construct 2" its a really good software.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:34am

Cool and psychedelic. The crowd simulation and the sounds are really cool. Also the graphics and the fonts. Really good work.

flavio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23am

Hahaha ! This was completly psychedelic !
LSD TRex carnage !
Loved the crowd running away :)

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:51am

DAMNIT! I'm a lowly Mac user and can't play this game - but it looks like the best game ever made ever. Do you have a video of it? Looks so freakin' cool. Plus... Dinosaur Jr!

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05am

Damn you psycho T-Rex, why don't you eat Jimi Hendrix once and for all?

Nice idea and realisation, but please think of the azerty keyboard users...

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11am

If you made a collection of 10-second challenges like this and put it on Steam, I'd pay upwards of a few euros for it. A few euros!

Laguna says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:21am

Such a great game! I had really fun playing this one! Just freaked out enough to make me really laugh!
Graphics are strange but set the mood perfectly.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:24am

Great psychedelic stuff :)

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:56am

Short and sweet. Playing this painted a big smile on my face from start to finish. Perfect graphics and audio. Also the most satisfying stomping and eating mechanic since Rampage! Excellent work!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:30am

A knew it would be awesome from the beginning) And I was right)

MidCry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:15pm

nice graphic but there is no replay value ...
good job .

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Oh my god oh my god oh my god what have I just played to D8
friggin cool, now add more lazers and screenshake and rocket launchers and shotguns and space and unknown dimensions and aliens and else ...

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30pm

This is an awesome idea and graphics are delightfully bright and neony!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Haha that is so funny... I like this game... :) What about a next level, where dino has to eat the Rolling Stones :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:55pm

If dinosaurs_in_a_game == true then win = true end

cobrajs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Heh, very cool game. I have no idea how I got the rainbow beams though. Graphical style is excellent.

Gabriel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:53pm

This is very funny! For some reason it reminded me of McPixel (which is a great thing). Loved the nonsense feel, really feels like one of those old MTV crazy ads. I definitely think you should consider expanding it a little bit, at least so that it sums up to a 20 min experience or so. I would definitely play it! :D
Congratulations, really loved it!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Awww, this was great! The Hendrix music had me laughing :D Great graphics + play.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:37am

Yep, this game GETS ME.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Awesome AWESOME scene, I forgot it was 2D for a little while! Wow!

And the CGA dinosaur, AMAZING! Top marks all around! You rock as hard as Mr Hendrix does

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:34am

lmao that was hilarious, awesome job! It's a bit short though, could have used some more levels like you said, and it's quite easy to win... But the graphics were spot on, and I enjoyed it while it lasted. :P

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Hey, I feel like I've known you for some time (some LD-Jams and stuff), but never knew about certain "details", like this : http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/devi-ever-s-fancy-new-vagina
So I guess I know nothing... that's okay, these LDs are about learning stuff... So, good luck on that INDIGOGO project, i whish you all the best!!! (Saw this in the game by ANANASBLAU, he seems like a nice guy with a beard...)

Anyway, what i wanted to say is : I didn't really get you game, but I guess that's just me, sound was cool, anyway... I always liked your music! :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Sorry for talking this much, I had a beer or two...

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:43pm

*Vomits Rainbow*

klianc09 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:51pm

RAINBOWS!!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Liked the crazy art colors. Stomping around at the t-rex eating people was the fun part. Nice job for your first LD!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Nice pixel graphics, and the Mega Man warp in was a nice touch. At first I kept standing next to the stage and nothing would happen, but after a few tries I realized that you have to eat a certain number of people to trigger the "fatality" sequence.

Senevri says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I saw you work on this on Twitch!
A lot of fun for ten seconds.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Best god damn game. Love the trippy art! Also it has a dinosaur eating people. 5/5

cafeine says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:43am

Oh yes yes yes, very good! I'd love to see those extra levels you mention in you description.

Also, it's very cool seeing you here, I've been working on and off on a Disaster Fuzz clone (thanks a lot for sharing the schematics by the way).

Best of luck on your new creative endeavors!

awppy says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:43am

Didn't realize how to win the first couple times, but I got it eventually!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:18am

Very funny, but a bit too much simple.

JoaquinLNV says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very good, but short. I'd love to play more levels of this!

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:45am

After reading instructions I realized that.. Purple haze was in my brain :-D

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:53am

Love the concept and graphics. The game crashed on my second play through though.

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:43am

No idea what I just played, but it sure as fun whaha.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice idea, and cool graphics.

lightsoda says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Love the style and concept, quite fun.

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:42pm

That was pretty funny, the ending was hilarious, like the most dramatic ending i've ever experienced. The colours worked well for the play style and it was entertaining with very little interruptions. Nice work.

Ithildin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Brilliant!! I'm all for new psychedelic Dino DLCs :D

syawqy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:45am

t-rex+rainbow = win

Capro says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:49am

This is seriously fun! :)
Great work!

Cosr says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Really short, but I loved it. The screen shake and the stompiness gave a pretty good feel to it. Nailed the whole being-a-psychadelic-rainbow-trex thing.

(I did notice the stompy screen shake still happens if you're eating and not moving. That I noticed this could be a sign I'm playing it too much, though.)

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:13pm

DINAS SHATIN RANBOWS OUT DEM MOUFZ. Hahah. Very nice work. Nice sounds, good graphics, all around a pretty good game. (Completely original take on the theme, too!)

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:13pm

DINAS SHATIN RANBOWS OUT DEM MOUFZ. Hahah. Very nice work. Nice sounds, good graphics, all around a pretty good game. (Completely original take on the theme, too!) 8/10

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]