August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Zero-Zero

by Tigro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After years of fruitless idling, the humanity gains a once-in-a-lifetime chance to spectate the rise of the most anticipated (and the best, at that) game in its history. A game which proves that videogames too are a form of art and which is a new genre all by itself.

More than anything, it's a journey to the centre of your inner self. Help Blue break his weaknesses and be the first blue (not to be mistaken with Bluican-American) man to break the 10 second barrier at 100 metres dash. Only you can help him, possessing the most glorious skill exclusive to the mankind: rapid mashing of two buttons.

CONTROLS: mouse for the menu, mashing left and right arrow alternately for the gameplay. All there's to it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#352Humor2.63
#685Audio2.31
#1066Mood1.68
#1134Theme2.10
#1157Innovation1.85
#1169Graphics1.58
#1181Fun1.63
#1181Overall1.93

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Man, pleeease, make intro a bit shorter :)

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Loved it but didnt finish, my fingers hurt:)
Also, the music was great but a bit low? Didnt notice the sound at all at first.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Hell, that is some original idea! Alex (above) have right, intro could be a little shorter :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I don't understand it. The first time the blue man took over 60 seconds, the second time he walked backwards. Is this Michael Jackson?

3ndo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Exhausting.

Could do with a power gauge as it seems like input doesn't always get registered.

kratorspore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

I couldn't even get passed the first level. I suck. Pretty funny intro, I lol'ed

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04pm

What did I just play?!?

Tigro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:13pm

First of all, thank you all very much for all the feedback :)

Alex Shestakov, doonay21 - I always try to put emphasis on telling some (however simple) story. Couldn't resist, forgive me :D

Reicher - Yep, apparently the music is indeed quite low volume. Didn't notice it while rushing before the deadline, regretfully. Delighted you like it, though :)

Zerkruemler - If your first run resulted in >60s time, Blue levelled down so much that your acceleration became negative and he started moonwalking :) Additional motivation to not let yourself be much slower than the desired level time shown below each track's image in the menu ;)


Oh, and yep - the game may be quite demanding if one's not a fanboy of classic button mashers. A tip for those struggling: try to focus not only on speed but also accuracy as the game punishes heavily if you make a step mistake (left-left instead of left-right and vice versa) and you have to perform quite a few correct strokes afterwards to make up for the error :)

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Found it to be an overly difficult button masher. I tend to have an issue with having my sound effects too loud so it is nice to see somebody with the opposite problem!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Game was good, the intro was a bit long though.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Do you actually say "to cut a long story short" in the intro?? ;)

Lovely button-masher.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I, er.. that was something! Loved the humor but couldn't figure out how to get myself to the second level. Sounds were great :P

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

An interseting idea, I liked the levelling up idea. I think that it might have been better if the tracks were longer and the speed greater, so it doesn't seem so slow.

I did liked the music though - very cool.

Tigro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Thanks for all the comments and votes :)

Will Edwards - nope, there's a "keep" in there :) Glad you liked it.

johnl - yes, I fully agree about the need of the game being more fast-paced. I noticed it during development but decided to first finish everything else to make the game work as a whole and only mess with the levels if I have enough time left in the end. Since there were some two hours till the end and my eyes were begging for forgiveness, I decided to keep the tracks' length as is. Oh, of course it would also require weeks of work on the visuals since you can see that all of them are polished to the smallest detail... :D

bigbadwofl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very funny man, enjoyed laughing at you. cocaine!

Kad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I pushed every key that I could and clicked the mouse everywhere, and when the blue man finally moved, he went sliding backwards...

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:42pm

i like wierd stuff therefore I like your game

Tigro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:05pm

bigbadwofl, Arrow-x: thank you very much :)

Kad: if you pushed every key that you could, I'd guess that's the problem ;) The only thing you need to do is alternately mash left and right. If Blue started to run backwards, it means that you broke the pattern which resulted in an acceleration cut - if it was the beginning of the run, the punishment may have been higher that the momentum you created before so he started moonwalking. Had you kept a good streak after that, he'd have gone in the right direction :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Yeah, like I have all night to watch that blue guy talk and talk and talk, without being able to skip that scene ... great idea! :P

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Fun concept!

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:43am

I'm not sure this was working right for me; it seemed like, no matter what I did, my dude just wandered off the left side of the screen and never came back.

Tigro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:14am

Darien - perhaps your mashing resulted in a few mistakes which greatly lowered his acceleration, to the point that it became negative as I described above. If you wish, you could try going left-right-left-right really slow and work your way to fast mashing at your own pace - I'm sure Blue will go the right direction then :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I could not play

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:12pm

The sound was definitely interesting!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:37am

5 for humor ;)

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:38pm

What are the commands? Lol, that intro is too long.

Congrats on making a game, but I didn't even manage to figure how to play it :-(

Well, I liked the doo-dee-doo.

Here is the video review:
http://youtu.be/RuunMqtryAw

Tigro says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Haha, thanks :D

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:08am

Definitely enjoyed playing this. The humor (especially the music) made up for any shortcomings in gameplay. Keep on making stuff like this.

Tigro says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:52am

Means a LOT to me, thank you :)

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:22pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLQ5Hdv-sGw - My first impressions on the game ^^ (Seriously, skip intro feature!)

Tigro says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Thanks a lot :) The lack of intro skip was done purposefully - I'd doubted anyone would play it more than once and so just wanted them to feel into the style the game is kept in during the first playthrough ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]