August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Diesel May Care: Quest For The Ten-Second Car

by nintendoeats - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Vin Diesel needs a ten-second car. As James May, you are tasked with getting it. Since all the Top Gear money is gone, your gonna have to steal some parts!

The interface at first appears complex, but the game is actually fairly simple. Can you find the secret ending?

P.S. If you like the title screen music, please mention it :)

******If you've tried the game and can't figure it out, here's how it works******

Black Screen: Click on parts inside the car being ripped off to take them. This takes time. GTFO before you get caught!
Blue Screen: Click on parts in the parts list to put them on your car. This also takes time.

Build a ten-second car and call Vin Diesel when you are ready for him to test it out!


// bugFix: GTFOing during job would break further ripoff attempts. Fixed.
// bugfix: Some text was not being cleared between scenes. Fixed.
// featureAdd: You can now skip the intro video by pressing escape

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#30Humor3.93
#187Innovation3.55
#387Mood2.95
#392Theme3.33
#451Fun3.05
#511Overall3.10
#552Audio2.56
#1097Graphics1.90

Comments

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28am

is there anyway to skip the intro?

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

frankbsad: Nope, wasn't really time to integrate that. Why do you want to skip it may I ask?

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

made me laugh very good

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

I had to GTFO mid-way through ripping a part - now, if I go back and try to rip another part, it stays stuck at the percentage of the rip I gave up on.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

FacticiusVir: Thanks, looking into it

Filth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

The interface is very confusing but an interesting take on the theme.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

What?!

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42am

The intro is just kinda long and playing it I didn't want to watch it all again when I was replaying it.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44am

frankbsad: Makes sense. I'll try to throw up a post-compo "you can skip the intro" version tomorrow.

I should have seen this coming, I had the same problem with my last entry :p

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20am

Liked the story. I like Top Gear. What can go wrong with this game? Removing the brakes from a car. So kids, whatever you do, don't remove the brakes.

There's plenty of humor in this game, specially for Top Gear fans. The interface seems daunting at first, but you'll figure your way out sooner than you expect.

Crash testing cars was never so fun.

Rating: 7/10 would play again.

cardboard says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36am

Bahahahaha! The graphics were bad in a traditional sense, although the style adds to the wonderful humor in the game (which I will get to later). Some of the text overlays (specifically the winning/losing screens) were overlayed on top of other text, making them difficult to read. I lost the game at first (because I was unsure calling Vin would mean my car gets tested once and for all) and having to watch the intro a second time wasn't as enjoyable. It wasn't annoying, as it was still plenty funny, but just something to consider. It didn't feel to me as though the spacebar didn't do anything. it took me awhile to figure out that I needed to assign the parts after I ripped them. I got a little confused as to why I wasn't getting the parts I ripped. (I wasn't paying attention to the main screen, just rushing to rip parts off of cars!) The interface seemed confusing at first, but it isn't too complicated and made sense after very little time (probably about ten seconds actually). I found the intro very funny. The sound effects were all spectacular. *cricks neck* Failing miserably and listening to a car speed up for over 40 seconds is oddly amusing. The texts telling me what the car owner's were doing were funny, and varied enough to not get too repetitive. Ripping parts off of owners' cars when they were returning could get suspenseful. When I beat the game (with a time of 5.91 seconds) I felt as though I accomplished something. Very nice game.

Jorqell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

Quite an interesting idea, and the game was actually fun. The interface was OK. However, I don't think hitting space did anything.

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Overall: the possible winner of "Humor" category?

Innovation: Modified "upgrade-and-run-forever" game. Partially original.

Fun: start is confusing but then, you can't stop!

Theme: nothing to blame.

Graphics: awfully bad! Just look at the intro! So, sadly 1/5, but who cares if every other aspects of the game is adorable?!

Audio: silly and hilarious sounds everywhere.

Humor: *warning! variable overflow*

Mood: ehm...what should I feel? I mean, I don't have any pianos. nvm

sittaman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Great game 5*, the ten second car pun was priceless!

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Good idea, but could have been done much better. If the graphics weren't just a bunch of scribbles slapped in my face I'd probably understand what I need to do better

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55am

Very entertaining. Like watching a great prank unfold. "Problem. Solved." Great humor, 5 stars on innovation and fun. I laughed and had fun.

You've seen graphics complaints a few times now, let me be more specific: I think the interface design concept is adequate (though the layout is a bit busy) but the pixelated low-color art juxtaposed with the perfect antialiased text feels bad.

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05am

Very fun. Can't believe I killed James May!!! Good use of the theme too.

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:09am

Think I broke your game, got into test with no car and then click esc and then click and all the menus started to stack up while I played.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

@Tork: I would very much like to fix that, but I can't quite work out the conditions you are talking about. What you you mean by "with no car"?

h_double says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

This is completely amazing. Awesome humor, love the concept, like that the car tuning was think-y without being super difficult. Beaten with a 8.67 time in about 20 hours game time.

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24am

I think it's a pretty interesting concept, though it could use some more helpful feedback on the interface - stuff to help call out which part you have on your car if it's in the list of available stuff, and maybe feedback to more easily compare if something is an upgrade, downgrade, or sidegrade. I also didn't realize I had to go back to the shop to actually install the parts first. Once I figured out what I was doing I thought the concept was pretty interesting, nice job!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

Gave me a few laughs :)

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Funny and really well made. Intro was nice. The game itself was a bit hard to get but was a nice concept

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

This was fun! The idea is great, graphics and sound may need some TUNING... Would love to see more!

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

8.21!

The main screenshot scared the heck out of me, but it was as straight forward as advertised once I got into it. The mechanic was fun in itself (although I never understood if I had any way to affect how much time I had available during rip-off sessions). Where the game really shines is the writing, excellent work. You had me laughing throughout. :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33am

Its the first game I've played with an intro. Its quite humorous. Love the play on the theme. Good Job!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:39am

I eventually understood how to play it, however I think I broke it =/ and it ended up in some weird state in which the game basically reset. Good job though, I do like the concept and can appreciate the humor!

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42am

It was hard to understand how to play, still great job!!

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16am

Super funny, I <3 James May

Yell0w says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Lovely! Vin Diesel you have yourself a 8,74 second car! I won at the game but i still dont know the controls properly :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Kind of a confusing game for me personally, but I did enjoy it. I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:49am

I... I DID IT! FINALLY HE HAS BEEN PURGED FROM THIS EARTH!

jujule says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Just wonderful. As a Win Diesel + Top Gear fan, I'm just too happy I could play a game with such an improbable background. I really got into the gameplay mechanic too. Really, really, really.
Just a side note : I thought the game was buggy ( parts I stole would not appear ) until I realized you can scroll down parts lists. You should mention it in game description.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

The interface stays complex throughout the game. It's not the interface that appears to be simpler later on, but the gameplay itself, in my opinion. I would make the numbers easier to compare by giving corresponding parts the same color or using more symbols or icons. Following the lines was a bit confusing.

I do like the idea though. I havn't watched either top gear or gone in sixty seconds, so I can only assume the game is even funnier than it already appears to be.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]