August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Story O' Dare

by Static 64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, I didn't want to make a Wario Ware-style collection of minigames, but that's what I did, with a little twist.

Story O' Dare tells the tale of a 48 hour game design contest and what designers experience throughout the process.


Play through 10 second minigames relating to each stage of the LD competition, from the initial "I'm In!" blog through to submitting your game.


==Spoilers==


To solve each puzzle (spoilers below):


1. Click on the keys to spell "I'm in" including spaces and punctuation.

2. Click on every cow.

3. Click on the desk area and the pizza box.

4. Click the refresh button a lot.

5. Drag the papers to the trash.

6. Click on the potatoes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#113Humor3.33
#647Innovation2.83
#773Theme2.92
#805Fun2.64
#850Overall2.75
#875Mood2.29
#955Audio1.35
#979Graphics2.14

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:07pm

A joke entry I suppose?

Static 64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

No, why would it be a joke?

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03pm

I'm not sure this game works properly, or I am doing something wrong? Whenever I try to do something it tells me I missed the deadline, whether I let the time run out, or I click anywhere on the keyboard...

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Great game but i think the first game is really to hard.

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

@Mekuri, you have to type "I'm in" for it to work, as the sort of standard Ludum Dare entry blog title.

Animated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33am

Quite challenging, but not a bad idea.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33am

LOL, very fun and funny game! 4 stars from me!

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

Thanks to everybody who's played and commented so far!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16am

Heh, I would say there's not enough programming minigames, but I don't think those would be doable in 10 seconds. :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07pm

You should not put such clear instructions how to finish the game :P I like this one, it is special in its special way ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Very identifiable theme ;)

Kind of sad that it didn't accept my toilet photo...

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Thanks again to the further commenters.
@doonay21 - Do you mean the title screens or the ones in the description above?

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

In an earnest attempt to actually provide constructive feedback: I wish that it had sound, or at least music.

Typing into on-screen keyboards is hard.

But yes, that is kind of what LD is like.

kratorspore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Keyboard didn't seem to work for me?

choqaae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Very clever!

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39pm

@ nintendoeats - So do I. I wanted to add sound, but just didn't have the time.

Thanks for the feedback; I appreciate it.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Would never have figured out how to play this without the spoilers.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41am

Dude, that was awesome. Not only did you get the Wario Ware theme in (which I love), but made it super relevant too. Loads of it is so true too, refreshing quickly to get the theme. I was franctically searching #LD48 on twitter :P .

I think you need to learn how to mash potatoes again though! That looks more like peeling to me! :P

whiteravens says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:15am

It's great, the first puzzle is just too cryptic and trial and error based (without the solution spoilers)

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:34pm

This was a really cute package of games! I didn't find the first game too cryptic at all, but I did try typing on my real-life keyboard once or twice first. XD

Gonzo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:01pm

As already mentioned, a little bit of sound would have been great, but otherwise: Funny game!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Can't play windows games :-(

shard123 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:58am

Really entertaining and unique! Nice work

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Hey! This explains how LD work. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]