August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Run Buddy

by Perspicacity1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Guide Run Buddy home in 10 seconds!

Don't worry, he's pretty fast.

Probably.

(I got my core game done and then started to add an idea well beyond the scope of my time limit so part of it may not seem finished. But then again, maybe not. The last thing I wanted was to miss the deadline because of upload times.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#396Humor2.56
#771Audio2.11
#831Mood2.37
#944Theme2.68
#962Fun2.38
#1021Innovation2.24
#1068Overall2.43
#1110Graphics1.86

Comments

garygreen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:01pm

I couldn't get very far with this. Every time I moved it went to the screen to buy extra skills/powers/health, but no matter what I bought I could only move for about a second.

feyleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29am

This was pretty good. Reminded me of DLC Quest mixed with Jetpack Joyride. I would have liked it if the collision was a little more accurate, but after a number of tries, I did get Run Buddy home. :)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I liked the upgrade system, it was a very good idea but easily you get so powerful that the main objective stops being a challenge, exploration, searching for diamonds and getting to weird areas are the best point of the game.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Made me smile :)

olafurw says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Collision detection is terrible, would always hit the spike, even though I wasn't even close to it, and the reset could be a lot quicker, but otherwise its good.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

Fun little game, I really liked the upgrade system (It's fun to be able to get overpowered!) The collision is a little wonky, spikes can kill you from pretty far away.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

Sorry but I was having a unplayably low framerate in both Safari and Chrome on my machine. Not sure why that would be but no one else in the comments has mentioned it yet so maybe I'm an outlier...

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

That was cute :D ... Though it lags (I hope it's not only me xD ... Tried this at Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox) and the collisions are weird.

Unept says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Lag kept me from playing it. Sounds like similar issues. Locked up in upgrade menu. Also, CURSE THAT FIRST SPIKE!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:23am

Really crude but charmingly fun.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:34am

I mistakenly opened up your console by mistake I think. was rather confused for awhile. fun game, was a bit laggy for me on chrome

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:19am

I think it starts too slow (takes a lot of deaths and retries to upgrade yourself to the point where you can get past the first obstacle). The fact you mixed the theme with this genre (incrementally upgrade your character to go further and further into the game) is actually genius though.

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:20am

i had some real slow weird bugs in safari, I played in chrome and it was better. nice work.

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:23am

Collision was a bit off, but I still had a lot of fun with this game. I am usually not one for these games but this one has some sort of charm. Music got a bit repetitive however.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:39pm

The game is fun, but collision boxes are a bit hard :D
Good game!

mutilator says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:30am

really hard to get very far, wasnt sure if there was an ending

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:44pm

too buggy to play : /

udo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Very cute! However, the controls are so wonky it's kinda difficult to really play.

Alexander says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:33am

framerate!

Grafter says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Good little game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]