August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dr. F. R. Eak's Abduction

by Core43 - Jam Entry

"When Doctor F. R. Eak was finished building his latest diabolical invention, a laser turret system,
the mayor showed up and demanded that the (slightly evil) doctor hand over the controls for safekeeping.
The doctor refused at first, but when the mayor said he'd give the doctor just 10 seconds to comply,
he did as he was told. The mayor always counted to ten and took Doctor Eak's inventions; it had always
been that way. But this time was different. Doctor Eak finally snapped, and decided to take matters
into his own hands. He wanted to expand his tower of evil, but needed materials and mindless slaves.
On top of all this, he wanted hamburgers. Using the alien spacecraft he had discovered a few weeks
prior, the doctor set out to conquer the world."

UPDATE: Increased laser range/decreased frequency of shots. (This makes the game a lot more difficult.) Also added mouse support to some parts of the game menus that didn't.

NOTE: I realize that it seems like I didn't really follow the theme. Putting it into the backstory instead of the game itself seemed like the only way to finish a game in time at all, because I was forced to start over halfway through. I would rather have a game that I could call complete than no game at all. That said, feel free to give me 0 stars in the theme rating if you feel the need to do so. =p

Your goal is to abduct everyone and everything; steal 9 houses, 6 silos, and 10 cows to demonstrate
your superiority over all.

Use WASD to navigate your craft around the map. Use the arrow keys to adjust the camera/rotation.
Use the spacebar to activate your beam (to abduct) once you have something positioned underneath it.

For those running Windows, just run drfreaksabduction.exe

For other operating systems, you'll need to get Blender 2.68a (or a newer version) from blender.org
Once you have Blender installed, just open run_drfreaksabduction.blend
(If for some reason it doesn't start once Blender opens, try pressing the P key)

Known problems:
Some older graphics cards or ATI graphics cards may not display correctly or work at all.
There is a large lag spike towards the beginning of actual gameplay; just give it a moment and the
framerate will return to normal.

-----

Just a side note: I used the BGE again this time because I didn't feel that I was experienced enough with
Unity to make a full game in such little time. Maybe next time. =p
I wish I could've made the game longer, but I had to start almost completely over halfway in due to
un-fixable lag spikes.


Thanks for trying out Dr. F. R. Eak's Abduction!
Created by Jonathan Fischer (Core43)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#132Humor(Jam)3.03
#175Audio(Jam)3.19
#200Graphics(Jam)3.61
#257Mood(Jam)3.00
#306Fun(Jam)2.90
#389Overall(Jam)2.90
#423Innovation(Jam)2.63
#602Theme(Jam)1.50

Comments

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42am

Piloting a flying saucer with a tractor beam was a lot more fun than I thought it would be. Unfortunately I don't see how the game relates to the theme.

Core43 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08am

Yeah, as far as the theme goes, it's more about the backstory than the actual game itself. This theme was hard to work with. =/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10am

Fun game, but the link to 'ten seconds' is very tenuous - unless I'm missing something?

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

I like the presentation, graphics and controls, but the actual game play is a bit dull. Some sort of counter to show how many buildings/cows are left to harvest would have be good. Some other mechanic, such as dropping buildings on turrets to destroy them would have been welcome. Nice work overall though! Lots of potential there, extra levels, opponents, etc.

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20am

There was not much of a challenge, as the turrets seem to be useless against me. Other than this, I really liked how it looks - well done!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39am

Another game with nice audio. Game somewhat funny and seems finished, but where is theme relation? Overall not bad :)

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43am

Flying Saucer and graphics are cool, physics also pretty cool!

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44am

Like others have said, there's no connection to the theme whatsoever...

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48am

As some people allrdeady mentioned: This are some short-range Laser-Towers.

But Game is nice. The idea is very cool. And the moo's x)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49am

Nice game. I like the graphics. It was fairly fun to play once or twice, but it gets a bit tedious after that. I did manage to beat the game on my third try, once I got the hang of it.
I think you got away too easy with the theme though.

VardGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

impressive for only 72hours, fantastic job. UDK?

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02am

Couldn't figure out how to launch it on Mac even though I've got Blender. Blend files just open the scenes in Blender, and exe is a wrong executable file for Mac. Couldn't play :-(

Core43 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Thanks for commenting, everyone who has so far. I'll be taking everything I can into consideration. :)

@Sergey Mohov
The .blend file is supposed to open Blender. It's also supposed to start immediately, but if it doesn't, does pressing "P" or clicking Game>Start Game Engine work?

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I loved the graphics. Sucking up cows caused me great happiness. It was a little weak on the theme though, apart from the off hand reference to it in the story.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Fun game. I couldn't get the game linking with the theme though.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:25am

I like the graphics and audio, the gameplay is simple but those turrets are really challenging!

You should keep using the BGE!!! =)

someone says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:04pm

That was cool, the turrets were a pain.
Not much to do with the theme though.

Qaterknan says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:04pm

This is quite funny game, shame you don't get some sort of points for abducting the items. The evil laughter is great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]