August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10TICK

by Forstride - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10TICK is a fast-paced, arena-style TDS. Your goal is to stay alive as long as possible, avoiding hazards, and collecting more time. To get more time, you must shoot targets to make potted plants appear.

If you shoot a green potted plant, the timer will reset back to 10. If you shoot a golden potted plant, the timer will freeze for a short period of time. If you shoot a purple potted plant, the timer will go down by 1 second.

If the timer reaches 0, you explode, and have to start over.

Controls:

WASD - Move
Shift - Slide
R - Restart
Left Mouse Button - Shoot
Right Mouse Button - Smooth Aiming

Made with Game Maker: Studio Standard.

(Source is included in the download)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Graphics3.88
#365Overall3.25
#378Theme3.35
#451Audio2.73
#476Fun3.00
#667Innovation2.81
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Man, this is hard! I like the basic idea but it took me ages to realise I needed to hit the targets and then back into the middle of the map. Those gun turrets are pretty lethal.

Dwel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I like the idea, however a certain part (intentional or unintentional) made it a big pain. To complete it, you kinda have to scout the area and then plan the best path. However, the turrets don't seem to reset to ther initial rotation on death, so it became a "find the best route and pray the turrets are looking the other way". Could have used a more zoomed out camera due to that.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Good graphihcs. The blood looks nice.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Really liked this one! Very original idea!

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Cool idea, very well designed. It's pretty hard!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Very hard game! I wouldn't mind that, but I think the turrets make the game unneccessary difficult. It's hard to notice where they are and where they are aiming until it's too late.

Otherwise the game was pretty well done.

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11am

Wow, this was a lot harder than it looked - fun though!

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

nice

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:43am

Could use some ingame instructions, but fun concept (why do you shoot plants LOL)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]