August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Film Leader

by aquilicoco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UP key - JUMP (more press = higher jump)
Left key - move left
Right key - move right

Tools:
Construct 2
Aseprite
bfxr.net
hightrack.me

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#173Theme3.63
#218Graphics3.52
#309Humor2.70
#333Mood3.04
#497Overall3.11
#538Fun2.94
#634Audio2.40
#811Innovation2.63

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

I played some earlier versions during the weekend and it's a very fun game. It's easy if you are not collecting the frames in the correct order and quite hard once you try to do that, it keeps you searching the screen for the one which is animated. Great game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Fun little game! :)

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Thanks @ludipe for been the beta tester :)

@zedutchgandalf thank you!!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Simple nice game.. good job!

bufbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Very nice ! good theme choice !

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Nice game with old school look & feel. Too bad there is no background music :)

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Good game though I found it quite annoying that your jump stops as soon as you press a directional key cause I always forget that and miss the jump :P

FatBasic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Good job with this fun little game :)

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Cool little game. Nice interpretation of 10 seconds theme.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Thanks @Dioiminik. It's a bug that happens when you collide with a solid. Working to fix it :D

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Wow, that is challenging. I like it. I especially like the art style!

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

oh this reminds me of playing a lot of Bombjack ! movement is a bit slow for my taste, but I guess it fits the gameplay! very nice :)

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Good effort! The jump feels a bit "floatey" or slow and that bug that Dioiminik mentioned really makes it hard/frustrating to complete some of the stages. Unfortunately I couldn't beat/finish it.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15pm

As have already been mentioned, the floaty physics are a bit frustrating. But I also think that they add an interesting aspect to an otherwise simple challenge.
Cool little game, I love the silent film frames between the levels, nice work!

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Despite numerous attempts, I couldn't get past 3000. :(

The core mechanic fun once you get used to the controls, but the film rolls were annoying. Do they move randomly? They always seemed to be in places that made it hard to finish the level, and then I had to start over from scratch.

The graphics and presentation was nice. Surprisingly tense and addictive. :)

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Cryovat Thanks for playing.
The order is always the same, so you can adjust the strategy in every new replay.
Easy to play, but difficult to master :D

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14am

I'd love to see the animation in the order its collected between each level, but otherwise a fun game =D

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

A short and cute game, I got up to level 6. The jumping seems off in some way - it was difficult to get to the higher pieces. I like the idea of the film ticker counting off the seconds.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice idea and theme! The jumping works in little funny way and it took me a moment to realize it needs to be held down. But otherwise this was interesting and fun little game.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

moon jump lol, funny

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Art is very polished and the protagonist is very lovely. With music the game will be great! but i think you must be proud with the results! :)

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Good idea. it took me awhile that I should avoid the film rolls, More clarity and failing sound effect would make that clearer.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

@Nezzhil thank you :)

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:33pm

@Xgor thanks. Good idea for the postcompo version

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Very good game and especially for the graphics around cinema theme.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I love your graphic design but, the gameplay is a bit too "spatial". Your guys is on the moon :-)

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:48pm

I like the idea and the simple but efficient graphics
It took me a while to get to the big jumb
Liked it :)

deepnight says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:12pm

The jump physics is a bit odd but the game is fun to play :) I liked a lot the hidden scoring system (with the animated pictures)

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33pm

I liked the style you used. The jumping was a bit floaty... but that was probably intentional. Best implementation of the theme so far, and it was nicely polished. Keep up the good work!

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:05am

loved the olde timey presentation! the movement was really quirky, but that added to the feel of the game. great job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Cool game! Very nice presentation touches, with the film countdown and the silent movie style caption borders. Really neat. I found the platforming controls a bit weird to deal with. Oh the mechanic with getting the pictures in order is interesting as well. Nice job.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Not sure it it's me but I had a hard time with the jump.

drilltail says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:30am

I like that you essentially swim through the air.

On some levels, particularly 4 and 5, I feel that you start too close to enemies. On level 4, I once died while holding left, then died two more times immediately after respawn because I didn't let go of the key quickly enough.

Nice graphics; I like the consistent film theme!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Very good! It gets repetitive quickly, but overall it's really well executed. Congrats!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:49am

Good feel.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:19am

Great use of the theme... I like this game :D

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:58am

nice pixelart, and solid controls. :)

Jesse Freeman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:24am

Fun little game. I found the controls a little too "floaty" which is a pet peeve of mine in platform style games. Would love to see what you do with it after.

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:42am

Cute and fun.

Kept redirecting me to 'whatbrowser.org' in between games for some reason. Now that's a strange bug.

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:54pm

@motty Thank you. what browser are you using? :) Yes, it's very strange

Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:18pm

The collision is a bit brutal on this one and the controls are a bit strange but it's a really good idea and I like the art style a lot. It's a shame the main guy is blurry though because he looks like he's drawn really cool.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:00am

Citing zedutchgandalf: Fun little game! :)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:12pm

The film look with the title screen and the texts is pretty great - as is the highly visible and perfectly fitting timer. I also liked the ingame graphics a lot!

jay griffin says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Cute game, plays well and I love the chunky graphical style mixed with those silent-film style interludes. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]