August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bomb Disposer

by glocks - Jam Entry

Version 1:
- The game is there, I want to improve on the writing. Don't know how much I can do in the next 24 hours, but we'll see.

How to play:
Defuse the bomb by reading the story snippets and figuring out which order to cut the wires.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Theme(Jam)4.05
#29Audio(Jam)3.86
#50Mood(Jam)3.72
#63Innovation(Jam)3.60
#249Overall(Jam)3.20
#324Fun(Jam)2.85
#405Graphics(Jam)2.85
#1970Coolness0%

Comments

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

The music and deafening explosion captivated me! If you continue to develop this, in the text, have you considered starting with obvious clues about which wire to cut first?

glocks says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Yeah you're right, it has a pretty steep learning curve immediately. I need to make the beginning easier to decipher and get the player in the mindset of what to identify in the story bits. Thanks for the feedback!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Great game! Took me a while to figure out the clues, but after that it was a really good game.

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10am

This game is awesome!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18am

Fun idea! Captures the stress nicely

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

I'm not fond of the gameplay, but the sounds are pretty cool, good job.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:05am

Very interesting. A bit stressing. I got up to 4 wires but gave up, since you have to restart the whole thing every time.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

Great atmosphere, especially music, but I couldn't figure out how to find clues when I reached 3 wires (as I didn't detect anything in the precedent texts), and I don't feel like restarting the whole game (part of which because of the harsh boom-sound I believe, even if it was a really interesting choice). Your work is great and very stressful, I just think I can't handle it proprely to be honest.

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Wow! My favourite so far. A really intense experience with excellent writing, perfect audio and graphics (although these last were very basic, I think they had to be in order to recreate the intense focus needed for the task) and really satisfying, cerebral gameplay. You expected far more of the player than simple reactions or spatial logic, something really unusual in games, and I'm hugely impressed by the way you managed to mesh the story with the gameplay so perfectly.

I did complete the game, at least I think I did (it stopped after I'd cut four or five sets of four wires) but I just got a black screen at the end. Is this intentional?

Anyway, I can't mark this down at all. Thank you for a phenomenal experience.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Wow, this was a fantastic entry. Amazing aesthetics - very emotive... which is incredibly impressive for an LD game.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

Nice entry. Very cool mechanics, but kinda hard. I got really tense because I wanted to read calmly but, well, it's impossible hehe I loved the idea and a think this could be on mobile. Maybe if you do a background story to get the player more interested in really reading the texts.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

Loved the shell shock effect. Stressful and fun to play. Decoding the snippets was a great addition, the deduction from them had this humorous feel to them. Great and solid entry.

glocks says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Thanks for all the comments & feedback everyone! I was only able to work on this for 24 of the 48 hours because of my job, but all the positive feedback is motivating me to make this into a fuller, better game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]