August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Gooback

by iambored2006 - Jam Entry

************************************************************
POST-COMPO!
The new version adds SFX, keys, switch blocks, save files, rebindable keys and new levels! Don't miss it! More updates forthcoming.
************************************************************

10 SECOND GOOBACK! Work your way to the door at the end of each level by using your amazing gooback powers!
Every 10 seconds, a block is spawned where you're standing, and you are transported back to where you were five seconds ago. Forgot where you were five seconds ago? Don't worry! An imprint is left where you stood, so that you always know where you will be transported!
Spawn and use blocks to reach otherwise unreachable places, bend your mind to achieve the unthinkable, race against the clock to get to the door in time. 4 cool levels to boggle your brains and twist your fingers!
Not enough levels?! Don't worry! A user-friendly level editor is built-in for your amusement and pleasure! Place objects in a level (1 for player, 2 for door, 3 for block, 4 for key, 5 for switch-block), test it (t), save and share it with your friends (Disclaimer: saving may induce severe crashes).

Controls: arrow keys for movement, escape to restart, enter to skip to the next level. When testing a level in the level editor, escape to return to the editor. In the editor, escape to return to the menu.

Post-mortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/09/01/10-second-gooback-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#204Innovation(Jam)3.17
#255Theme(Jam)3.17
#386Fun(Jam)2.68
#472Humor(Jam)1.58
#500Overall(Jam)2.63
#518Audio(Jam)1.31
#541Mood(Jam)1.96
#592Graphics(Jam)1.83

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Doesn't work on osx :(

iambored2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

Testing it on my Dad's Mac. Could be the Java version. I'll update his and let you know if it works. Sorry :(

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Works fine on windows but I dont hear any sounds. Is there any?

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:30pm

blocked on level 2

zn01wr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Good concept, but I'm blocked in the 2nd level because my screen is not large enough :( No sound on ubuntu either

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

A nice game concept, and I liked that you included a level editor. I thought the character horizontal speed and jump height were a bit too fast, which made it quite hard to control.

PS. Am I being ridiculously stupid for not being able to complete the third level?? I can get stuck in the far left corner, but not get through the hole in the floor...

iambored2006 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Nope, there aren't any sounds. I might include some SFX in the post-compo version I'm working on.
@gre, are you blocked because of a bug? If not, here's a hint- the player is exactly the size of a tile, so when you're trying to enter a narrow, one-tile hole, you need to use the environment to be pixel perfect.
@zn01wr, I'm really sorry about that, I hate it when this happens. Nothing I can do, though.
@tombsar, I fixed that bug (stupid rounding mistake, 63.999999 is not smaller than 64!), but I can't change the current version, can I? Anyway, the third level is a variation on the puzzle in level 2, you just have to use the environment to place yourself in the right spot.
Thank you, everyone! This feedback really means a lot!

tombsar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:35pm

@iambored2006 The bug is so minor that a) I don't think it is worth uploading a fixed version, and b) it falls within the rule that allows you to fix small mistakes after the deadline.

Thanks for the hint; turns out it was just me being stupid! :)

iambored2006 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34pm

OK, so I'll just upload a post compo version. Thanks!

Meep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Was a little difficult to control IMO, but overall nice idea! :)

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I can't get farther on level 2. Nice implementation of the theme, good idea!

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:45pm

The game was enjoyable, but it reminded me quite a bit of seppukuties.

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Nice mechanic, but need a little more context / setting.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

DEY TOOK MER JERRRB!
Nice mechanics, though movement speed is a tad too fast to control for me.
Good job!

Mjiig says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Using fedora linux and I get a divide by 0 error and it hangs with no window open when I run it.

iambored2006 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:11am

No idea. Seems like there's a lot of problems running the game on Linux. I don't have a Linux machine to test on, so I really can't help you. Sorry.

codifeye says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:56am

Interesting concept, took a while to get used to but I found the controls a bit frustrating. Maybe try making the block size larger and the jump speed lower. Nice job with the theme.

cwkx says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Nice little entry, I liked playing with the bundled level editor too :)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:51am

Found the game to be a bit buggy and the controls a bit frustrating, but a good entry over all. However due to the massive screen size I was unable to include it in my LD27 compilation series. Sorry

iambored2006 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:55pm

@Jupiter_Hadley What compilation series is that? Can you give a link?
Also, can you please tell me what bugs you encountered? There's one I noticed, with the collision, and I fixed it for a future version.
And did the screen size hinder your play?

Jedi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:01am

The game window was too big for my monitor (1440x900) and the controls are a bit slippery but the idea is really innovative!

The level with the hole in the floor had me till I came here and read your hint. I appreciated being able to skip that level with enter prior to reading it thought :)

manuq says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Small screen here, the game window doesn't fit :/

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Overall - good idea, quite funny, but I was blocked in level 2 ;)

myachin says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:16pm

im stuck on third level

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Brilliant concept, but confused. Where are the exits? Am I supposed to able to go off screen, or is it just that I have too small a monitor?

myachin says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:17pm

im stuck on third level, but concept is great!

iambored2006 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Some people are having problems with the window size. Too late to fix that, but I'll get it right next time. If you're not seeing a brown little door, you probably have this problem. Sorry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]