August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ADD Kiwi

by zanzindorf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enjoy. It's random and odd, but hopefully fun. Hopefully it works. Comments are very much appreciated.

I used Unity, Graphics Gale, and the SFXR.

MAC and LINUX: I think the PC build will work for your platform as well. Let me know if it doesn't.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#259Graphics3.42
#690Audio2.30
#698Mood2.55
#750Humor1.94
#883Theme2.77
#884Innovation2.50
#915Fun2.47
#981Overall2.58
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Well that good but not too much. The Objectives are not well explained, but the graphics, gameplay etc... are good.

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Cool! I liked the idea of the 10-second quest rounds. The UI for explaining what's going on could use some work. Suggestions: 1) Make it more obvious when the quest changes. 2) Format the quest description better (for me the icon showing what to kill was offset a lot and I didn't realize it was related to the text at first. 3) I think it was playing a different sound at the end of each round telling whether I was successful or not? but it was really subtle. The success/failure indication should be a lot more obvious.

Overall, nice work! It'd be fun to see more levels.

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Very nice graphics, by the thumbnail I thought it might be Cellusious or Mrmo Tarius

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

It was a good idea but the objective text was very vague and made it difficult to tell what I was supposed to do sometimes, and other times it didn't seem to work at all (get 1 coin). The art style is very good though and it is a nice idea.

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

The physics feel really weird and I have a hard time understanding what to do, but graphics style is nice!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Solide platformer! I love the 3d-style of the coins. It would be even more awesome if everything was made that way :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Green is cool as hell! I love this game!

Nizan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Nice one! I think the UI for the 'quests' could do with being a bit clearer, but I really like the idea of Platformer+Simon Says :)

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Good fun platforming/fighting game, but the screen was too large for me to see all of, which was very annoying.
Once I threw my knife at a spring, and hilarity ensued ^_^

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Not bad, like others have said the quests should have been easier to read, and should have been more obvious when you complete one. Nice pixelly artwork!

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Nice old style visuals and interesting mechanics.

goyal says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:47am

Liked the character and the way it kind of holds off to the side of the ledge. The jump felt a little weird to me, took me a couple of tries just to get to the next higher ledge.

superfoonly says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:37am

the graphics were nice, i like the monochromatic colors, but the game itself was pretty hard. it seems like the character can double/wall jump off anything but he was too hard to control. Anyways, nice job on it

tacoshotgun27 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:50am

fun game -- at first I didn't understand but then I figured it out -- nice game again keep up the good work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]