August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PYRAM1D

by CogentInvalid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A roguelike-like-like about rooms and fighting and pyramids and being lost. Get through each room in ten seconds or less or suffer excruciating (simulated) physical pain!

WASD to move
Mouse to attack
E to view map (if you have one)
M to mute/unmute

(to play on Linux, download the source and open it with LOVE2D : love2d.org)

EDIT: Please forgive the occasional bug where the game crashes after the tutorial; it's a pretty uncommon glitch in the level generation that I didn't find out about until ~25 plays through. If you get it, just restart the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#107Humor3.36
#143Audio3.32
#160Mood3.36
#165Overall3.53
#213Fun3.38
#397Graphics3.16
#412Innovation3.16
#816Theme2.87

Comments

Martze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24am

The game won't go past the first level for me. I get to the green square and then nothing happens. Am I missing something?

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30am

You can move down through doors by holding down S while you stand on them. I think that's where you got stuck.

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

I think one of the links may be incorrect. The downloaded folder reads minimalize (like last compo's theme?) and the gameplay does not match the screenshots. I was playing the Windows version.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48am

Whoops, accidentally submitted last LD's game. That's embarrassing. Fixed.

EggPlant <3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

The games linked don't look like the one in the screenshot. I got a game called Minimalize; rather than this pyramid game. :(

L says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37am

I think it crashed after the tutorial...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

I felt happy because I found a game with a Linux version, but I got the error "main.lua:55 attempt to call field 'newPixelEffect (a nil value)'". Some tips?

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

Seems like a problem with the shaders, which I removed from the game but not the code. It should be fixed now.

Man, has anyone even been able to play my game yet?

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10am

I enjoyed your humor in the level introduction, especially the jokes about the low resolution joke and the thematic relevance. I liked the gameplay, too.
Just a heads up: after I died, I tried to play again and it crashed after the tutorial.

Martze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

Ahaha, OK. Now that I've actually played the game, it's quite fun. You got a nice retro-computer vibe to this game.

Exploring was a little tedious because you have to clear out the room each time in order to leave, making backtracking a bit of a pain. Pretty good apart from that, though!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

Nice oldschool game!

Rhinoceros says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Worked all the way through on the first try for me.

Only suggestions I could make is adding something to the doors while they're impassable, and adding pausing. The doors thing confused me for a bit, and having the game slowly kill you while you're away is a little annoying.

Fortunately, the game wasn't really long enough to have no pausing be an issue.

Definitely one of the better submissions I've seen.

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27am

Game crashes after tutorial. Good concept though. Allows for a lot of modularity. The music and graphics invoke the nes geek in me <3

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

Really awesome, I love that the music changes depending on what coloured room you're in.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56am

I really liked how the music blended from room to room.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Love the humour, nice art style, combat is a little confusing, but adequate :)

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Good job, would have been nice if some rooms had power ups - my weapon seemed to go a very short distance, and it would have been nice to upgrade it, and this would also make exploring a little more interesting maybe - of course, maybe there was power ups and I just didn't find any!?

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40am

Interesting game, but it gets kinda repetitive. Some variation would've been nice. I like the graphic style, very oldschool. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51am

I really really like the look of this. I think single-colour tiles on black reminds me of ZZT or something.

The sideways pyramid on the cliff face is an awesome idea.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

Love the graphics! And solid game play, and good tutorial - i like how how you show two Ws to show how to double jump. I agree that it does get slightly repetitive.

flarb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:48am

The graphics remind me of old Spectrum games, I dig it!

headchant says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:45am

I like the idea and the music is great. The combat is a problem but I like the graphics.

Mago says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Game have cool zx spectrum feeling thanks to graphic and art I like that, also funny story between levels. Nice job!

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Randomized levelgeneration? Just great ^_^ The minimap is quite pointless, especially since your timer continues and the only "safe" area are gates themselves.
Liked the different music styles depending on room-colors.
If you add more traps, it could be a bit like the movie "cube"^^

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:55am

Simple, solid, and very fun!

dalbinblue says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:33am

Fun platformer, and I really like how you represented the health of the player. I did find it really difficult to attack enemies without getting hurt if I had to jump to attack and the theme was a bit weak, but otherwise a solid entry.

jwolf says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Pretty fun! The player sprite taking damage was a neat effect.

I think the game needs a larger variety of challenges (just shooting things gets a bit tedious), but that seems too much to ask for in a compo. If you're thinking of extending your entry past the compo, definitely consider that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]