August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Thousand Milliseconds to Live!

by ThirteenWB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have ten thousand milliseconds to live, use them wisely!

In order to see as much of this two dimensional world as possible, your character wishes for you to take them on an epic journey through however many levels I've managed to make by the time you're playing this! :)

More levels will appear over time, although you won't need to re-download the file if everything is working as intended, so check back every once in a while.

Movement Controls:
R to restart the current map.
Left and right arrow to move.
Shift/Space/Z to jump.

Remember: Wall jumps are useful!


The game contains a built-in level editor that is active on all non-story maps.
Editor Controls:
P - Set player start
T - Toggle time flowing
N - Next Tile Type
V - Set as air
B - Set as blocked
X - Place exit at mouse position
D - Place switch at mouse position
C - Toggle coin at mouse position
M - Toggle mine at mouse position

S - Save Map
Note: saves will automatically generate a title and creator tag, the resulting map file will be placed in a folder titled 'maps'. Use your favourite text editor (vim) to go in and edit these accordingly. :)


Technical Stuff:
- Story maps are loaded via https (The Internet!) on each startup. A local copy of all maps is included in the jar but should more maps be added (likely), the local copy will not automatically be added to.
- Local maps are stored in the maps/ folder relative to the jar's location and loaded on startup. If you wish to edit your (or your friend's) map, simply open it in a text editor. All local maps are stored as plaintext and are fully editable (even the title and creator fields!)



P.S: It is extremely easy for me to add new maps. If you want your map to be a story map, just leave a comment with a link to the map file and I will add assuming it is of an acceptable quality.

I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#592Fun2.88
#610Overall3.00
#666Theme3.06
#698Mood2.55
#829Audio1.93
#851Innovation2.56
#922Graphics2.25

Comments

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I really liked the graphics and the mechanics (reminded me a lot of N+!) and I'm impressed by how many levels you included. I guess you can add more as time goes on, if they're loaded via the Internet?

Really liked the visual style!

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Moody

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Fun game, very frustrating trying to try and get far in story mode. Only thing that annoyed me was the audio clicks a little bit. I love how the music gets more intense as you get closer to the time limit

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Looks pretty nice.. A good jump & run! :D

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49pm

I really like what you have accomplished in the given timeframe.
The music track got a bit on my nerves after some time.
The editor was not usable for me because it would not leave play-mode (time running and game over screen).

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50pm

The amount of content is quite impressive, well made game :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I liked the graphical design of the levels, and I am also impressed by the number of levels. (is it actually allowed to upload more levels after the compo ends though?).
I am a bit tired of platformers though, but oh well, that's just me.

IHackedDeath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

for 48 hours it was pretty good

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Fun game, and the music worked (though I had no idea what I was listening to). Really slick menu/interface.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Thanks for all the replies!
@stephan_h: Did you try pressing T? That should have paused time so you could actually do stuff. I spent so long messing about in that editor it took me a while to remember I should actually tell people how to use it :/

@ZeppelinCaptain: I'm not sure if it's within the rules, I'll probably just not add any of my own new levels until after the end of the compo voting just to be safe. And yeah, I wish I had the imagination of some of the other people doing this... :(

@Spaceoff: Haha, I have no clue either, the music was absolutely the worst part of those 48 hours, really annoyed I didn't get the chance to actually record something (now wishing I knew how to play an instrument...). I guess at least it being randomly generated lowers the file size?? :/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I like the look. Maze like graphics - pretty fresh.
Character control could be better. Overall pretty good.

I love how you can play and edit levels at the same time.

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Ooh! I really like the aesthetics on this one! What you lack in graphic skills, you make up for by having this random glitch-like pattern and a dynamic, helpful background.

Some levels are really challenging, especially when I want to obtain as many coins as I can. The music was a bit annoying, though it did fit the rest of the mood. The music just cut out halfway through though...

Amazing how many levels you made for this. It crashes every few levels for me (terminal output "mmap() failed: Cannot allocate memory" and "Format not supported"), but luckily you made a level selector so I can continue at my own convenience! :)

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Cool game. Liked it and very slow paced, a first for a 10 second theme.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11pm

@DaVince: I've probably forgotten to deallocate the sound memory :/ Thanks, I'll have a fix up in a bit! :)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Pretty challenging platformer, I had fun playing through it! I like how the screen goes red as time runs out. The sound is also a nice cue, but probably needs a better one.

I'm not sure if it's a bug, but you also only have 10 seconds to edit/make a level :P

Kudos for including a level editor!

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

@ddionisio: you need to press T to disable the timer! :)

stephan_h says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15am

Of course my error was not pressing T when using the editor. :)

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I love wall-jump style mechanics (MegaMan X <3). But the hitboxes could be a little better tuned, woudl make for much sharper and entertaining gameplay!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Will post live video review.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

Interesting platformer, the tiles outside the levels get annoying while playing.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:06am

Live video review available at: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2831296

pighead10 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:52pm

How do I start the game? The instructions and controls appear when I launch it but pressing S, L, F and Q do nothing.

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I liked how the background change color to give you feedback of the time passed. And the tech feeling of the outside of the maze, simple and effective.

plop says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:04am

Pretty fun and addictive, lots of contents/levels! Unconventional controls but totally functional.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Woha, nice work creating so many levels! Unfortunately controls and the background "music" were very annoying for me, so i probably didn't enoyed so much playing them.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]