August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

YOGH@)!$Q#4$%7GDF: Destroyer of Keyboards!

by greysphere - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Summon YOGH@)!$Q#4$%7GDF: Destroyer of Keyboards by mashing as many keys as you can in 10 seconds.

Find hidden bonuses to unlock even greater potential!

(try to avoid the alt/windows keys since they will screwup your browser!)

Post your best score in the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#62Humor3.67
#290Fun3.27
#478Innovation3.06
#510Theme3.23
#518Overall3.09
#535Graphics2.92
#542Audio2.58
#553Mood2.73

Comments

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

Doesn't seem to really be a game, but enjoyable none-the-less.

sthreet says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

I started mashing every button and it gave me a penelty, then brough up a screen to print it.

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

@flamecow did you get all the bonuses?

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

@sthreet I update the description to tell folks to avoid the alt/windows keys! Thanks for the feedback!

RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

haha clever idea to add those bonuses. had me playing it a few times... and looking up how to spell a certain word.

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Brilliant. Such a witty idea.

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

lol alt Win fail

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

Hilarious!

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08am

A simple game, but the bonuses really make it replayable.

Eirikir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25am

Simple game and fun!

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:53am

Fantastic concept, i really enjoyed finding the hidden bonuses.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56am

LOL at the name and picture. Play the game. LOL again. Brilliant.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05am

Definitely lol-worthy! Nice work greysphere :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16am

Very simple and equally fun xD I loved the art-style and the whole thing just gave me a good feeling... I'm assuming fruit and animal bonus is for when while mashing you accidentally type the name of a fruit/animal right?
Anyways, good fun and good luck in the challenge!

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

Hahahaha what an idea ! xD
I made 553 ! \o/

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:03am

Extremely fun, but after every game I somehow managed to either crash my browser, shut down the pc pr breaking the keyboard.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

Pretty sweet! Given the simple gameplay, no real criticism to be made here. Highest score: 9401!

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

Awesome idea ;) Even though it's not really a game...

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39am

That was fun. Now my fingers hurt.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Funny game! Play again N is not accepted!)

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Awesome game! I really liked how it eggs you on to play more even though the game is really simple. I'm not sure that my fingers are fast enough nor my spelling gud enough to get the mary poppins bonus!

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Nice title art. Ended up in Chrome Developer console!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11pm

good job

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Ha ha! Very fun and simple!

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Hilarious! And now people at work are looking at me funny...

flyingbear says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Best title screen ever! Theme is really clever too. This game taught me I was spelling the mary poppins song incorrectly this whole time. I would love if after you got a few bonuses you gained access to a page that tracked which bonuses you've completed/mastered.

EkajArmstro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21am

Awesome!

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06am

This game is way more complex than it looks. The discovery of bonus created in an emergent gameplay I really liked. Well done!

drilltail says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48am

I got way too into this once I realized that there were bonuses to get, and that those bonuses are worth more than the actual keypresses. My high score's 21261. I can't figure out the googol and Mary Poppins bonuses, though!

greysphere says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:51pm

@drilltail Wow that's a great score!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:24am

haha, that was good. Loved the win and fail keys.

goyal says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

haha. this game is nuts!
I haven't gone crazy on my keyboard like this ever in the past + I bought a new keyboard today too :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:34am

Funny! Did not think I would play more than once, but I sure did! I love the name and the title picture, really well done. Simple mechanics but way too fun!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:34am

Simple but fun. 3736 is my high score. Not much to say really! Good work.

Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Very silly, but the concept made me laugh out loud, and the cover art is just amazing.

I feel you've kind of shot yourself in the foot by giving it a title that people are guaranteed not to remember if they want to search for it later, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]