August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

// Quantum Breach //

by oiblair - Jam Entry

Developed in Unity by:
Gabriel Koenig * Blair Thorburn * Ivan Donik

Best played with two players, or two hands.

Controls (P1) - Begins Left-side.
Movement - WASD
Interact/Fire - SPACE

Controls (P2) - Begins Right-side.
Movement - Cursor Keys
Interact/Fire - Return

>> Every 10 seconds, the player's role will switch between the
ENGINEER or CAPTAIN. <<


The ENGINEER
- Use Cells to replenish Shields and Ammo.
- Patch Hull Breaches by walking over them.

The CAPTAIN
- Shoot alien ships
- Collect Cells for the Engineer
- Survive!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Innovation(Jam)3.73
#335Audio(Jam)2.67
#386Fun(Jam)2.68
#417Overall(Jam)2.82
#439Mood(Jam)2.47
#445Theme(Jam)2.77
#502Graphics(Jam)2.50
#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Interesting idea with the two players, as i am alone i had problems playing it :)

Sherun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I was hoping for some cool vector graphics, too bad :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:48am

This is cool idea! Perfect for multiplayer, indeed.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:49am

Very different idea with the 2 player thing. Good job!!

Anachron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

Good 2-player co-op concept!

deathray says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

i had trouble with the left hand...

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

If only I had friends... Cool game and an interesting concept (having to switch between jobs) I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/J-5j5_FYNQI

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

So I think this is a pretty unique and interesting idea for a game. I like the concept of having two people helping the other out to progress through a game.

The problem I had was that I played alone and I think that's probably going to be the case for the majority of your players. I think an option to turn off the 10 second switch would be much appreciated (say if the user selects a 1 player mode on the main menu). Even thought this would destroy your game's use of the theme, my brain would thank you and stop freaking out every switch! As it stands, right when I'm comfortable with the layout (which is a lot of controls for 1 person), it gets switched and I can't keep up with it. I'm sure it's more reasonable with 2P but that has been my experience so far.

cwkx says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Awesome two player game. I like how players can switch roles, gives variety. Great entry!

Darkfrost says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Tried playing this by myself.. it broke my brain :D Seems fun if I had friends though :(

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Great idea for 2 players!

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Cool idea for a two player game; would be neat to see it expanded upon.

Liz England says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Hey, this was a cool idea. I managed to get someone to play it with me - alone was too hard, since the return button on my keyboard is pretty far from the arrow keys. We had fun, and it's nice to see some asymmetrical coop.

oiblair says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:20am

Thanks for all the comments and feedback! We'll definitely consider more options for the controls (and a less strict mode for 1P) if we expand it further.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]